We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Return to Ocean City”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gateway Hotel & Suites
Ranked #17 of 104 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2013

It had been 13 years since my wife and I had been to OC. Just decided to go and were able to get a reservation at The Sleep Inn and Suites. What a wonderful treat. Carol gave us a top floor room with a beautiful view of the ocean. The room was very clean and in excellent condition. Breakfast couldn't have been better. Had one little problem with the water but Nick the owner took care of the problem and made a personal trip to our room to assure us everythin was OK. Many thanks for a grat time and we will return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tekmen, General Manager at Gateway Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear Jim P!
We are so excited that on your recent trip to Ocean City you were able to stay at our property and thoroughly enjoyed your stay at our hotel. The team at the Sleep Inn & Suites work very hard to provide our guests with exceptional service I am glad that you were able to experience some of their warm smiles and willingness to assist.

We look forward for the opportunity to welcome you back to our property and provide you with another exceptional stay!

Sincerely,
Nick Tekmen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (309)
There are newer reviews for Gateway Hotel & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 309 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a quick weekend getaway and loved it! We reserved a room on the 5th floor with a private balcony. Although quite small, the view from the balcony, 509 was fantastic as we could easily see the ocean. Carol at the front desk was great, and the breakfast buffet was more than adequate. Being mere steps from the boardwalk was great. We will be back for sure!

Room Tip: Ask for 509!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tekmen, General Manager at Gateway Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear SteveTDC!
I would first like to thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback on your recent stay at the Sleep Inn & Suites. We greatly value each guest’s impression of our property. It’s good to know that the hotel staff was helpful and friendly - great customer service is what we strive for here at the hotel and I am happy that we were able to reach this goal during your stay.
I hope to get a chance to welcome you back in the near future.
Sincerely,
Nick Tekmen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We are staying here second year and love this place. First: customer service is great, people are very friendly, always ready to help if you need something. Location is perfect, only a step away from the beach. Rooms are always clean and full of supplies. We were staying with baby and never had an issue ! Oh and let me tell you, breakfast is amazing, there is something to eat for everybody, lots of choices!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marusechka7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tekmen, General Manager at Gateway Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Maria B!
It is a pleasure to read your comments! It is great to know that our goal to deliver exceptional guest service was reached during your stay and that your second trip to Ocean City was a memorable one. I am happy that rooms, location and parking were to your like and I hope that once traveling back to Ocean City you will stay with us again.
Sincerely,
Nick Tekmen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

The hotel&room was clean, recently updated (we stayed on the 5th fl.) Staff was friendly. .only drawback was the configuration of the breakfast room..kinda small for the size of hotel and # of rooms..There was a log jam of people every morning trying to get their AM goodies...

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danno17314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tekmen, General Manager at Gateway Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear danno17314!
Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent stay with us. It’s good to know that hotel location was convenient and room was clean with all the desired amenities I hope to see again in the future.
Sincerely,
Nick Tekmen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

The Sleep Inn and Suites in Ocean City was a pleasant surprise. I am always reluctant when booking beach area hotels because they are often small, damp, smelly of mold and sea air, old and creepy.This hotel had none of these negatives. The room was a nice size, clean, and equipped with most necessities. There is a good size balcony attached to each room. The staff was friendly and helpful.
The hotels location was very accessible to the boardwalk area that had a variety of activities. We paid $200 a night which was a little steep for a Sleep Inn but getting a room only a few days before our visit in a heavy tourist area I wont complain because I was satisfied with the room.
The buffet breakfast was pretty well equipped and the coffee and hot water machine was available 24 hours.
The parking area was tight but there were enough spaces to accomodate their guests. All of the hotels in the area had small parkng facilities so the Sleep Inns was more than adequate. Of course even there you had people not parking within the lines and not pulling up to end of spaces which made it smaller than it actually was.
All in all I would return to the Sleep Inn in Ocean City Maryland.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank REGINA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tekmen, General Manager at Gateway Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear REGINA H !
So glad you found Sleep Inn & Suites! We're so happy to hear about the service you received at the hotel. Every day we strive to surpass expectations of service and it looks like we didn't disappoint! We can't wait to welcome you back once again, hopefully soon!
Thank You
Nick Tekmen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Outside of the pool which is always cold and the size of a big Jacuzzi, this hotel stay was great. It's just one block from the best section of the boardwalk. The parking spaces are a bit tight but that's not a big deal. The staff, especially the front desk staff, where very helpful. They had a great attitude and were always eager to help. A special thanks to Mr. Quackenbush for all of his friendly help and advice. Speaking of advice... The breakfast is your typical breakfast for these types of places. It was good and well stocked. You have to be early though because the breakfast room itself is small.
Have at least one dinner at "Jonah and the Whale". It's buffet with king crab legs is the best deal around, and delicious.
Try to get a room on the 3rd or 4th floor because apparently they've been recently redone.
You one morning you get on the beach and in the first 15 minutes you notice allot of flies on the beach just pack up and hit the boardwalk or the pool. Believe me, on the days the flies where present on the beach it was hell and they stay there all day. It apparently has something to do with windy days on the bay.

Hope this was helpful. I hope you have a great time like we did!

Room Tip: Ask for a bay-side view. The sunset views are AMAZING!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LRDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tekmen, General Manager at Gateway Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you so much for you wonderful comments LRDS . Glad you had a great time and hope we'll see you back in Ocean City soon!
Best regards
Nick Tekmen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We made literally last minute plans for a quick weekend getaway to Ocean City, MD. We were a bit anxious because we had stayed previously at the Sleep Inn in another city. But in Ocean City, we could not have been more pleasantly surprised.

Don, the manager could not have been nicer or accommodating. He was knowledgeable and helpful making restaurant recommendations. He offered cookies!

The hotel itself is clean and quiet (inside). We even had small balcony to hang our wet swimsuits and towels. The hotel is centrally located so obviously there is noise from the traffic below, but it's a worthwhile tradeoff for the short 2 minute walk to the boardwalk and beach.

My family and I would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank Sandi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tekmen, General Manager at Gateway Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear Sandi R
Thank you so very much for the wonderful comments regarding your stay with us, it was truly our pleasure to host you! We look forward seeing you in the future.

Kind Regards
Nick Tekmen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
1.8 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#6 of 104 in Ocean City
2,218 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
#27 of 104 in Ocean City
318 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#15 of 104 in Ocean City
3,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ocean City
6.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Gold Coast
Comfort Inn Gold Coast
#37 of 104 in Ocean City
329 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Ocean City
Comfort Suites Ocean City
#49 of 104 in Ocean City
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Hotel & Suites

Address: 11 N Baltimore Ave, Ocean City, MD 21842-4016 (Formerly Sleep Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#9 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range: $97 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Gateway Hotel & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Gateway Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Hotel Ocean City
Sleep Inn And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing