We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appallingly disgusting hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Ocean City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Ranked #26 of 108 Hotels in Ocean City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Appallingly disgusting hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

From the moment one walks into this hotel, the awful stench of ammonium masking a far more rancid smell pervades. The hallway leading to the hotel room stunk like a dumpster, and the room was the most putrid mixture of old smoke, wet dog and some sort of unidentifiable bodily fluid. Thus, we checked out as quickly as we checked in. We were not expecting luxury from a Holiday Inn, particularly in a resort town like Ocean City, but this place is completely uninhabitable and unacceptable. The fact that they even bother attempting to rent out a room in this place is insulting. This place is a scam, and a health inspection agency needs to shut this nauseatingly dank building down.

Room Tip: No rooms are adequate for any one to stay in - whole building reeks
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ocean City, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Sarah M,

We sincerely thank you for sparing your very valuable time to submit a detailed feedback of your experience with us.

I am truly disappointed that your experience with us was not what you expected. I sincerely apologize for the dissatisfaction you had with the room condition and the inconvenience the smell has caused you.

It is our fullest intention to provide the best experience, as such, we are constantly looking into areas of improvements in the best of our efforts assuring you of our best attention and service at all times. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually. Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    266
    134
    63
    54
See reviews for
316
238
19
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
SURREY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Stayed at the Holiday Inn for 5 nights in August. We had booked and paid for an Ocean View but apart from the lower 2 floors I think most have a view of the Ocean. We were originally allocated a room on floor 2 which I would not have been happy about , but Marylou changed this to floor 7 before we had to have this discussion. We received a warm welcome which gives you a good impression from the start. The Hotel is a little dated but has all the facilities you need for beach holiday and the rooms were always clean considering the location . Good kitchen facilities and the laundry facilities were new and free.Great having an indoor pool for when the weather turned, but it is a little small for the number of guests staying here. Great location for the bus which stops outside to get you to the Boardwalk. Having walked the Boardwalk it is much better to stay further away. Very noisy and a little tacky to be honest. Only took 15 mins by bus. Much better restuarants at this end of the coastal highway and closer to oulet shopping in Rehobeth . Overall a very good experience made more enjoyable by the friendliness of the hard working staff. Had stayed at to Marriotts before this trip and if you want clean modern rooms like theirs this is not for you. If you want good size rooms and facilities for a family with great view and balcanies to sit out on in the evening, this is where you should go

Room Tip: Rooms higher up have the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SHAZZER63Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We normally stay at The Hilton but it was booked so I found another hotel on the internet that got decent reveviews. The hotel was horrible so we left and drive a little ways down and found the Holiday Inn. Explaining my situation the very friendly staff gave me a quick room tour. The hotel and grounds were very nice. On the beach, beautifully landscaped, very nice pool and bar. The rooms were nice too. We had beach front balcony. Because it was a holiday weekend and I didnt book in advance the only room available was a smoking room. I was told an ionizer would be placed in the room and I would not smell smoke. The hallways did smell smokey but my room wasnt bad at all. My only complaint was my 2nd and 3rd night the hallways had a very strong "pot" smell. My husband reported it to the front desk and the manager on duty who seemed inexperienced, possibly new, told my husband. "IT IS A SMOKING FLOOR" My husband then told the manager that he feels like he checked into a Crack Hotel. the manager said Crack is alot different. Finally the manager came up to the floor and agreed he smelled pot and had staff cleaned the hallway. Besides that situation, I would stay again however never on a smoking floor. Overall the staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Madebk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights and were very pleased. Room was very clean. The staff were all very nice. The bed was comfy. Loved the outdoor pool and hammocks! Hotel is walking distance to a great seafood buffet and other shops. Mini golf is also right across the street. If I ever come back to ocean city I kno where I am staying!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glittabugz17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

It's true when we checked in and dragging our luggage's as we stayed in this hotel for 4 nights, we noticed that the floor was not even. It scared my kids as they think it was not safe and they wanted to move to another hotel but nothing was available in the area.

What made me give it a 3 was the service and the food in the pool bar which my family loved so much. The guy serving is so accommodating as well.

The noise from the other room can be heard as well including hair dryer, TV, doors opening, etc.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dukester14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ocean City, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear dukester14,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the shortfalls you have encountered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We have been traveling to Ocean City MD for over 15 years and have stayed at many different places. Usually we stay in a high rise condo when staying for a week but stay in hotels when going down for three to four days. My wife and kids were VERY happy with this Holiday Inn and want to return again. We had the direct ocean front room (403) and was not disappointed. The room was clean and spacious for 2 adults and 2 teenagers with a full size refrigerator, stove, microwave and dishwasher. The bathroom was a little small but we showered and got ready one at a time. We travel with an aero air mattress so we did not use the pullout couch. Housekeeping is great and "Dawn" at the front desk was awesome!!

This hotel has shuffle board and tennis for free and a complimentary fruit bowl in the lobby which is always full of bananas, oranges and apples. The pool is very nice with a swim up bar and a full service snack bar. We do not drink and the bar did not interfere with any of us having fun, no one was drunk or out of control. They play classic rock, which my kids not not like to much, I did enjoy it but they could mix up the music a little.

There are plenty of lounge chairs on the sun deck. The lounge chairs directly around the pool are usually full early in the morning with people who do not go to the beach. If you go to the beach in the morning and use the pool in the afternoon then you will have to use the sun decks, but we always found 4 lounge chairs for our stuff. One afternoon they had a very entertaining jugging show on the tennis court. Before the show he spent time with the kids teaching them how to use Chinese Yoyo's.

The grounds are very nice with plenty of flowers and tropical trees. They have a great landscaping team who are busy everyday keeping the place clean and looking great.

After reading all the reviews I went to this hotel a little skeptical because some of the reviews were on the negative side. After spending three full days at this hotel/resort we could not find anything negative. For Ocean City the price was right in line, the grounds were nice and the atmosphere was tropical. Can't wait to return!!

Room Tip: If you like the ocean spend the extra money and get the Direct Ocean Front Rooms. They have private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mpcpjep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This hotel didn't WOW me but it is an average hotel for a stay in Ocean City, Maryland. Overall the staff seemed friendly and helpful. This hotel has an awesome setup for ocean access and the hammocks are great! The pool is not exactly kid friendly with the swim up bar and adults standing there where kids like to jump and splash. The room overall was just ok. The bathroom was a bit small and the ceiling very low. Hard to share when getting ready for the day or evening out. We also noticed that our room seemed damp and muggy. The kitchen area is a plus especially if you are traveling with kids or as a family. The beds were comfy but the pull out couch was lacking. Luckily only our toddler was sleeping there and not a full grown adult or all they would have felt are the bars in their back and a spring in their butt. A major plus for our family was the parking availability and we were able to bring our boat and large pickup and not worry about where to park it, there was plenty of parking. Honestly on a previous stay in August we stayed at a higher quality hotel for the same amount of money that served a free continental breakfast and was closer to all of the "action", so I would call this hotel just average.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ocean City, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Melissa L,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our staff and room.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the pool, bathroom size, and the pull out couch. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
2.7 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#19 of 108 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 stars 2,293 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn Oceanfront
Quality Inn Oceanfront
#25 of 108 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 stars 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
2.0 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
#15 of 108 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 stars 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Ocean City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Ocean City

Property: Holiday Inn Ocean City
Address: 6600 Coastal Hwy, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ocean City
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#16 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Ocean City 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Oceanfront Resort Hotel and Conference Center is located directly on the beach and ocean. Our hotel offers a great location in midtown Ocean City, MD, with the sandy beaches as our backyard. Spend a sunny afternoon relaxing on our oceanside hammocks or take a dip in our outdoor pool with swim up pool bar where you can enjoy a refreshing cocktail. We also offer activities such as tennis, a game room, shuffle board, tanning bed, and supervised children s activities in-season. Kids 19 & under stay free, while children 12 and under eat free. Ocean City Golf Packages are our specialty with over 20 golf courses just a short drive from the hotel. Family fun, including Jolly Roger s amusement park, jet ski rentals, parasailing, Northside Park, and putt putt golf are conveniently located nearby. Assateague National Park with wild ponies is located just 20 minutes away. The hotel is located just one mile from Seacrets Bar and Grill, 3 miles from the Ocean City boardwalk, and walking distance from famous Fager s Island Restaurant. Enjoy an authentic Italian experience in our restaurant: Touch of Italy. Serving fresh items like handmade mozzarella cheese, pasta, pizza, cookies and crispy bread, as well as high quality imported items from Italy. Touch of Italy was born out of two Italian family traditions that trace back to the late 1800's. These two families trace their roots to the beautiful Marche and Abruzzo regions in Central Italy, where one can find rich cultural traditions and recipes passed down from generation to generation. In season visit our famous Original Pool Bar and Grill for tropical libations and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Ocean City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ocean City Hotel Ocean City
Ocean City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing