We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Budget-friendly, but still a motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Thunderbird Beach Motel
Ranked #72 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Budget-friendly, but still a motel”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My friend and I booked the hotel through booking.com after reading several good reviews about the place. We were given a total due that neither of us could argue about for a 3-night stay. When we checked in to pay, it was approximately $70 more than booking.com had said, but it still didn't break the bank. They allowed us to check in 2 hours early which was helpful. The room was very clean. The bathroom door did not close, the toilet did not flush properly, and the shower water temperature and pressure were all annoying to us, but thankfully we are two females who are comfortable with each other. We were very satisfied with the location, as we were very close to the beach and other attractions (Jolly Rogers amusement park, food venues, etc) The staff was extremely friendly. Our housekeeper Alexis really did her job well. I would recommend this hotel if you are basically looking for a place to shower and sleep.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KingsGrad10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dickie L, Manager at Thunderbird Beach Motel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments and review!
I am not sure I understand about the $70 more money owed. Booking.com only quotes the stay "without tax". $70 still seems to be a bit much. I could have easily adjusted the stay if I found that I needed to. I was not made aware of this, so very sorry for any inconvenience that may have caused.
We do have maintenance on property, AND off property maintenance if need be. Meaning we could have addressed those issues you speak of if we were aware of it. Agagin, sorry for any inconvenience.
Thank you for choosing Thunderbird for your vacation stay, and we hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    53
    25
    13
    18
See reviews for
55
37
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, PA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

If you are going to Ocean City and are just looking for an affordable place to sleep that is close to the beach and attractions, then look no further. If you are looking for a fancy place to stay, then keep shopping. The Thunderbird was quiet, clean, and in our budget. It's a 1/2 block to the beach. The heated pool was also clean and not crowded when we were there. AC in the room worked well. The staff was friendly and helpful and the parking posed no problems (we have had them with other OC hotels). Comfy pillows, adequate mattress. Flat screen TV. Room itself in need of some cosmetics but I'm only there to sleep so that didn't bother me. Perhaps the only thing that was very slightly annoying was the temp of the water kept changing while we took our showers and the water pressure was so-so. Otherwise I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gypsymarestudios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dickie L, Manager at Thunderbird Beach Motel, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you for your comments and review!
We are the standard, basic motel. However, we do still take as much pride in our job duties as any other motel staff in town. I am very pleased to know that you were comfortable while staying with us.
I appreciate the suggestions on what might need improvements. I will definitely make certain that we have looked into everything with the water temp and pressure. On many occasions, since the plumbing leads to other rooms as well, it is because of others showering for the difference in temp or pressure. I will however, have the company plumbers be certain that there are no other issues.
Thank you again, and we hope to see you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, OH
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

I brought my 3 teeneage sons for a beach get-away. The Thunderbird was perfect. Nice beds and the bathroom was clean. The pool is well-maintained and heated nicely so you can swim even when it is chilly out! Staff responded to everything immediately and was very friendly and accomodating. Location was great too...as close to the beach as you can get without being ocean front. Nice breakfast place right across the street and everything you would need within walking distance. The boardwalk starts only a few blocks away. We didn't mind, but if you have trouble climbing stairs...there is no elevator to the 2nd and 3rd floor. We would highly recommend to people looking for a good deal!

Room Tip: Ask for the first floor if you have trouble with stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MummeyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dickie L, Manager at Thunderbird Beach Motel, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments and awesome review. We very much appreciate it!
I am very glad to know that our staff was on top of things. We have an awesome staff here, and they see all reviews. They know that their hard work pays off when they see the comments of guests that appreciate that hard work.
There are times when I wish we had an elevator as well :) ..Very sorry for that inconvenience. Thanks for your suggestion to request first floor if having issues with walking too many steps. We do honor first come, first serve request as best we can.
Thank you for staying with us, and we hope we are part of your future plans when vacationing here again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Ringgold, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Just returned from staying 3 nights. Staff was very friendly! Rooms were clean. Plenty of clean towels. The room was not very big, but did accommodate 4 ladies, with 1 being a teenager and the other a young adult, without us having to step over everything. The pool was clean. Would definitely go back again. My only suggestion would be to take along a power strip. With all the electronics people use, there were not enough available outlets for recharging.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy0425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dickie L, Manager at Thunderbird Beach Motel, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments and review! Myself and the staff really appreciate it...
Very sorry for the inconvenience of not enough outlets. It is standard however, for our style of motel. I would like to honor all requests for improvements. We do close for the season, and we do maintain and improve the motel to the best of our ability. We take all suggestions for improvements very seriously, and I will certainly pass along any improvement ideas to the owners, and hope that we can be even more accomodating in the future.
Thank you for staying with us, and thank you very much for your suggestion. We hope to see you on your next vacation in O.C.!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed there for 2 nights...we arrived a little bit early ...still they allowed us to use their facilities even we havent checked in yet. Staff were so wonderful..and very accomodating...our friends came the following day..We checked if they would let our friends stay for a night in our room...and they did for NO CHARGE...even gave us some extra blankets...nice fresh sheets...and the lady who cleans our room even place extra nice touches in the room ...arranged my kids stuff toys and pillows ...fresh new towels each day and sheets too...
The location is great...just a walk away from the beach, Splash mountain and mc donalds...a few blocks away from the Boardwalk..we had so much fun...most importantly we save a great deal on the price.

Room Tip: Request for a first floor rooms on the left corner, much easier when you have kids and when you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank angelkate06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dickie L, Manager at Thunderbird Beach Motel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you so very much for the awesome comments and rating!
I truly enjoyed reading your comments. Myself and our staff really appreciate it. We know we are doing our job, and we get personal satisfaction knowing you had such a great time. The staff's work can be challenging at times. As so with any job. But when we see these comments, and the fact we had a part in your being comfortable here, we are glad we do what we do. The most important thing to us is that you were comfortable and relaxed here. The most important thing for your vacation is that you had a great time.
Thank you again, and we hope we see you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My friends and I were extremely pleased with our hotel stay. The room was very cleaned andthe beds were very comfortable. We enjoy staying here because it's close to the beach and of course not far from Seacrets. The bus stop is a block away too. The prices are cheap and the rooms are clean. We will continue to stay here every summer!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dominique K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dickie L, Manager at Thunderbird Beach Motel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
First of all, thank you so much for staying with us! Thank you very much for your wonderful comments and rating. Myself and the staff truly appreciate it. We have a great staff, and they know that their hard work pays off when the guests comment about that. It gives us a sense of pride, knowing that we played a part in helping you have a great time with your vacation.
Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you in the future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Room was clean - but this is a basic, no frills hotel. Parking is limited to one spot per room.

We did have a problem with our shower during the stay. The maintenance person was very friendly and resolved the problem quickly.

Location is great - short walk to the beach, and a quick drive to other attractions.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christopher T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dickie L, Manager at Thunderbird Beach Motel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for staying with us, and thank you much for your comments and rating.
All of our staff sees all reviews, and they do their best to assure everyone is as comfortable as possible, and see that any needs are met. I am glad to know the shower issue was resolved quickly.
Thank you again, and we hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.3 mi away
Seabonay Motel
Seabonay Motel
#71 of 103 in Ocean City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
1.5 mi away
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#79 of 103 in Ocean City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
4.6 mi away
Coastal Palms Inn & Suites
Coastal Palms Inn & Suites
#69 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
#74 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.9 mi away
Princess Bayside Beach Hotel
Princess Bayside Beach Hotel
#62 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
4.9 mi away
Sea Hawk Motel
Sea Hawk Motel
#36 of 103 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunderbird Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Beach Motel

Property: Thunderbird Beach Motel
Address: 3110 Baltimore Ave, Ocean City, MD 21842-3398
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Thunderbird Beach Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Thunderbird Beach Motel is a quaint 63 room motel located in the downtown area of Ocean City, MD. It is on the East side of Baltimore Avenue. Rooms come standard with 2 double beds, mini fridge, microwave, color/cable TV, and Free Wi-Fi. There are also King Rooms available, which contain one King sized bed, with a pull out sofa, and flatscreen TV. There is an outdoor heated swimming pool on site, and is a 30 second walk to the beach! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Thunderbird Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Beach Hotel Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing