We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Memorial Day Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gateway Hotel & Suites
Ranked #18 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Memorial Day Weekend”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This is a real nice hotel, in a good location 1 block from beach and modern. The front desk, especially Carol, is great. The rooms are clean, parking good, and great balcony. The free breakfast is a nice touch when you just want to get out of the hotel and go straight to the beach. I brought my wife and 3 year old plus 3 month infant with me.

It's right off the causeway so you do not have to deal with much traffic.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tekmen, General Manager at Gateway Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Mark,
Thank you for taking the time to fill out our online survey with such positive feedback! I have shared your comments with my staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in town.

Sincerely,

Nick Tekmen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    121
    21
    5
    7
See reviews for
124
94
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

I found a great deal on a king room to stay 2 nights during Springfest. The location, one block from the boardwalk and $250 including tax for 2 nights, made the value rating high for OC. The room was nice, but the shower was a little strange. It was an 'L' shaped enclosure with no curtain, door, or bars to either hold onto or hang up your towel . Beware that the rooms facing the back have a dumpster right below that was emptied at 6am Saturday morning. The breakfast Saturday was fully stocked, but Sunday morning at 7:30 the breakfast items were cleaned out due to only having one employee to cover the front desk AND the breakfast area for a nearly sold out hotel. That is unacceptable! Poor management. Carol was here the entire weekend we were and was hustling and friendly, but it was poor service because what she was trying to do was an impossible task for one person. Otherwise this is a clean and friendly hotel for events at the inlet area.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KebbieK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tekmen, General Manager at Gateway Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear KebbieK,
Thanks so much for your great comments about your experience with us at the Sleep Inn & Suites. We sincerely appreciate your feedback. It provides us with the information needed to correct problems and improve services we offer. We hope to have an opportunity to provide accommodation for you in the future and show you how your remarks were used constructively
Sincerely
Nick Tekmen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Me and my family do spontaneous drives all the time so we decided to drive South from NJ on Saturday, 4/27/13. As we cross into Delaware from the Ferry we decided to check out Ocean City, MD as we never have been there. Hotels.com suggested this hotel as it was available last minute and 1 block from the Boardwalk. WOW! Wonderful reception at the front desk, even at 8pm at night.
Our room was on the 3rd floor facing the Atlantic Ocean. Had a balcony. We did not have a single issue. The room was big and beds were clean, soft and comfy. Happy to see a fridge in there as well. The microwave was down in the reception area. In the morning was a continental breakfast which was very nice. Check out was a breeze. We were allowed to keep our car at their parking lot while we checked out the sites. We were able to use the ammenities even after we checked out. The front desk was so accomodating to us that I felt privledged to write this review. I highly recommend this motel and we look forward to returning in the future. :)

Room Tip: Room 303 on the 3rd floor was not ocean view, however, it was facing N. Baltimore Ave and we did see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tekmen, General Manager at Gateway Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for your review Michelle T,

We enjoyed your review and are happy that you enjoyed staying with us. It sounds like you enjoyed every aspect of the hotel. We are very proud of the high quality beds we offer our guest and we are very happy that we took great care of you!
Thank you for choosing our Hotel again, we hope that you continue to use Sleep inn and Suites for your lodging needs in the near future. We look forward to serving you on your next trip. Thank you!
Sincerely,
Nick Tekmen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed in the hotel for the weekend. Great location, big and very clean room. We really liked the breakfast - hot waffles that my son enjoyed making, hot sausages, plenty of choices that satisfied every member of my family. We will definitely come back in the summer. Thank you Carol, you were the best!!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MariafromNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tekmen, General Manager at Gateway Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your review mashafromNJ. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff takes great pride in cleaning the rooms we are glad that you have noticed that. We take pride in providing great service and we are very pleased that Carol took great care of you. Our staff looks forward to serving you on your next trip to Ocean City!!
Nick Tekmen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Our family came down to ocean city for corvette weekend. We chose this particular hotel because of its location. It is right in the middle of downtown. The route 50 bridge is steps away. The inlet, boardwalk and many shops and activities are just outside the door. Location is really the ONLY thing this hotel has going for it. I did see in season there is a nice size outdoor swimming pool and cafe open to the public on the first floor. Each room has its own balcony, but ours was a joke. Possibly a three foot by four foot slab of concrete. Other rooms has nicer balconies. The only way you might be able to see the ocean is to get a room on the fifth floor. I asked for this, but did not get it. We settled on a fourth floor, bayside room. The water was cold the entire time we were there. Room was ok. It was loud and didn't offer a lot of furnishings. Things needed to be cleaned better for sure. Room had a moldy smell. Bed was ok. Size was nice for our family of three. Breakfast was the typical continental breakfast and well stocked. Do NOT bring a large car or even a medium sized car in this parking lot unless you are a good driver. This place is tight! We will not stay here again because we expect higher standards from a sleep inn and feel the price was a little high for what you get.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Groovina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. It is a nice clean hotel. Close to everything. We came down for a family get together. The staff is very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was ok waffles, ceral, fruit, yogurt,and coffee and juice. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altoona, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

There was both good and bad things about this hotel. First the good....the hotel staff was friendly. The lady at the front desk put us in a room facing the back so we wouldn't be disturbed by the loud cars. (We stayed during the cruising weekend). The location was also very convenient, only a block to the boardwalk.
Now the bad, the "balcony" was more like a 3 foot by 5 foot slab of concrete. There's no way you could sit out there comfortably. The breakfast was not anything special. Cereal, oatmeal, bagels, waffles, yogurt, coffee, tea, and juice was about the extent of it. In the bathroom, there was stains and dirt in the shower. That was quite disappointing. The worst experience (like others have said), was the horribly small parking lot. We have a mid size car and had difficulty parking and backing out. It is definitely a tight squeeze. If we return to ocean city, we would consider staying there again, although we would probably stay somewhere a little nicer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
1.8 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#5 of 103 in Ocean City
2,122 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
#29 of 103 in Ocean City
309 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#17 of 103 in Ocean City
3,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ocean City
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Ocean City
Comfort Suites Ocean City
#48 of 103 in Ocean City
298 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Hotel & Suites

Property: Gateway Hotel & Suites
Address: 11 N Baltimore Ave, Ocean City, MD 21842-4016 (Formerly Sleep Inn & Suites)
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#9 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Gateway Hotel & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gateway Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Hotel Ocean City
Sleep Inn And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing