We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best bang for your buck”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Thunderbird Beach Motel
Ranked #69 of 104 Hotels in Ocean City
Reviewed July 30, 2010

Cant beat the thunderbird, its good location, its a 50yard walk to the beach, 2nd year staying there and had no problems what so ever. The rooms were alot better this year, they were alittle more clean then last. That was the only problem but they got that down so there isnt to much to complain about at the thunderbird. The Price cant be beat, its not the hilton so dont expect that but it you want to waste all your vacation money on a fancy room your just gonna change in and sleep then walk across the street. The thunderbird is great place to stay and the best bang for your buck. cant beat it!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pistol56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
troypurn, Owner at Thunderbird Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2010

Thanks for the positive comments regarding the Thunderbird Beach Motel. We are so glad you came back again this year and look forward to seeing you again next year. We promise to continually push to improve our property and provide the best guest experience possible. Thanks again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 158 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2010

The Thunderbird was a good place to stay, the room was decent and had a microwave, safe, and small refrigerator. Staff was courteous and immediately attentive to any needs. Excellent value for the money especially for a family on a budget. I would recommend to others and would stay at again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank someparamedic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
troypurn, Owner at Thunderbird Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2010

Dear Guest, Thanks so much for the great comments regarding the Thunderbird Beach Motel. We appreciate your business and will continue to do our best to see that our guests have the best experience possible while receiving a great value. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2010

2nd year at the Thunderbird and will return again. Staff was great, room was fine & location is perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cathy907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
troypurn, Owner at Thunderbird Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2010

Dear Guest, Thankyou so much for your positive review on the Thunderbird Beach Motel. We certainly appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Thanks again, Troy Purnell, owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2010

I was there last week with my husband and we really enjoyed the place . IT IS CLEAN AND THE LOCATION IS GREAT just by the ocean. I WOULD DEFINITELY RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO OTHER PEOPLE. THE workers are nice. I will come back again

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fadel3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
troypurn, Owner at Thunderbird Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2010

Dear Guest, Thank YOU for your positive review regarding the Thunderbird Beach Motel. We are striving to make every guest experience the best we can. We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and we would love to see you back there as soon as possible. Once again, THANKYOU!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2010

Stayed in the Thunderbird in early June 2010 with a group of friends, I have to say that I am very surprised to see some of the earlier reviews. From a value standpoint this place cannot be beat, the staff was friendly and accommodating, and the location is ideal for any OC visitor. Either the new management has seriously turned this place around or the earlier negative posts were from people who look for the cheap rates and expect the Ritz-Carlton. From my experience, you're not gonna get a better bang for your buck! I will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laxman37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
troypurn, Owner at Thunderbird Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2010

Dear Guest,
Thanks so much for the positive review. Our new management team strives to see your experience at tha Thunderbird Beach Motel is a positive one as we want you to come back as often as possible. We appreciate your thoughts and if there is any way to make your stay better please advise us and we will do everything we can to accomodate you.
Sincerely, Troy Purnell, owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2010

I recently just returned from OCMD and we stayed at the Thunderbird for 5 nights.. the location of the hotel is great but that is about it! the room was very dated and old it was not clean there was hair on the floor and in the tub of the bathroom.. the beds were uncomfortable..we the maid never came to clean our room each day we had to track someone down just to get clean towels and when we did the maid was very rude about giving us some clean towels..the pool was alright but needs to be monitered by staff several times when i attempted to go in the pool with my friends there were kids in the pool with food and drinks which was discusting. the website states there is 1 parking spot per room but this is not true we did not have a spot in the lot for 3 days we had to park on the street that made me very nervous leaving my car where i could not see it.. this was my first stay at the thunderbird and will def be my last! i have family heading down to OCMD next month and they were going to book at the thunderbird but now have changed their mind and our staying else where! Beware the price may look good but i definatly encourage anyone to spend a little more to stay somewhere else..

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karjan83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
troypurn, Owner at Thunderbird Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2010

I am sorry to hear you were not satisfied with your stay. I have inquired of the manager as to any complaints of this sort and there were none to his knowledge. If we are not made aware of problems it is hard for us to correct them. Our policy is that each room receive maid service (with a smile). There is ample parking in the rear of the motel that maybe you were unaware of. You are correct that the price is good and sorry that you felt the room was dirty. If you would please advise us as to your room number and name you were registered under we will look into what may have gone wrong and correct it as soon as possible. We Thank You for your comments. I just wish we had gotten them while you were staying with us so they could have been corrected while you were here.
Sincerely, Troy Purnell, owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2010

We Just got back from OCM, stayed here. It was worth the money. This is no 5 star hotel. don't get me wrong, but, it was nice. The rooms have some wear. They were very clean.
If you all you need is a place to lay your head for the night, you can't beat this deal.
1 minute walk to the beach.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sprayguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
troypurn, Owner at Thunderbird Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2010

Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to write this positive review . We are under new management and are continually working to improve the rooms and guest experience in any way possible. Your comments are deeply appreciated and we look forward to seeing you again at the Thunderbird Beach motel.

Sincerely, Troy Purnell, owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
5 mi away
Cayman Suites
Cayman Suites
#20 of 104 in Ocean City
338 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crystal Beach Hotel
Crystal Beach Hotel
#57 of 104 in Ocean City
321 reviews
4.9 mi away
Sea Hawk Motel
Sea Hawk Motel
#31 of 104 in Ocean City
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Bonita Beach Hotel
Bonita Beach Hotel
#16 of 104 in Ocean City
484 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sea Bay Hotel
Sea Bay Hotel
#33 of 104 in Ocean City
421 reviews
0.1 mi away
Flamingo Motel
Flamingo Motel
#61 of 104 in Ocean City
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunderbird Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Beach Motel

Address: 3110 Baltimore Ave, Ocean City, MD 21842-3398
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range: $100 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Thunderbird Beach Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Thunderbird Beach Motel is a quaint 63 room motel located in the downtown area of Ocean City, MD. It is on the East side of Baltimore Avenue. Rooms come standard with 2 double beds, mini fridge, microwave, color/cable TV, and Free Wi-Fi. There are also King Rooms available, which contain one King sized bed, with a pull out sofa, and flatscreen TV. There is an outdoor heated swimming pool on site, and is a 30 second walk to the beach! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Thunderbird Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Beach Hotel Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing