We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good set-up for a family reunion”
Review of Beach Walk Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Beach Walk Hotel
Ranked #57 of 104 Hotels in Ocean City
Reviewed June 23, 2010

We have spent four lovely days at the Beach Walk Hotel. This is a small family-owned and -operated hotel. The rooms are eclectic and not a full-service hotel but has everything we needed to have a great vacation with extended family. We rented 5 rooms for a family get-together. We chose Ocean City because it is between Virginia and Pennsylvania where much of the family lives, and we chose Beach Walk Hotel because of the reviews on TripAdvisor.com that the rooms are clean and a good value. This is definitely true.

The hotel is on a side street, one building off of the boardwalk. We all agreed that the location is perfect because we were away from the heat and hubub of the boardwalk, but still had a very good view of the beach. We spent many hours on the porch visiting with each other between trips to the beach or boardwalk. The position of the porch is perfect to catch breezes from the ocean or bay. The rooms with 2 beds are by far more comfortable. There is plenty of space in the 2-bed rooms, with a small kitchen sink and refrigerator and small dining table with folding chairs. One of the 2-bed rooms had the beds in 2 separate rooms with a door between them. The 1-bed rooms are small but perfect for single guests or kids (we placed an air matress on the floor).

Negatives are that there is no elevator, and all rooms are on the 2nd and 3rd foors (the owner lives on the 1st floor). You have to carry everything up the exterior stairs. We have a couple of people with knee problems, and they struggled with negotiating the stairs. Also, the beds could be a little more comfortable. I am accustomed to Comfort Inn or Hampton Inn beds, and these beds are firm but cheaply made, probably comparable to a Motel 6. Also, parking can be a problem. As the owner explains when you book the room, there are only a few free spots on the street in front of the hotel. Otherwise, the owner provides free parking passes for a lot 3 blocks away. Parking is at a premium everywhere around the beach (and expensive), but you can keep your car in the free parking and take the bus which is only $2 to ride all day.

Beach Walk Hotel is very clean and well maintained. The cost made the trip affordable for all extended family members to participate, especially since we could bring our own food and drinks.

In summary, the Beach Walk Hotel is a great value for a small family or extended family, with easy access to the beach and boardwalk to keep everyone entertained.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TeresaCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
There are newer reviews for Beach Walk Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 111 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2010

Wonderful weekend getaway. When we book are room they told us they only had one small room left to rent so I had some concerns. When we arrived the room was small but great! We were on the 2nd floor, had a queen size bed (that was very comfortable) small fridge and TV, the room was very clean. I could only make one suggestion for improvement and that would be the shower, I would have liked more water presser. (but then the cost of my room might be higher! better to save water). They had hot coffee ready every morning and my husband and I enjoyed sitting on the deck drinking coffee in the early morning hours. The view of the ocean and boardwalk were great, the cool breeze and the rocking chiars. You are so close to the boardwalk/beach that your able to run back to the room to grab something or use the restroom. We will be comming back to this hotel!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Slowi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

Stayed at the Beach Walk Hotel for a one-day causal anniversary trip. Very, very close to the boardwalk, less than 50 steps away. The room provided all that we needed. A bed, bathroom, tv , dresser and fridge. Not overly spacious, but not cramped either. The furnishings were new and everything was clean. The hotel provides free parking a few blocks away and umbrellas to use at the beach. Can see the boardwalk from the balcony. Nice rocking chairs to use as well. Staff was friendly and we had a wonderful time. Paid less than 125 bucks a night during peak season. Awesome deal and you get much more that what you pay for. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephandtim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2009

The room was clean, but sparse. Not even a chair to sit in. There was a TV, but it was one of those smaller flat-screens that you sometimes see, I guess I really didn't come to the beach to watch TV, though. If we hadn't been allowed to park in the Americana parking lot across the street while it's undergoing renovations, it would have been a nasty inconvenience to have to walk three blocks away across a busy street to get back and forth from the car.

The porch was nice, rocking chairs were comfortable, and the breeze felt good. I was dismayed at first about not having a beach view from our room, but that soon faded when I realized what other places in the area were charging. Good thing we were there during the "off" season, or it might have seemed a bit cramped.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hunter112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2009

Although we arrived at 10pm the owner was there to meet us, sort out our parking for the car and help carry our suitcases to our room. Our room was a fair size with 2 double beds, wardrobe space, a table with 3 chairs, an easy chair, a TV, a fridge freezer and microwave. In the bathroom we had a bath with shower head and toilet. Soap shampoo/conditioner provided. The shower was a good power shower and there were plenty of clean towels everyday. The air con worked fine in our room and the temperature was perfect most of the time. The bed was clean fresh and comfortable.

The hotel reception on the 2nd floor has a coffee machine and stuff to make tea and coffee where people tend to meet up in the mornings and sit and chat. You can also sit out on the balcony and look to the beach to your left. The reception also has tourist leaflets.

We arrived on the Friday of bike week thousands of bikers in town but other than the roads being busy it made no difference. We slept well there was no noise the hotel was very quiet.

The hotel is a few footsteps from the beach and the hotel has some umbrellas to use on the beach. They even found us a couple of chairs to borrow. There are plenty of food places along the Boardwalk to eat. Great location for a beach holiday with very friendly owners.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KimQueenofQuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2009

We booked this hotel a month prior to coming to Ocean City this past weekend for Sunfest. What a good choice! The hotel is very small. Room was small but exceptionally clean. The bathroom was even smaller and clean, save a small amount of mildew at the bottom of the shower curtain. I can understand why a few prior reviewers commented on the owners/managers of the hotel - we creeped up the back steps after 1:00 a.m., making a point to be very quiet as we had read the prior reviews - but still got scolded from an open window about the amount of "noise" we made. They do run a very tight ship, which is great and they were very nice at check-in, letting us in well prior to check-in time; however, we still are baffled by the scolding incident. It was, however, not enough to deter us from booking a room again should we ever return to OC, MD. Good choice for the fall months if you travel on a budget!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KeyLimeLover69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2009

The location is great, rooms very clean, quite quaint. Best things about this place are the outdoor showers (private so swimsuit may be removed to get the sand completely out) and the porch with rockers. I've read other reviews about the rooms being small, we had two adjoining bedrooms and they were way roomier than a standard two queen motel room. The floors were sloping, but we got used to them. My husband is a tall man and the beds were too puny! They looked like a Wonder Bread sandwich left out on the counter for a day, with the edges sort of curled up & dried out. I would recommend this hotel for those who haven't been spoiled by the heavenly Marriott or Westin Beds.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sawence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.1 mi away
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#74 of 104 in Ocean City
40 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beach Plaza Hotel
Beach Plaza Hotel
#38 of 104 in Ocean City
542 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Boardwalk
Quality Inn Boardwalk
#79 of 104 in Ocean City
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lankford Hotel
Lankford Hotel
#17 of 104 in Ocean City
174 reviews
1.1 mi away
Oceanic Motel
Oceanic Motel
#67 of 104 in Ocean City
422 reviews
0.0 mi away
An Inn on the Ocean
An Inn on the Ocean
#4 of 18 in Ocean City
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Walk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Walk Hotel

Address: 2 10th St, Ocean City, MD 21842-3710
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Ocean City
#20 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range: $77 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Beach Walk Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Beach Walk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Walk Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing