We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, super-clean, nice management” 4 of 5 stars
Review of King Charles Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
King Charles Hotel
Ranked #4 of 17 Ocean City B&B and Inns
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, super-clean, nice management”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

First time staying at the King Charles hotel - the location, one block off the boardwalk, was fantastic. In the middle of everything without being too noisy. We had a first-floor room. The room was pretty standard motel fare, but extremely clean. The front of the hotel had a nice porch for sitting and drinking morning coffee, which was always available during the day and evening. The manager was very attentive and always there, and gave us tips on eating places. They also had wi-fi which was great.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    16
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
34
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

The hotel was amazing! It was in a prime location for us, service was very good, and the hotel staff was amazing. I go to ocean city every year as a weekend get away and this will be my primary hotel. I almost don't want to give a great review because I don't want anyone else to stay there but me!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thedivajones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

Amazingly friendly service, we had no hotel booked for the night and they welcomed us right in. Great price for the area. Although the style is not very modern, everything was extremely clean and comfortable. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lgurevitch1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

The owner and the girl at the front desk are so friendly and made me feel welcome when I came with no reservations. Lucky for me they had a room available and it was perfect for myself and 2 daughters. Very easy walk to the beach even with a cooler and chairs. This hotel is WELL maintained, very, very clean room and it smelled good too!
Thank you for a great little getaway! :)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mkjczf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coburn, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

We arrived in mid June for our family vacation at the King Charles Hotel during senior week and was pleasantly surprised by Marie and her staff meeting us at the door even before we exited our car! They greeted us and assisted us by telling us where we could park and knew who we were prior to our arrival by our vehicle descriptions we had given them. We arrived earlier than the 3pm check in time and they told us our rooms were ready. After checking in and going upstairs to our third floor room, we had another surprise! the room was beautiful and very clean and it smelled clean too! We will definately be back to this hotel again! If you are looking for a place with a pool this is not the place for you but who needs a pool when you have the ocean!

Room Tip: Had a great time here and WE WILL BE BACK!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kmbook13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

We were in Oc for cruisers week, and have stayed here many times before. An older hotel that is well maintained,and extremely clean. marire is the perfect hostess ,right down to the brownies she bakes for the guests. great location,near boardwalk and restaurants.We will continue to stay here every time we travel to the ocean. Thanks Marie

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank arthur5760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

King Charles Hotel is a great little Mom and Pop hotel. It is perfect for a quiet couple's getaway. They make it pretty clear that it is not a place for parties which was just fine with us. We had a room with a fridge, microwave, and a large private balcony which overlooked Baltimore Ave. Everything was extremely clean and comfortable and the rates were very reasonable (note this was during the off-season in Mid-May). The service was awesome; the owner lives there, manages the front desk, services the rooms, and even bakes cookies and carrot cake for her guests. The location is great, right by 12th street, 1/2 block to the boardwalk, and close to plenty of restaurants and bars.
One warning, if you get a balcony room, remember it is overlooking Baltimore Ave, so there is some noise from passing trucks and buses. This didn't bother us at all, just thought I would mention it in case you are a light sleeper.
Overall, we loved it and we will definitely be back as soon as we get the chance.

Room Tip: Get the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JimmyBaltimore_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
1.1 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#3 of 108 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,672 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#19 of 108 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 stars 2,380 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#13 of 108 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 stars 281 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Charles Hotel

Property: King Charles Hotel
Address: 1209 N Baltimore Ave, Ocean City, MD 21842-3624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King Charles Hotel invites you to relax and enjoy your summer vacation in our clean, comfortable and friendly hotel. Our convenient downtown location is one half-block from the beach in the middle of Ocean City's famous Boardwalk. Charming and affordable, the King Charles Hotel is within walking distance of Ocean City's amusements, many fine restaurants, and other attractions. Each of our modest 22 rooms are smoke free and equipped with cable TV, wireless internet access, a dorm-size refrigerator, microwave, air-conditioning, phone, and private bath. Complimentary coffee and tea is available in the hotel lobby. Off street parking for one vehicle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your King Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing