We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Bad....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Ranked #35 of 104 Hotels in Ocean City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The best part was the view. I liked that they offer a small kitchen, but it wasn't stocked well, and very out-dated. The room was clean and spacious enough. The bathroom was a bit small. The hotel is far enough from the inlet where you aren't overpowered by noise, but close enough to get there quickly when you want to be part of the action. The staff was very friendly, and the breakfast buffet was decent.

Room Tip: Choose a beachfront room. Nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (889)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

479 - 485 of 889 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2013

I'll make my review short and sweet.

Pros:
Modern rooms with comfortable bed and linens
Very nice accommodating staff
Beautiful beach.
Many restaurants and shops on street.


Cons
Kitchen very old
Hard to find towels at pool
Though bathroom was modern. Very dirty, and falling apart.
Hardly no children's channels and no pay per view on t.v
Pool area was nice but way too mall. Pool was heated on a 90 degree day.
Never ate in any of the hotel restaurants but we ordered room service one day for breakfast. It was expensive and disgusting!
Not much for little kids(5 and under) to do besides beach and pool.

Room Tip: Above floor 3 is quiet. But this is a family (kid) friendly hotel, so expect a lot of noise. Bring...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cloiac112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ocean City, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Dear cloiac112,

Thank you for your review and for enumerating the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. Whilst I am pleased with the good comments, I truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. I am sorry for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay with us. As we continually strive for excellence in customer service, we maintain the ideal of keeping guest satisfaction as our top priority. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This hotel was a perfect place to bring kids. The staff was wonderful. The beach / pool access was easy to get too. They has wonderful programs for the kids every day. The location was ideal as it was not too close or too far from the boardwalk. Good time had by all. Adults and kids.

Room Tip: Although the beach front rooms were nice, they are a good hike from the elevators. My niece had a st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ocean City, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback and review. We were pleased to read that you had a great experience and enjoyed your visit to OCMD! We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Two star hotel at best. I am really surprised that holiday inn allows this hotel to keep its franchise it is in such poor condition. The door to our room was so beaten up it looked like it had been broken into about 20 times, metal deformed from prybars pushing in the door, privacy lock hanging broken from the hinges. Ceiling ac unit dripping condensation onto the floor. Inside the bathroom the towel rack was nearly falling off the fall and the tile around the shower curtain was cracked. The door was in such poor shape there was a one inch gap that went clear out into the hall. On the bright side, the room service was very quick. Bottom line is that this is an overpriced beachfront 60s era Holiday Inn that needs a renovation. If not, it should or lose the holiday inn franchise. We will think very long and hard before staying in a holiday inn again after this experience.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
6  Thank Hamill67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ocean City, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Thank you for your review and feedback. I am sorry you did not fully enjoy your stay with us. I have reviewed you pictures and review with my housekeeping team and maintenance crew to ensure each guest has a positive experience and assist us in making improvements in the future. I appreciate you writing a review of our hotel and staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Beautiful ocean views, palm trees, and a swim up pool-side bar with yummy frozen drinks...

Our stay was almost like a mini cruise vacation - no passport required! Clean room, nice amenities, decent service, and a fabulous location makes this hotel a new favorite for this popular destination.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wizard0fWaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ocean City, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback and review. We were pleased to read that you had a great experience and enjoyed your visit to OCMD! We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Visited during the winter with just my wife. This time, went during the season and brought kids along. Overall this hotel is very good. Room was set up the same as my visit in this winter, except there were 2 bed instead of just one king. Bathrooms a little small, but clean. You can see some age in the ceiling above the shower in the corner. The switch that controlled the fan (glad the had one) worked but out of line. As well as the toilet. Worked but was installed crooked. Not much room to place your toiletries on the sink. A "ledge" that runs along the based of mirror and above the sink is helpful. Could use some updating.

The small Kitchen area was clean but found some long hairs on small stove, which also showed its age, but was very clean inside. Sink/counters also clean with plenty of clean utensils, plates, cups, mugs in the cabinets above sink. Did not use, would have if needed.

The room was not set up if you wanted to do work/surf on a lap top. Working/surfing on a tablet was fine, but no desk/chair set up of you prefer that way. There was a small/narrow table against the wall just outside the bathroom with two stools that fit under it. Not comfortable and sort of in the way if you are trying to get done in the morning or night. The Wifi had great reception (was on 2nd floor) but each time I logged out and I had to re-login. Not a bad thing as process as pretty easy and number to log in was easy to remember.

Bed was comfortable and clean. TV worked and plenty of channels to choose from. Some were a fuzzy, but TV big enough to see from further bed position away from TV. Back patio was clean and the railing was sturdy. Curtains closed all the way so privacy was not an issue.

Went to front desk and reserved some time on the tennis court and they do provide rackets and balls. However, if you are more serious about playing Tennis, the rackets were reasonable, but the balls were dead, very little bounce which will impact your game. Courts are clean and lines not fading. Net a little broken in the middle, but still very usable. Rugs throughout the 2nd floor were in need of a serious cleaning, but should be expected. Did not see worn out carpets on 2nd floor

Did use the indoor pool. Water was reasonably warm, but work was going on in the same room. Indoor pool open till midnight, but very noisy if those in the pool start screaming/yelling. Lots of sand in bottom and extra chlorine smell was evident. Could use cleaning during the day.

Staff was very pleasant throughout the stay as well as house keeping. Asked them not to clean the room and just bring towels and was done as requested and towels brought up within 15-20min of asking.

May visit in the future. Not sure when I would be back in OC for a stay lasting more than few days. Would consider staying again, but would like to see the kitchen/bathroom areas updated a bit and perhaps some vending machines (snacks) instead of just soda on the floors.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with no adjoining rooms as they were quieter than those with adjoining rooms/doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Phlsportsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ocean City, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are glad you had a good experience overall and enjoyed your vacation. We appreciate the feedback of areas we can improve as well as we use the guest feedback every year to help decide where we can improve and what we are doing well. Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Ok hotel, ok staff, breakfast with voucher a rip off. If you have kids good for them. Must know, as I have never seen such a thing, if you want a chair by the pool this is how it works. Pool opens at 8 am but be prepared as regulars start waiting a 7.30 like a 50% off sale at Walmart on Christmas with a handful of towels. By 8.01 75-90% of all chairs are "claimed" but many I never saw all day or they come later in day after being all over oc, beach. Many conflicts, nasty looks, and uncalled for comments; some people will move or hide towels. Crazy!!!. If you put a towel on a chair people think they own the chair for day even they don't use at all Pool bar is cool, staff is great but realize it is in the kids pool. Not a real pool bar, unless once again you have kids.
Bottom line if you have less than two tattoos, no kids, and did not watch NASCAR last week- go elsewhere. Plenty of choices for same price.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CandMinVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ocean City, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Dear CandMinVA,

We truly appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel. Please be assured that your feedback is greatly appreciated and I am sorry to read that on this occasion we fell short of your expectations particularly with the issues you encountered at the pool area. Your feedback has been noted and will be shared to the team, in order to improve our services.

Again, thank you for your comments. I do hope that you will allow us the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future where we will ensure you are well looked after .

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
2.7 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#14 of 104 in Ocean City
3,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn Oceanfront
Quality Inn Oceanfront
#37 of 104 in Ocean City
692 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
#33 of 104 in Ocean City
391 reviews
2.2 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#3 of 104 in Ocean City
2,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Ocean City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Ocean City

Address: 6600 Coastal Hwy, Ocean City, MD 21842-3063
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Ocean City
#16 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range: $53 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Ocean City 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Oceanfront Resort Hotel and Conference Center is located directly on the beach and ocean. Our hotel offers a great location in midtown Ocean City, MD, with the sandy beaches as our backyard. Spend a sunny afternoon relaxing on our oceanside hammocks or take a dip in our outdoor pool with swim up pool bar where you can enjoy a refreshing cocktail. We also offer activities such as tennis, a game room, shuffle board, tanning bed, and supervised children s activities in-season. Kids 19 & under stay free, while children 12 and under eat free. Ocean City Golf Packages are our specialty with over 20 golf courses just a short drive from the hotel. Family fun, including Jolly Roger s amusement park, jet ski rentals, parasailing, Northside Park, and putt putt golf are conveniently located nearby. Assateague National Park with wild ponies is located just 20 minutes away. The hotel is located just one mile from Seacrets Bar and Grill, 3 miles from the Ocean City boardwalk, and walking distance from famous Fager s Island Restaurant. Enjoy an authentic Italian experience in our restaurant: Touch of Italy. Serving fresh items like handmade mozzarella cheese, pasta, pizza, cookies and crispy bread, as well as high quality imported items from Italy. Touch of Italy was born out of two Italian family traditions that trace back to the late 1800's. These two families trace their roots to the beautiful Marche and Abruzzo regions in Central Italy, where one can find rich cultural traditions and recipes passed down from generation to generation. In season visit our famous Original Pool Bar and Grill for tropical libations and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Ocean City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ocean City Hotel Ocean City
Ocean City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing