We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst stay ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Commander Hotel
Ranked #8 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Bel Air, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worst stay ever”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Not the Commander from the old days. Restaurant only open for breakfast on a weekend when there were literally no vacancies in town due to the Hot Rod show. No room service for a "luxury" hotel. The pool Cabana was open for lunch and evening drinks but the pool wasn't. There is very little on-site parking for a hotel with 7 floors and 2 buildings, unless you want to park Bayside. In a time where pretty much all hotels put flat screen TVs in the rooms, we had a 19" TV. The sofa was vinyl, the furniture looked like it came from a kid's playroom. The bed pillows were the size of sofa throw cushions and hard, while the mattresses were the cheapest I've ever slept on. I think the room phones date back to the 1980's, and local calls weren't free. We used our cell phones to call restaurants. The door's deadbolt didn't work, neither did the room safe, or the lock on the balcony door. Maintenance had to come up to fix the safe and the balcony door (you had to jiggle it to lock it), and the place smelled musty, while the hallways smelled of chemicals. One ice machine for the entire hotel, vending machines were out in the parking lot! If we had been in a small cheap motel or hotel I'd say OK, whatever, but we basically paid $236/night for a great view, which was the only thing we liked about the place. However, it rained while were there, so we were pretty much stuck in a crappy room. The web site said they renovated...if they consider slapping a new coat of paint on the walls and ceiling (it was a bad paint job) and buying some cheap bedding renovation, they need new owners and management. That being said, the water pressure in the shower was very good, and the front desk staff was friendly.

Room Tip: Don't come here. You can have a much better time in even a Holiday Inn or the like. Rooms at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    235
    94
    26
    41
See reviews for
396
156
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend getaway. It was a really nice, clean hotel. We were very pleasantly surprised. They have a great location, view and even an indoor pool. Everything was clean and had been renovated over the years.

Room Tip: Loved the oceanfront room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mt top
Level Contributor
89 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the hotel bldg for Springfest. Our usual spot was booked. The staff was very nice and helpful. It was clean and nice. However the bed was extremely uncomfortable. Has a cute little indoor pool, and a nice resturaunt. The breakfast buffet was great, well worth it. Great location on the boardwalk.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank familyof5mttop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haines City, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Lynch family have owner the Commander since the 30's. Their standards of hospitality, cleanliness and customer care are second to none. Highly recommend the Commander in OC! The lcation is right in the middle of the famous Boardwalk and most attractions are within walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastampton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stayed Jeep week 2012 Cabana suites. This hotel and many others in OC need a serious overhaul. The location is great but the room and bathroom were so dated and just plain old which made me see how dirty it really was. I was also disappointed with the parking situation, once you left the hotel you had to jockey for a new spot or park in their over flow lot which was a couple blocks away. But my biggest issue was the dried blood on my pillow this wasn't a small spot, someone had a serious nose bleed, of course they exchanged them but the image was burnt into my memory so I sent my husband out to buy pillows and cases and sheets, I always travel with my own towels and bath cloths. I'm sure they can afford to update the rooms and maybe hire a better cleaning staff. A fresh coat of paint, removing that ugly wallpaper in the bathroom, new linens (sheets, blankets, towels and pillows)replacing the carpet and a thorough cleaning would do wonders. A positive was the location and balcony. And just a fyi, we have been coming to OC for over 23 years and have stayed at several hotels over the years and this was the worst.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Toni G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrick, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We have been traveling to ocean city, MD for the past 18 years for our annual golf outing. We have stayed at the Commander Hotel for the past 16 years. Why? Because they do it all... the service is terrific, the breakfast buffet is excellent. the rooms are clean and neat the the view of the boardwalk and the ocean is fantastic. They book all details of our trip besides the rooms. They set up our golf course tee times and they work extremely hard at making your trip perfect.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towson, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We had such a nice stay here. The hotel is a great mix of old Ocean City charm and modern convenience. The room had very comfortable beds, a full size refrigerator and mini kitchen. Most importantly, it was spotless, and the cleaning staff was friendly and fabulous!! The view and location can't be beat. Staff was welcoming and accommodating. We'll definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Oceanfront is awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MackLack7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
1.0 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#2 of 103 in Ocean City
2,055 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#15 of 103 in Ocean City
3,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Ocean City Oceanfront
Courtyard Ocean City Oceanfront
#13 of 103 in Ocean City
571 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
#30 of 103 in Ocean City
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Commander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Commander Hotel

Property: The Commander Hotel
Address: 14th St. and Boardwalk, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Commander Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Commander unveils a $5 million dollar renovation which features 3 different types of accommodations: Our Oceanfront Suites Our Oceanview Studios Our Cabana Suites overlooking the pool yet are still only steps from the beach. As you set sail for one of Ocean City’s finest oceanfront hotels, the vacation you deserve awaits you! On the corner of 14th street and the boardwalk, we offer you newly renovated rooms and amenities. Onsite you’ll enjoy our soothing new beach colors and modern room decors. While shopping, restaurants, churches, library, nightlife, marinas, water sports and entertainment are virtually at your fingertips. Rediscover the hotel where fun and relaxation have been the standard for generations. Here you can look forward to days spent on the guarded beach. At lunch enjoy a cold drink and bar fare at our pool side bar while soaking up the sun rays, or simply relax in the cool atmosphere of our indoor pool. In the late afternoon, you might find yourself on the private balcony of your oceanfront suite, watching the fishing yachts returning home after a day of fighting the white or blue marlin. This is a great time to plan your evening dining menu with the great variety of culinary delights Ocean City has to offer. If time or weather are an issue, simply make your way to the family friendly onsite Grottos Pizza and see for yourself why they are the first name in pizza here on the shore. After a spectacular sunrise over the Atlantic Ocean, you might be inclined to grab your golf clubs and meet downstairs at the Fractured Prune for their famous made to order donuts or a tasty breakfast sandwich before playing one of the area’s fine courses. Our knowledgeable in-house golf concierge is ready to assist you. Family owned since 1930. The tradition continues…..a tradition of service, hospitality and catering to your wishes! The Commander Hotel & Suites Offers: Oceanfront Suites on the Boardwalk Private Balcony or Terrace Refrigerator Microwave Coffee Maker 42″ HD TV with Dish Network Service Guest Laundry Indoor Pool Outdoor Pool with zero entry Grotto Pizza on the Ocean Walking Distance To Major Entertainment & Dining Free Parking Golf Packages Fractured Prune Donut Shop on site Eco Friendly Olive Branch Botanicals Bath Amenities in all guest rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your The Commander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commander Hotel Ocean City
Commander Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing