We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location but ...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Ranked #28 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location but ...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

...But
1) as we checked in we found out that the ocean front, non smoking, king bed that we had booked was not available and we didnt have choice but to stay in twin bed smoking room. IT WAS A HUGE DISAPPOINTMENT SINCE IT WAS OUR ANNIVERSARY WEEKEND.
2) the front desk was in rush likely she was coming off her duty hours and instead of giving me general idea of the amenities and its location asked me to call front desk later if i had any questions
3) the hotel building is kind of old and and definitely can use some renovation.
4) AC in the room didnt work well and we ended up getting a fan from the room service

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anjayli J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ocean City, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Anjayli J,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room conditions, and your interactions with the staff prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    283
    148
    68
    60
See reviews for
350
251
21
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We just got back from a long weekend at the Holiday Inn Oceanfront.

Check-in, while quick, was not exactly friendly. The young people working the front desk seemed far more interested in flirting and joking with each other than answering some questions we had about the area. This would have been fine - but when our room key didn't work in our door not once, but twice, it would have been nice to have one of them stop flirting long enough to walk up to the room to see what the problem was (or to find a maintenance person who could help.) We finally discovered, on our own, that the door handle was slightly broken and needed to be lifted and held in an upright position for the key to work, half the time. After what we had experienced at the front desk up until that point, we decided just to deal with it for the rest of the trip.

Our room was nice, clean, and comfortable. We were on the 3rd floor with an ocean-front view so that we great - although higher would have been better, we have no complaints. The room was a bit worn, the wall-paper was close to peeling in a few spots and the bathroom ceiling dripped when the people above took a shower, but everything was clean.

The housekeeper for our room was polite and friendly. We were letting our kids nap in the room the first day she stopped by to clean, so we told her just to skip us for that day. The following morning when she saw us in the hallway (not coming out of our room or anything, just in the hall) she asked me what time would be better to stop by to tidy up the room when she wouldn't wake the kids. I thought this was incredibly thoughtful of her. The hotel housekeeping staff was far friendlier than the front desk staff and were courteous and helpful throughout our stay.

The outdoor areas of the hotel are very nice, although I advise wearing shoes if you are heading to the outdoor pool as the sidewalk and pool deck are covered in larger stones that feel incredibly rough on your feet. The pool was also freezing when we were there, but we went earlier in the morning - so it is what it is. The staff around the pool, setting up the bar, etc. were similarly unhelpful to questions regarding where to find towels. A young man getting the bar ready for the day informed me that I should have asked the housekeepers for some before heading down to the pool. I wasn't asking him to run and fetch me some towels or anything like that - but an answer more along the lines of where I could find some towels now that I was outside would have been nice.

We had a nice breakfast in the hotel restaurant our last morning there...but again, none of the waitresses or hostesses seemed overly friendly or helpful...maybe they were just busy?

Overall, I would definitely recommend this Holiday Inn to other people searching for a nice oceanfront hotel in Ocean City. I just wish the hotel management would stress to their younger employees how much of a difference they can make in a guest's experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Meg2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn for 2 nights and had a south facing ocean view room. First of all, the staff is really nice and they go out of their way to be helpful. The room was big enough for 2 adults, 2 older kids and was clean with a nice balcony. The poolside bar was hopping and the drinks offered are very fun. The location is priceless - beautiful beach steps from the building so access to bathrooms and pool was easy. Tons of shops and food right across Coastal Highway and close drive to the Boardwalk. We are native Marylanders so we know that nice accommodations at the beach can be hard to come by at a fair price. If we make it back to OC from Colorado, we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor for the best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilene80111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed here in the beginning of June and from the moment we walked in our room it went downhill. At first glance it seemed okay but when looking at the bedding there was a stain on the sheets. Then my kids where sitting on the other bed and found an old lotion cap in the sheets and further stains on the comforter. Housekeeping was called and they did come up to change both bed dressings. The overall cleanliness of our room was a rush job.
We got passed that and went to the pool about 4:30 now. Pool bar was open and a woman and man were behaving in a way at the bar, in the pool, that they should have been behind closed doors for. I took my young kids away from that sight to the hammocks and the couple sat on lounge chairs continuing the drunken show with high profanity . I had to take my kids away again. No security or member of the staff said a thing to these people! Yet they say they are a family hotel. I have stayed at many resorts where there are pool bars but also hotel security to make sure all their guests enjoy themselves, not just the drunkest. When I told the staff this was going on , nothing was said or done other than they said they would tell management. No idea how that was to fix anything for us.
We went to dinner and ended up being there a ridiculous amount of time for a very simple food order. Waitress was hard to find most of the time. The bathrooms outside were locked often, the ones inside were closed often, and when I went in to lobby from pool to tell them this they told me I could use the service bathroom in the back. Gee thanks. If you go to the pool before noon you will be tripping over pool vacuum hoses , swimming in a dirty pool, and nothing else will be open, even though the pool is. The indoor pool and hot tubs were closed during our stay as well.
Overall the staff employed at this hotel are too young to care or just unaware of what good hospitality is. The price of this hotel is the only thing not cheap. Not worth your money, strongly advise booking elsewhere.

Room Tip: Book at a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank k p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ocean City, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear k p,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience you have experienced and for the room conditions that did not meet your expectations. Our goal is to provide clean and comfortable stay to all of our valued guest and make their stay a memorable one. Rest assured that the issues you have raised about the cleanliness of the room will be addressed and appropriate actions will be taken. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

We really like staying at the Holiday Inn....check in is quick and efficient, rooms are large, clean and comfortable, and it is right on the beach! The hotel restaurant has really good breakfast, and the prices are so good for a lot of food. My family has stayed here the last two years, and looks forward to our next trip to OC.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room facing the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ocean City, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear tooctyson,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding room cleanliness and amenities.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding housekeeping and the bathroom condition. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

This hotel is designed for endless fun for families, young adults, & older adults! The swim up bar at the outdoor pool makes you feel like you are vacationing in the islands... and the staff makes everyone feel special. The deck overlooking the ocean is raised to where you don't see people on the beach -- and the atmosphere is relaxing.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for an oceanfront room, 3rd floor or higher for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skiders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone Ridge, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

My boyfriend and I had a wonderful time at this hotel. We stayed from Friday until Sunday and wanted to stay longer. Be careful when you are booking your room though and make sure if someone says you have a view, double check your reservation before you get there. The hotel was sold out and unable to move us but we still had a lovely time. Just steer clear of room 115, it has loud A/C and plumbing running along the wall right where your head is. Luckily, we just stayed down in the hot tub area until midnight so by the time we were returning to our room, it made no difference. The hotel was very clean and accomodating. There was a LIVE BAND at the SWIM UP BAR on Saturday and they were amazing. The drinks are costly so make sure you pregame. We had an amazing time and the hotel has a wonderful atomosphere. The only severe issue we had was with a loud group that was there the whole stay. There were times when we really wished the hotel would step in and tell them to be courteous of the other guests. We went with friends who stayed in room 125 and they had a lovely time.

Room Tip: Room 115 has noisy plumbing running along the wall right near your head. We did not care as much bec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebekah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
2.7 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#15 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,902 reviews
2.2 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#2 of 103 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn Oceanfront
Quality Inn Oceanfront
#31 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
1.7 mi away
Castle in the Sand Hotel
Castle in the Sand Hotel
#16 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Ocean City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Ocean City

Property: Holiday Inn Ocean City
Address: 6600 Coastal Hwy, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Ocean City
#16 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Ocean City 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Oceanfront Resort Hotel and Conference Center is located directly on the beach and ocean. Our hotel offers a great location in midtown Ocean City, MD, with the sandy beaches as our backyard. Spend a sunny afternoon relaxing on our oceanside hammocks or take a dip in our outdoor pool with swim up pool bar where you can enjoy a refreshing cocktail. We also offer activities such as tennis, a game room, shuffle board, tanning bed, and supervised children s activities in-season. Kids 19 & under stay free, while children 12 and under eat free. Ocean City Golf Packages are our specialty with over 20 golf courses just a short drive from the hotel. Family fun, including Jolly Roger s amusement park, jet ski rentals, parasailing, Northside Park, and putt putt golf are conveniently located nearby. Assateague National Park with wild ponies is located just 20 minutes away. The hotel is located just one mile from Seacrets Bar and Grill, 3 miles from the Ocean City boardwalk, and walking distance from famous Fager s Island Restaurant. Enjoy an authentic Italian experience in our restaurant: Touch of Italy. Serving fresh items like handmade mozzarella cheese, pasta, pizza, cookies and crispy bread, as well as high quality imported items from Italy. Touch of Italy was born out of two Italian family traditions that trace back to the late 1800's. These two families trace their roots to the beautiful Marche and Abruzzo regions in Central Italy, where one can find rich cultural traditions and recipes passed down from generation to generation. In season visit our famous Original Pool Bar and Grill for tropical libations and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Ocean City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ocean City Hotel Ocean City
Ocean City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing