We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You get what you pay for”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Atlantic Coast Inn

Atlantic Coast Inn
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocean City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Atlantic Coast Inn
Ranked #75 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Budget restraints kept us from the high-end properties and this place was much more reasonable, although the nightly rates changed. The property has no good view other than looking out over the road or a trailer park. It's further north just over the DE. state line and away from the hustle and bustle of OC and the Boardwalk. Plenty of restaurants between their location and the action. Not far from some entertainment options for the kids like mini golf and water parks.
Rooms were nothing special. It is an old, old property and you can only do so much with it unless you have a major renovation. No breakfast option which is always a nice perk. Pool looked OK, but water temp was cold so we didn't get to use it during a 3-day stay.
I would keep in mind that lots of hotels had vacancies. We jumped on this as first-time visitors and didn't want to get stuck with lots of work finding accommodations. You could even go further north of their location and find many more options. Parking close to rooms was a plus.
No bugs, no mildew. Decent beds and housekeeping seemed to be conscientious. For an average of $113.00 a night, you aren't going to have many choices in OC. It is an expensive place to vacation.

Room Tip: find something on the pool side; at least your view won't include the trailer park
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FrankJ569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    6
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
5
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2011

I stopped vacationing in Ocean City, Maryland years ago because it was just too expensive. Hotels there are the biggest ripoff in the state. It was with some trepidation that I decided to stay for 2 nights in September. Waiting til the last minute I was unable to find rooms anywhere for Sunfest weekend. I was ready to give up when I made 1 last phone call after midnight of the day I wanted to arrive and got an answer. The young lady on the phone was very pleasant and immediately asked me what kind of room I wanted, 2 Doubles or 1 Queen. (They actually had rooms!) When I asked about the price she told me $69.00 a night. What? No "one hundred" or "two hundred" in front of that? Other hotels in the area were raping their guests for triple digit rates. Must be a joke. I dialed the wrong number or something and someone was messing with me. But it was real. I ended up with a room with 2 double beds right up by the front office. Couldn't have been better.

Pros: The room was clean and well maintained. I like to check out the trim work and patches on the walls and ceilings from previous rambunctious activity. Everything was perfect. We had a good T.V., table and 2 chairs and a dresser to keep clothes. I really don't remember using any heat or ac so I can't comment on that. The beach is only a block and a half away. Only 2 stories to deal with...no highrise here. "Old school" beach hotel. Despite being near a busy intersection it was very quiet.

Cons: The room was a little on the small side but no big deal. The table and 2 chairs seemed a little crammed in due to the size but they were usable and I was glad to have them...I did use them. There was no desk in the room but it wouldn't fit anyway. Location is way up north near the Delaware line (is actually in Delaware) which some people might not like but I prefer to be far away from the noise. I like cruising up coastal highway and have plenty of time when I am on vacation anyway. They are not open all year. As a matter of fact they were getting ready to close for the winter the weekend I was there. (Although the pool was still open).

If I ever decide to stay in Ocean City again this is the first and ONLY place I will consider.

Room Tip: Call and talk to them...they are very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BobP2923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomasville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2011

The service was wonderful. All the housekeepers and ladies at the front dek were wonderful. You felt like you were a king or a queen you were treated so well by the staff. They helped you with all your needs. Really nice pool.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beachboy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown CT
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel in August 2009, Unsure of how it would look when we got down there we were both pleasntly surprised! The staff was super friendly, check-in and out went smoothly, and we were right on the boardwalk! Our room was on the 2nd floor, comfy bed, normal sized hotel bathroom VERY CLEAN. It was not only clean but a romantic hotel at that, and Kid friendly. Never used the pool but a good size and clean as well. The deck right outside our room has rocking chairs and is open till midnight, if your a people watcher like me its nice to sit out and check out the boarwalk, watch the people on the rides from the amusemnet park and the best part is the beach! Your right there, we went down almost every morning of our stay. Right when you enter from the guest entrance you can use the showers to clean off before you enter the hotel. This was a great stay for us, We are planning on going down again this summer and staying here!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, MD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2009

I was skeptical because of the word "budget" in the web address. However, I was pleasantly surprised! The room was immaculate (which is MOST important), the king size bed was extremely comfortable. There was a nice sitting area surrounded by windows and even a little balcony. It was quiet in spite of the busy intersection just outside. While there were no frills, who needs it when you're just looking for a place to shower and put your head down at night while grabbing a few days on the beach (which is one block walking distance). The bathroom was small, and the towels were a little skimpy, but that did not take anything away from the enjoyment of our stay. I would definitely return to the Atlantic Coast Inn.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynkath24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dover
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2009

The room was clean but the balcony view was of the rooftop next door. The television was a bit small and outdated. The pool area/gazebo was nice until the front desk clerk threatened to call the police on us and we were staying at the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank riptideteal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2009

Stayed here June 24 through June 27, 2009. Room 236. Room with 2 double beds. Dorm size fridge and small micro. Served our needs very well. This was a last minute get-away for my husband and I. The motel grounds are very well kept. Clean, lawn groomed,very neat. The pool area is also very well kept. The room was spotless! The motel may be an older building, but it very well maintained. The bathroom is a little small but was very clean (this being more important to me than a large bathroom.) My only complaint is that the shower didn't have much water pressure, but that is just a very small complaint. Front desk ladies are wonderful! Check in/check out no problems and very friendly and helpful. Friendly housekeeping staff and they do an excellent job. There are 3 Mini-Golf courses and a WaterPark within a block of the motel. And the beach is just about a block and a half from the motel. The Ocean City bus terminal is within an approx. 2 block walk (just across the state line) and you can take the bus all the way to the OC Inlet and the Boardwalk. You can ride all day for $2.00!! We picked the Atlantic Coast Inn for the price but we are looking forward to returning in the future because of the clean room, neat motel grounds and very friendly staff!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dartoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocean City
0.9 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#1 of 4 in Fenwick Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fenwick Inn
Fenwick Inn
#21 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
#28 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach
0.4 mi away
Fenwick Islander Motel
Fenwick Islander Motel
#2 of 4 in Fenwick Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Coast Inn
Atlantic Coast Inn
#1 of 1 in Fenwick Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Coast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Coast Inn

Property: Atlantic Coast Inn
Address: 146th Street, Ocean City, MD 21842 (Formerly Atlantic Budget Inn)
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#44 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Atlantic Coast Hotel Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing