We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“location location location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gateway Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gateway Hotel & Suites
Ranked #20 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
87 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“location location location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

This Hotel has a great location to the beach and board walk. It is fairly inexpensive and offers free breakfast. The location is great ,a short walk to the beach and the entertainment distric on the board walk. The staff is very friendly. We have stayed here for the last 3 years during the first weekend in Aug. the only complaint is noisey neighbors and we figured you would get that at any hotel. Every room has it's own balcony also. The best room is on the corner of the building where the balcony wraps around the corner and you only have one neighbor on side since your at the end of the hallway.

Room Tip: stay at the end of the hall in the last room on the floor (or first room on the floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    119
    21
    5
    7
See reviews for
119
92
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
208 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

We loved this hotel!! We were in OC for a long weekend and we enjoyed every minute of it.
Pros :
- staff is great - we managed to get a great room with an early check-in
- free parking - and if you arrive early you can already park or if you leave later - you can still use the parking after check-out.
- hotel is very nice, 1 block from boardwalk and beach, near shops, terraces and restaurants.
- rooms are big and nice, hotel seems new, bathrooms are big and clean.
- big balcony - you can also see the ocean from the 4th floor.
- 7/11 is close
- safe area - we walked the streets even around 3-4am.
No cons really. We didn't use swimming pool (we love the beach) or the breakfast facility.
I would stay here again!!

Room Tip: rooms are on all sides. go higher and facing north to see the boardwalk and ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roxana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

This hotel is located right off route 50, and is one street across from the boardwalk, near the southern end of Ocean City. There always seemed to be vacancy in this hotel, so for that reason we did not have much trouble parking, but if the hotel had more guests I can see how easily parking could be a problem if you were going in a massive car. The rooms at the front of the hotel are not actually ocean view, as the views are obstructed by other hotels, unless you get the King room at the top floor. Rather, the rooms at the side offer a glimpse of the ocean and the bay, if you are into watching sunrises and sunsets (though our night stay was cloudy). The hotel staff were always helpful, and offered us suggestions on places to go for dinner. The rooms are spacious and clean. I did not get to use the swimming pool nor the fitness room so I cannot comment on those, but the swimming pool is quite clean, and has a maximum depth of 4 feet. The breakfast service is named modestly as "continental", though it also includes waffles (that you can make with a waffle maker), hard boiled eggs, and sausage patties. Overall, our stay was good and I would stay here again.

Room Tip: High floor and Side Room are the best, unless you prefer pool views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bhojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancaster
Level Contributor
195 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

Great location, 1 block from beach. Rooms very nice and clean. Friendly desk, very helpful.
Bus stop across the street. Close to board walk. Nice breakfast but only one toaster and waffle maker, so you have to wait. Did have sauges patties and hard boil eggs. 7-11 next door for coffee drinkers and resturants all over walking distance. Can get cold beer / wine also in 7-11 in MD if you want an adult drink. Police everywhere, so it is safe.
Parking was a little tight for pick ups or SUV. Pool was small and outside but clean. No ocean view but maybe a bay view on other side. Nice hotel for anyone. Would stay here again. Children enjoyed it. Down side people drive crazy, be careful crossing street. Seem to be right on busy intersection. there is a sandwhich shop in resturant.

Room Tip: book ahead to get 20% discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lancaster4luvers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for the weekend and picked the Sleep Inn because it was one of the few hotels that had a vacancy. We booked last minute and were pretty happy with it. The hotel was clean and we stayed on the fifth floor. The bathroom was very large. The breakfast was good and had a variety of items including waffles. The room was quiet and we really did not hear outside traffic at night. The location is the reason to stay here. It is very close to the boardwalk at first street. My biggest complaint is that the wifi does not work in the room. The parking lot is very small and with an SUV we found it challenging to park, but found an end spot where we could fit. I reccommend bringing a smaller car. Overall I think I would stay here again because of the location.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tropical_lover_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

This was my first visit to Ocean City, MD and my family wanted to be close to the ocean and boardwalk, so we chose this Sleep Inn & Suites.

As others have said, Carol at the front desk was very helpful and friendly. The other desk personnel seemed friendly, but when I informed the one guy that the pool was out of towels, he said he would take care of it, but new towels never appeared in the next twenty minutes we were there. Oh, the pool is REALLY small.

The breakfast buffet was good, with the normal long lines for the waffle machine as to be expected at any hotel free breakfast. They kept it stocked and no complaints from me besides the wait for a waffle machine.

The hotel is newer and was in good shape. The elevators were fast, and we never had to wait more than a minute for an elevator. Only a shower in our room (no tub), but it worked fine. We had a king bed and it was not comfortable at all, but the kids didn't complain about the pull-out sofa-bed. Balcony was nice, as we were on the fourth floor, side of the building, but closest room to the boardwalk. We could see the bay, as well as the ocean and boardwalk from the balcony. Air conditioning controls are wall mounted, which is much better than the older units with the controls on the air conditioner.

The parking spots were really tight and people with larger vehicles had difficulty getting in/out of the parking spots. With everything so close, we didn't have to drive much, so it wasn't that big of a problem for us.

Location is the real reason to stay here. Cross the super-busy street in front of the hotel, and you're a two minute walk away from the boardwalk. Crossing that super-busy street is a real pain though.... We were there on a Tuesday and the beach fireworks were literally across the street from the hotel, and I could have watched them from our balcony.

If you're coming back from the beach, there's a garden hose on the left side of the hotel behind the side entrance, where you can wash off your beach sand. I didn't see it documented anywhere, but found it when walking back from the parking lot after using the stairs.

I didn't notice any bad smells in the hotel like some other reviewers noted.

Oh, I'd skip the neighboring steakhouse that the front desk recommends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

We had never gone to Ocean City in season and were a little apprehensive about the crowds. The location was perfect--an easy block from the boardwalk/beach, but away from any noise. The room was clean and the bathroom looked like it had recently been remodeled. Everything worked well. The front desk staff were especially nice and accomodating. We had a 5th floor room with a view of the ocean. It was a front row seat for the weekly Tuesday night fireworks. The continental breakfast had a good variety of breakfast foods. We had no problem with parking. And we could walk to most things, including the Talbot St. wharf where the Assateague Island Explorer boat leaves from--a nice was to spend a couple hours on the water. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Occasional-visitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.6 mi away
Paradise Plaza Inn
Paradise Plaza Inn
#9 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
1.8 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#1 of 103 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,931 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
2.4 mi away
Castle in the Sand Hotel
Castle in the Sand Hotel
#15 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Hotel & Suites

Property: Gateway Hotel & Suites
Address: 11 N Baltimore Ave, Ocean City, MD 21842-4016 (Formerly Sleep Inn & Suites)
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#9 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Gateway Hotel & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Gateway Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Hotel Ocean City
Sleep Inn And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing