We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable and convenient hotel 1 block from Boardwalk”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gateway Hotel & Suites
Ranked #19 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Lambertville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable and convenient hotel 1 block from Boardwalk”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

We recently stayed for 6 nights for my daughter's National Dance Competition at the Convention Center and were very happy with the hotel. Our room was a handicapped accomodated room, larger than normal in the bathroom and bedroom which was very comfortable for our 6 night stay. There were two mini fridges which were very helpful, comfortable beds and pillows, a housecleaner who did a great job and a breakfast buffet included in the price. The hotel has four floors which includes a washer and dryer for guest use, a small outdoor pool, parking for one car and a very small fitness center(which did need attention and more equipment). The location was great, 1 block from the beach and boardwalk at the south end. And the front desk staff very hospitable and accomodating.
I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again if and when our travels bring us to Ocean City again!

Room Tip: Request a larger handicapped-access room if you're looking for more space. Our had 2 queen beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meegarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tekmen, General Manager at Gateway Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear Meegarian,

I am glad you had an enjoyable stay at the Sleep Inn and Suites. That being said we will investigate any issues you had during your stay in order to provide the best possible accomodations for all of our guests. We sincerely hope that you make another visit to Ocean City!

Best wishes,

Nick Tekmen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    120
    21
    5
    7
See reviews for
122
93
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Thornhill, ON
Level Contributor
109 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

Our family stayed at Sleep Inn for a couple of nights and had a very enjoyable stay. The front desk staff are so friendly and helpful. The room was quite spacious and simply furnished. Nothing fancy but comfortable. The hotel is a block from the main entry to the boardwalk which was so convenient! We parked our car for free and then didn't need it during our stay. The breakfast was fine but not quite as much selection as other similar hotels we have stayed in. The pool is small but nice for the kids or a quick dip. I would certainly return here on my next visit to OC.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank budsfan29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tekmen, General Manager at Gateway Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear budsfan29,

I am overjoyed to read you will return to the Sleep Inn and Suites on your next visit to Ocean City! The team will be waiting to provide our phenomenal hospitality to you once again!

Until next time,

Nick Tekmen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2014

I have forgotten what it is like to have friendly, down to earth people greeting you at a hotel. The staff at the Sleep Inn were just that. I had just a short stay of two nights, but will always remember to call this hotel before reserving another. The room was clean and so was the hotel. Parking was not a problem. I parked and was able to see and go to all of the sites and beach that I needed without ever using my car. Carol helped with the reservations. She is just the type of person you need to be talking to if you want to be satisfied and know all the "ins" and "outs" of your stay. She said we would love our balcony view and she was right. If it is your first trip to Ocean City or you have been coming there since you were a kid... just call the Sleep Inn first and talk to "REAL" people who care about your vacation. Special thanks to Carol from my Mom.

Donna Q.

Room Tip: Talk to the staff first before booking through a website. Explain what you are looking for. The staf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tekmen, General Manager at Gateway Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Donna Q,

We at the Sleep Inn and Suites know the value of a proper vacation. That's why our staff will go the extra mile to make sure beloved guests like yourselves are well accommodated. The team appreciates your kind words and will be waiting to provide another wonderful stay for you and your family!

Sincerely,

Nick Tekmen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canfield, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed at this hotel in Ocean City last week for 4 days. We are a family of 4. Two girls 8 and 10. This is a newer property, very nice and clean. The hotel management goes out of its way to make a great stay. As business professionals we expect great service, competent and courteous staff. Carol,Izzy and the rest of the staff could not be more friendly and helpful.
Only 1 block from boardwalk and beach!! Can't beat the free breakfast to get the day started.
Outstanding location, great value.
Thank you to the staff, Izzy Carol, and Don

Room Tip: Bay view, higher rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Todd T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tekmen, General Manager at Gateway Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Todd T,

We here at the Sleep Inn and Suites pride ourselves on our excellent service. This human element is at the core of our establishment. We hope you do visit us again as our staff is waiting to provide you and other future guests with exceptional stays!

Sincerely,

Nick Tekmen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nokesville, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed July 17, 2014

What an awesome location. The people are so friendly and accommodating. I would recommend this hotel to all my friends and family. Can't wait to go back again (this year I hope!) This hotel is located 1 block from the boardwalk and you can walk everywhere. We didn't use our car until we had to leave!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gayle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tekmen, General Manager at Gateway Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Gayle G,

All of us at the Sleep Inn and Suites are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We will be waiting to offer our exceptional hospitality to not only you, but other guests in the future as well!

Sincerely,

Nick Tekmen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewood, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed last weekend, the location was great, could walk to boardwalk, beach and several restaurants and stores! Obviously it was "in season" so the weekend rates were a little on the high side for us. Staff was very friendly, pool was nice, parking was a little tight, but we found a spot every time! It smelled clean! We will stay again!

Room Tip: I suggest maybe getting a room facing the back side of the hotel, the front street is a little noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tifbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tekmen, General Manager at Gateway Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear tifbrown,

From all of us at the Sleep Inn and Suites, I would like to thank you for your kind words. We can
not wait to provide our exceptional hospitality again on your next visit to Ocean City!

Sincerely,

Nick Tekmen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

While my wife, I and our 2 grandchildren only stayed here for one night, we were very impressed with the accommodations, location and value of this hotel. While I am now retired, I did a significant amount of travel in my working years and can attest that our 2 Queen bed handicapped room was one of the largest I have had. We had our own balcony overlooking Baltimore Avenue and were central to everything. 2 blocks to the boardwalk and Da Lazy Lizard bar and restaurant right on the water. A very Friendly staff with Don Quackenbush being exceptional!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Intrepibew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tekmen, General Manager at Gateway Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear interpibew,

We at the Sleep Inn and Suites strive to provide our guests with great accommodations, service and value. Our entire staff is ecstatic to hear that they delivered. We all hope to see you again to offer the same fantastic experience once more!

Sincerely,

Nick Tekmen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
1.8 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#3 of 103 in Ocean City
2,065 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#15 of 103 in Ocean City
3,092 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
#27 of 103 in Ocean City
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
2.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ocean City
2.4 mi away
Castle in the Sand Hotel
Castle in the Sand Hotel
#16 of 103 in Ocean City
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Hotel & Suites

Property: Gateway Hotel & Suites
Address: 11 N Baltimore Ave, Ocean City, MD 21842-4016 (Formerly Sleep Inn & Suites)
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#9 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Gateway Hotel & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Choice Hotels, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gateway Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Hotel Ocean City
Sleep Inn And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing