We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Commander Hotel
Ranked #5 of 104 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed in the Cabanas overlooking outdoor pool which accommodated 6 very well (2 Queen and one double sofa bed). Could use updating but was clean overall. Location just at the edge of the 'real' activity on the boardwalk.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abt7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (882)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

719 - 725 of 882 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2012

The first thing I noticed when we walked in was how dirty it was. There's a huge stain on the counter, stains all over the walls, stains on the chairs outside, and on the bathroom floor. The dishes in the drawers were dirty and made me not want to use them. The bathroom also smelled disgusting when I first got here, and there is MOLD growing on the back of the shower curtain. There are stains on our sheets as well. It's disgusting and makes me uncomfortable to stay in. Under the bed looks like it hasn't been cleaned in years. It was never this dirty before, I don't know what happened. It's completely unacceptable.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anonymous657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Check-in went smooth. Our room was on the 5th floor - oceanfront. The room was clean and in very good shape. The location of the hotel is ideal - far enough away from the noise and commotion of the boardwalk shops and bars but close enough to be an enjoyable walk. The boradwalk Tram was also available for $4/person. Had a small issue with the bathroom. The staff was right on it and fixed it immediately. Cleaning staff made their rounds very early (10am) and sometimes forgot to announce themselves before entering. Had to talk to the front desk about that. Met some nice families while sitting on the rocking chairs overlooking the boardwalk. Hotel restaurant was decent - good breakfast buffet. Spent one evening at the OC Casino. Cab ride was under $20 each way. The last day was spent at the outdoor pool. Pool was good size, ate and drank poolside - very fun.

Only complaint was the lack of parking. Was lucky enough to find a spot on the property when we checked-in. Word of advice, DO NOT DRIVE ANYWHERE, your parking spot is not assigned to you and will be gone. The secondary lot is about a block and a half away.

We will be coming back next year! :)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smeetack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

The room was ok. Very small beds. I liked that there was a full sized refrigerator in the room. The balony was nice-we had an ocean front, second floor room. The price is high and you are paying for location because it is a good location to the beach and boards. You can park your car and not drive anywhere for the rest of the week. It is an older hotel and you can tell- there are some upgrades to make it more modern looking but the beds are definitely not queen beds and there is hardly any room for storing your clothes. My husband had to live out of his suit case because we had 2 drawers for clothes plus a clothing closet but there were only 3 hangers in this huge closet.

We had a few issues but the staff took care of everything right away for us. The pool bar is a nice touch but pricey. The Skip Jack Grill has a nice breakfast buffet but it closes early and doesn't serve any other food.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

just retur ned very pleasant stay at the Cabanas section of the hotel very nice room sizes beds could use an upgrade very friendly staff....nice outdoor pool .....centrally located right off the boards and beach will return again

Room Tip: stayed in the cabanas had a kitchenette with full refrig two queen beds and a balconey overlooking t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pmartin6234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

The carpet is falling apart which leaves nails sticking out. Good luck getting a working toilet. The staff is very young and rude. The only good thing about this hotel is the restaurant attached, which has a great breakfast buffet. The pool bar food is very over priced. The bathroom located beside the pool had toilet paper strewn everywhere. The pool was even closed for a day due to the health department not seeing the facility fit for the public!! Go somewhere else until this place gets its business together!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mollyknox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Recently sayed at The Commander < June 2012 with my grandson. Pleasant experience, the balcony was great when viewing the ocean. The only complaint I have is the commode seat had a crack in it....germ fest. The staff were very pleasant and helpful, expecially Jack and the young blond haired man on nightshift, thinking about staying at the Commander next summer.
The guys renting the red sunbrella's were very rude.
Enjoyed sitting on the benche at night and watching my grandson play in the sand, enjoyed the early morning bike riide.
The best of times, was eating breakfast on the viranda with my Collin, and his friend Bryson, at the Slap Jack Bar & Grill. food was excellent, and the smell of the ocean was great.
.

Room Tip: corner Oceanfront view awsome 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rhonda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#14 of 104 in Ocean City
3,782 reviews
1 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#2 of 104 in Ocean City
2,489 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
0.3 mi away
Paradise Plaza Inn
Paradise Plaza Inn
#11 of 104 in Ocean City
1,050 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Commander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Commander Hotel

Address: 14th St. and Boardwalk, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range: $99 - $453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Commander Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As you set sail for one of Ocean City’s finest oceanfront hotels, the vacation you deserve awaits you! On the corner of 14th street and the boardwalk, we offer you newly renovated rooms and amenities. Onsite you’ll enjoy our soothing new beach colors and modern room decors. While shopping, restaurants, churches, nightlife, marinas, water sports and entertainment are virtually at your fingertips. Rediscover the hotel where fun and relaxation have been the standard for generations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your The Commander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commander Hotel Ocean City
Commander Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing