We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & Quaint”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lighthouse Club Hotel an Inn at Fager's Island
Ranked #1 of 18 Ocean City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 16, 2011

I just returned from a weekend stay and must say it was quite enjoyable. This is more a romantic retreat than somewhere to go with friends or children. It is set back off Coastal Highway (about a 10 minute drive ~ without traffic ~ to the Ocean City Boardwalk; about 35 -45 mins to get to the Rehobeth Beach outlets for shopping) and has very quiet surroundings sitting right on the water. The reception/check-in area was on the ground floor and our room was on the 1st floor. There are 2 floors of rooms at this hotel, which really has more of a bed and breakfast feel based on how it is laid out.


To keep it short and sweet, I would not have an issue staying at this hotel again and here are my thoughts on the pros and cons:

Pros
-Greeted with mimosas and with help getting bags to the room

-Pleasant receptionist

-Nice lounge area, both indoors and outdoors

-Large, spacious, and generally clean room (some spotting on carpets, but definitely not a deal breaker for me)

-DVD Player

-Wet bar

-Mini-refrigerator ~ it's actually a bit larger than a standard mini-refrigerator (see picture) with freezer and was stocked with a couple bottles of water and canned sodas (not sure if these were free or not since I did not drink any of those items)

-Comfortable bed

-Whirlpool tub and very clean bathroom

-Deck off of bedroom (did not use though)

-Free parking

-Room service (within certain hours)

Cons
-Based on the open layout of the hotel, noise from the reception/check-in area may travel to your room. Our room was basically right above the reception area, so at times we would hear folks conversing, checking in, etc. I would suggest trying to get a room on the second floor if you really want to try and avoid this, but it still may be an issue just based on the layout of the hotel, which frankly is quite unique and is one of the reasons I was interested in staying here.

-Slightly dated furniture and fixtures (again, not a deal breaker for me)

-Noise from neighbors running whirlpool (whirlpool jets are loud). Of course you cannot control when folks would like to make use of their whirlpool, but this is just something to take note of, as I was awakened early one morning by this and unfortunately because I am a very light sleeper, was unable to get back to sleep

-Noise from upstairs neighbors walking around (not sure if they were just hard walkers or if the space between the upper and lower level of rooms is just that thin). Whatever the case, to avoid this if you might find this bothersome, you may want to consider a room on the top floor, which I would do if I visited this establishment again.

Room Tip: If room available, stay on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LYNNIE72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 165 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2011

We went to OC for our 15th anniversary. We picked the perfect place! So many great features: amazing view, super comfortable bed, great pillows, jacuzzi, fireplace, mimosa at check-in, turn down service (with lighting candles, chocolate, and breakfast for the morning), coffee and cookies in lounge room, golf cart to take us to Fagers for dinner, bath robes, hair dryer, make-up mirror, shampoo/soap/makeup remover, wine/beer that you can charge to room in lounge, rockers on the bottom deck, short walk to beach. Worth the price, we would stay again!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jodim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2011

While expensive, this hotel offered a wonderful room overlooking the bay. The service was excellent and I would certainly stay here again.

This is not a hotel for children or kids. It much more a couple's retreat than anything else.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anabasis75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2010

We absolutely loved the views from the balcony. I don't think we had neighbors but if we did it wouldn't have provided much privacy on the balcony. It was a treat that they provided muffins and chocolate and orange juice.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KikiJamaicanTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2010

Whenever we plan to ride the Seagull Century in Maryland, we stay at the Lighthouse Club hotel. We usually get a lightkeeper's suite, but booked late and stayed in a regular room this time. The room was still plenty spacious, comfortable, clean & with a nice view of the bay. Comparing with previous stays, we thought it's about time for some refurbishment - just getting abit worn and alittle musty. We enjoy the easy access to Fager's Island restaurant and had two excellent dinners. Staff is friendly and had no problem with us storing our bikes in the room. We'll be back next year, but plan to try out the Edge next door.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bikeandplay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2010

To Mary and the Staff at the Lighthouse Club:
We Trimble's from New Jersey would like to thank all of you for another wonderful vacation. The scenery, food at Fagers, and of course the service, were all wonderful as usual. Mary you are the best. You always make us feel like we're coming home! To the rest of the staff you are great too. Thank you. We will probably see all of you in November. It is so worth coming down a few times a year !! Love you guys, Jeanette and Reed.

Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank ReedandJeanette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2010

I have been going to Ocean City, Maryland for many years. Sometimes it's with family, sometimes it's with friends, and sometimes it's with my boyfriend. I have rented condos on the beach and hotel rooms on or near the boardwalk. For this trip, I went with my boyfriend and we decided to stay near the bay. It was mainly to relax and enjoy some peace and quiet. After looking at several websites, we decided to try the Lighthouse. It seemed to be a step above the usual shore places and it was. The location is great! You can see the hotel as you're driving across the bridge. It is right on the bay, so it's pretty hard to miss. The hotel has plenty of off street parking in their parking lot. As soon as we entered the lobby, we were promptly greeted. We arrived about a half an hour early, yet our room was ready. Instead of going to directly to the room, we were given sangria drinks and a tour of the hotel. We were also offered fresh baked cookies that are offered there every day. We took our drinks and cookies and sat outside on the deck in the rocking chairs. It was such a nice way to begin the trip. When we did go to our room, it was very nice. We reserved an upgraded room (the Lightkeeper) and we were glad that we did. The Lightkeeper rooms are more spacious and just overall nicer than the standard rooms. The room had a mini fridge stocked with drinks, a sink area, a flat screen TV, a DVD player, a fireplace, a sectional sofa, a chaise lounger, a coffee table, another table and chairs, a jacuzzi tub, a feather bed, and a marble bathroom with a walk in shower. In addition, there was ample clost space with hangers. Our deck was big enough for 2 chairs to sit out and enjoy the views of the bay and Macky's. At night, there was evening turn down service, which meant chocolates on the pillows, scented candles, and a small breakfast being placed in the fridge. The breakfast consisted of different muffins daily, some fruit, and orange juice. I thought it was nice, especially considering that it's a hotel at the shore. We stayed for a weekend this time, but we've already agreed that we're coming back next summer and staying for a longer weekend here since we enjoyed it so much.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank girlinpa78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
1.7 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#3 of 104 in Ocean City
2,455 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Edge
The Edge
#44 of 104 in Ocean City
94 reviews
2.1 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#14 of 104 in Ocean City
3,757 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#35 of 104 in Ocean City
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lighthouse Club Hotel an Inn at Fager's Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lighthouse Club Hotel an Inn at Fager's Island

Address: 60th Street in the Bay, Fager's Island, Ocean City, MD 21842
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Ocean City
Price Range: $133 - $413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lighthouse Club Hotel an Inn at Fager's Island 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Isle of Wight Bay, the Lighthouse Club Hotel is an octagonal building fashioned after the Thomas Point Lighthouse on the Chesaptown Bay. Its 23 suites are pie shaped with feather beds, double Jacuzzi tubs, upscale imported bedding and bath amenities. Many of the suites have fireplaces and all have large balcony areas facing the bay or the wetlands. The Lighthouse has a large clubroom facing the water with a fireplace, an honor bar every evening, complimentary coffee, tea and hot chocolate daily and warm gourmet cookies every afternoon. A large wrap-around porch with rocking chairs faces the water for fabulous sunsets. An exercise and massage room has just been added for our guests and a heated outdoor pool is available in season. Our Restaurant, Fager's Island, is open daily for lite fare and fine dining, specialty drinks, a notable selection of wines and craft beers. Live entertainment in season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Lighthouse Club Hotel an Inn at Fager's Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lighthouse Hotel Ocean City Md
Lighthouse Club Ocean City
Lighthouse Ocean City
Light House Club Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing