We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved the breakfast buffet”

Horizons Oceanfront Restaurant - Clarion Resort
Ranked #59 of 449 Restaurants in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Buffet, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 101st and the beach
Transit: Ocean City buses run every 15 minutes in season and every 30 minutes in the off season. Buses run Coastal Highway from the Inlet to the Delaware state line. You can ride the bus all day for $2.00. There a number of local cabs that are available 24 hours a day.
Description: Welcome to Horizons Oceanfront Restaurant, Ocean City dining at its finest serving Certified Angus Beef and the freshest seafood, chicken, and veal specialties. Compliment your meal with a selection from our award winning wine list. Our Sunday Deluxe Breakfast Buffet overlooking the Atlantic and our famous "All-You-Can-Eat Prime Rib, Crab Legs & Seafood Buffet" are definitely a must. Top 40 dance bands begin at 9:30 pm, so there is never a reason to leave early.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

since we loved the breakfast buffet but had been staying in another hotel, we are going to book our stay this summer at the hotel!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Doug M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricahrd H, Director of Food & Beverage at Horizons Oceanfront Restaurant - Clarion Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Thank you for your comments about our Deluxe Sunday Breakfast Buffet. I am sure you will also enjoy your stay with us. We do a Saturday Breakfast Buffet throughout the year and in season we offer that daily. Beginning Presidents weekend our famous All You Can Eat Prime Rib, Crab Leg & Seafood Buffet will be available. Please introduce yourself to out dining room managers the next time you are in. We love to meet our guests and want you to feel at home when you dine with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (298)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

190 - 194 of 298 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2014

The worst experience in Ocean City Maryland and we were hoping for the best. We called two weeks before hand and when we got there and looked forward to it for two weeks the buffet was closed. Yes they decided to close on the weeknights that we were there for vacation because the business was slow. We had every night planned out for a different seafood buffet and this place screwed up our plans. The woman at the front desk threw us attitude and treated us like dirt. We had to switch our plans just for them and eat there on a weekend night which was a big mistake. The food is overrated and again they lied on the phone and claimed they had sea scallops on the buffet and they did not. The buffet was just an average buffet and nothing was special about it and it was overpriced. Bonfire is far better. We go to Ocean city every year and will never go back to this place!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TheTruth77777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricahrd H, Director of Food and Beverage at Horizons Oceanfront Restaurant - Clarion Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

I am disappointed about your dining experience Horizons, our oceanfront dining room. I understand how frustrating it is to be told one thing and find something different. I always suggest checking our's or anyone's website for menus, specials, and hours of operation. I apologize for the misinformation. I know our Prime Rob, Crab Leg & Seafood Buffet is priced higher than the others in town. We serve Certified Angus Beef for our Prime Rib, Alaskan Crab Legs and have a Pasta Bar with an attendant who will prepare you dish to order with your choice of Shrimp, Scallops or Chicken. Perhaps when you inquired about scallops, this is why you were told we had scallops on the buffet. I hope you will visit us again. We have been voted the Best Buffet in Ocean City for the past two years, and feel we are deserving of that reputation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Wasn't staying at the Clarion but a local recommended their breakfast. Not typically buffet fans but when looking at the assortment of items, including a variety of fruits and oats, we gave it a shot. All items tried were outstanding and the chef was outstanding and a good chap to deal with. Service was outstanding, the view was brilliant!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rjb231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricahrd H, Director of Food & Beverage at Horizons Oceanfront Restaurant - Clarion Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. Our Deluxe Breakfast Buffet is offered every Sunday year round. It is very popular, and we appreciate you taking the advice of one of our locals and trying us out. We are committed to providing quality product and excellent service. The view speaks for itself. The next time you visit us, please introduce yourself to Kailee, one of our restaurant managers. We always want to get to know our guests.Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

I love buffet especially seafood buffet. I tried almost every seafood buffet restaurants in Ocean City, MD including both Philips Seafood, Bonfire and Embers. This is my top choice because of 2 reasons:
1. Best quality. They don't have a lot of selection like other places (Philips) but the quality is the best especially the crab legs.
2. Best view and ambiance. The restaurant is facing the ocean with great ocean view (unlike Philips). The seating is very comfortable especially for family with kids.

The restaurant is inside the Clarion Resort with plenty of parking. Service is great. Price is average but value is way above average.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DCKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricahrd H, Director, Food & Beverage at Horizons Oceanfront Restaurant - Clarion Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Thank you for the review. It is always nice to hear when our guests have an a positive experience in any of our restaurants. We do pride ourselves in serving a quality product with excellent service in comfortable & relaxing surroundings. You can't get much better than ocean front dining. Next you dine with us, please introduce yourself to one of our managers. We love to personalize your visits, and want you to know we are here for you and your guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

very good hotel, great food great service. The hotel is directly on the ocean. Great location and great way to view the Ocean and Bay area. The restaurant is as good as any I have had any where in America. The buffet is as good as it comes especially with the seafood.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hutt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricahrd H, Director of Food & Beverage at Horizons Oceanfront Restaurant - Clarion Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2013

Thank you for the complimentary response to your dining experience. We are very proud of all our food & beverage outlets. Our chef is a graduate from the School of the Arts in Washington and our Sous Chef is an alumni of the Culinary Institute of America (CIA) in Hyde Park, NY. Our serving staff is diversified, experienced and professional. Horizons Oceanfront Restaurant has won numerous awards for its wine list. We serve quality food in a beautiful setting, with the emphasis on service. Please introduce yourself to one of our managers the next time you dine with us. We love meeting our guests and want you to feel at home with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Horizons Oceanfront Restaurant - Clarion Resort also viewed

 

Been to Horizons Oceanfront Restaurant - Clarion Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing