We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second Time Here, Still a Nice Choice in OC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Ocean City Oceanfront
Ranked #13 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster, PA
Level Contributor
86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Second Time Here, Still a Nice Choice in OC”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

This was our second time staying at this hotel. We stayed here 3 years ago when it first opened and were pleasantly surprised at the hotel considering that the vast majority of the hotels in Ocean City are run down. Not much has changed with the hotel in that 3 years and it appears that the management has been keeping up with the property quite well. We had an ocean front room that overlooked the beach and boardwalk. It had a small but adequate balcony to enjoy the view from. The rooms were clean and the beds are still super comfortable. The staff are friendly and the location is nice since it's on the quiet end of the boardwalk.

In terms of pricing, this hotel is going to run you a lot more money as compared to other hotels along the boardwalk. Even with our AAA discount, the hotel still was an average of $30-$50 more a night than some other hotels in the general vicinity. But again, you are getting a much nicer and much cleaner hotel than the cheaper ones. The pool area as mentioned is quite small and the parking garage is laid out quite awkwardly. I can see how large vehicles would have difficulty moving around.

I would have no regrets recommending this hotel to any friends or family. In fact, I think even though it is more expensive it is probably one of the better options in Ocean City. The only hotels that may top this are the Holiday Inn Suites (17th St/Boardwalk) or the Hilton Oceanfront Suties (21st St). Holiday Inn would be more for families and the Hilton would be for those with a lot more extra money. We normally do not stay at a hotel twice unless we really like it so I think that maybe keeping that in mind shoudl help.

Happy Travels

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YoungBuckTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    192
    66
    21
    14
See reviews for
208
220
17
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fenelon Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

My Hubby and I stayed at this hotel in April of 2011 and loved it!!!! We decided to return late April 2012. I had requested a ocean front,(on the fourth floor) with king bed. The view was Awesome, the bed however....was so uncomfortable....We still enjoyed our stay. The only problem we had was when my hubby and I were having an afternoon toddy on the balcony, we heard someone at our door and then they opened it and walked in.. They had been given the key to our room thinking they were renting that room. The front desk did call us and apologize for the mix up but still.....we both did not feel comfortable after that. I didn't want to leave anything in the room when we would go out. Even after this We do hope to return next year and bring our family too. Hopefully the bed won't be uncomfortable and no mix ups with other guest entering our room...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

We are in the hotel this weekend. When you get here, you have to park across the street. That is somewhat expected down here. When you get into the room, it is a very big room with a nice view. The problem is with the sound thin walls and doors. You can hear all of your neighbors, especially if they are on the decks til 3am. Also, you can not keep ur windows open because people are smoking on the balconies. You figure for a $300/night hotel, they would have people roaming around to make sure there policies that you sign for when you check in are kept up. If you are family, definetly do not stay here. The only perk is being on the boardwalk. If you want to be on the beach, stay at the princess. Never had a problem with noise and smoking there. Platinum Elite Member.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank keytonsraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

I was surprised at how big the room was. I booked a king with sofabed with city view. The sofa with a chair had it's own little area with a large flatscreen tv on the wall. The sleeping area had a king bed, another tv and chair, desk and a small counter with small fridge and micorwave underneath it. The bathroom had a deep whirlpool tub, plenty of counter space on vanity. There was also a separate vanity right outside the bathroom. The room was like a mini suite which was nice. The quality of the bed, sheets and shower is what you would expect from a Courtyard. It's not the best but what expected. The season hasn't kicked-off yet so it was very quiet at the hotel - not many people working. Check-in staff were ok - not very talkative but not unfriendly. The seafood at the restaurant were very fresh. Portions were huge so we were happy that there was a fridge and microwave in the room. The waiter (sorry, I'm so bad with names) was very friendly and attentive so at least he made us feel welcome. The hotel was pretty much what I would expect from a Courtyard - actually a little better because of the size of the room.

Room Tip: City view rooms are very noisy as you hear traffic as soon as the sun rises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn M, General Manager at Courtyard Ocean City Oceanfront, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Thank you for your response, TinaS107. Our staff is excited to hear how you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Ocean City!
Thank you,
Shawn McMahon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

This hotel was right on the boardwalk but since it wasn't the "season" not too busy. The rooms are funky and very clean, the restaurant had amazing food (order the crab cakes broiled so you can taste the crab). Our server was wonderful. Although the room was great, the balcony on floor 2 overlooking an empty pool was not. Iasked about a higher up roomand they said they were all booked. We are gold members of Marriott and when we booked our room they said we were getting an upgrade, Marriott obviously does not know this hotel does not "upgrade" and all points members get the same room for 35k points. There are two chairs on the deck, and you can't fit anything else. We were just staying one night so it was okay but in summer, pay to be higher up.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JA-GirlinNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn M, General Manager at Courtyard Ocean City Oceanfront, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Thank you for your response regarding the Courtyard by Marriott-Ocean City. We are happy to see that enjoyed your stay with us and the food in the Captain's Table Restaurant located on the third floor of our hotel. We value all of our Marriott Reward guest that stay at our hotel and offer to upgrade our guest when we have the availability.

We look forward to seeing you the next time that you visit Ocean City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel at least six times and have always been able to use reward points for at least part of my stay. As a Gold member, all of the documentation that I receive from Marriott says not black out periods. Someone needs to remind the hotel of this policy. When I wanted to use points for two of the four nights I had reserved I was told that there were no more reward rooms available. What????? the reservation was booked months in advance and there are no black out dates. I was told that the hotel restricted the number of reward rooms because of the events for the weekend. When I pushed on no black out dates, they came back and said that I could use points, but would need to move in the middle of my stay because the reward room could not be an ocean facing room. What????? I continued to push the issue and Amber in Member Services was able to convince the hotel to allow me to use points for the first two nights and pay for the weekend nights (higher rate) and to have an ocean facing room for the entire stay. This was very disappointing as I have never had any push back using points at any Marriott property. It looks like I may start staying more at Hilton.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank julemag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn M, General Manager at Courtyard Ocean City Oceanfront, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
Thank you for your review julemag. We value all our Marriott Reward Stay Guest that stay at our property. Our hotel take as many Marriott Reward Stays as we are able to per day and let guest know to book in advance if they would like to use their points for there stay. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing on your next visit to Ocean City.
Thank you,
Shawn McMahon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

We are Marriott gold reward members and have stayed at this hotel numerous times. This last time will be our last. When we arrived, we noticed (you can't miss it) the boardwalk construction and asked at the front desk for another room. We were told they were sold out but that construction didn't start until late morning. We took our bottom floor room for $200/night. On Monday morning, the construction started at 7AM. It was literally less than 50 yards from our window. The noise was horrible! We were out by 8, of course. Marriott should NOT have anyone stay in the rooms so close to the construction site. We won't ever return.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Vendz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn M, General Manager at Courtyard Ocean City Oceanfront, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Thank you for your response regarding your recent stay at the Courtyard by Marriott-Ocean City. We do apologize for the construction that the Town of Ocean City was doing on the Boardwalk to renovate the boardwalk. All the renovations have been completed on the Boardwalk in front of our hotel and we hope that you will make a trip back to Ocean City to enjoy our beautiful hotel.
Our staff would love another opportunity to "WOW" you without the construciton on the Boardwalk.
Thank you,
Shawn McMahon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
1.2 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
0.9 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#2 of 103 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#15 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,902 reviews
0.4 mi away
Paradise Plaza Inn
Paradise Plaza Inn
#8 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Ocean City Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Ocean City Oceanfront

Property: Courtyard Ocean City Oceanfront
Address: 2 15th St, Ocean City, MD 21842-4495 (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott Ocean City)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Ocean City
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#13 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#19 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Ocean City Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott Ocean City Oceanfront offers the most elegantly appointed guestrooms on the beach. Our hotel is located directly on the boardwalk and is the newest hotel on the oceanfront. Whether you are enjoying a weekend getaway, a family vacation or a business trip you will leave looking forward to your next visit. Enjoy breathtaking sunrises, glorious afternoons and the exciting night life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Ocean City Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Ocean City Hotel Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing