We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel for the Price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Ranked #27 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Hotel for the Price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

Went to Ocean City Monday August 6 and checked out that Friday. We got a Gardenview room for under 300 a night since we booked early. Our gardenview room was one of the few that was higher up and had a slight view of the ocean from the balcony. I went with my wife and 2 16 year old girls. The outdoor pool did seem kind of small but we did enjoy the hammocks and sun deck. I am not sure how good the pool would be for those with smaller, younger children as there are a lot of adults in the shallowest part of the pool due to the pool bar. The short walk out to the beach was quite nice. The rooms were not huge but worked fine for 4 people. Kitchenette was a nice touch. I will say the bathroom was quite small. I also did not really like the layout of the elevators and the lobby becuase to get to thee doors leading to outdoor pool and beach you are forced to walk through the lobby in your swim suit, carrying all your beach gear unless you want to take the stairs. Overall the hotel was a good price, had just what we needed and was located in a good spot in ocean city with helpful staff. I would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim3618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    283
    148
    68
    60
See reviews for
350
251
21
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Germantown, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

I thought I found a good hotel for my family's mini trips. We first stayed at this hotel last year and had such a wonderful experience so I decided to come back this year. We stayed here back in May and found it nice. The only minor complaint I had was with the front desk staff. They're not the warmest, most friendly staff. The room we got was not what we would've liked but we made ut work for us as it was a mini trip. Now our last trip which was back in July was one that has/is making me second think my future stay here. Again, the front desk staff, the lady who's name I neglected to capture, was again not the most helpful and sincere person. We asked for a room in one of the top floors but was told that the only room they had available was one on the 3rd floor. We told her that is not high enough for us. We asked her if she had one on the 5th or above and she said no. She then told me that the only other room available was on the 2nd floor. Now, if I'm asking for a room on one of the top floors what in her right mind would think I would even consider a room on the 2nd floor. Then, she proceeded to let us know that the room on the 3rd floor is right across from the ice machine. At that point we were left with really no option but to choose the 3rd floor. Now the one thing she neglected to tell us is that it's a corner room, at the inner nook of the hotel with a very poor view of the ocean. On top of that, when my husband went to check out and requested a hardcopy of the bill, she refused to give him one. I cannot believe that this is acceptable at that hotel. I'm sorry to say but they've just lost this one customer.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mcao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumbull, Connecticut
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

My family and I arrived on Sunday July 29 at 2 pm and told our room was not ready(1 hour before check in was expected) and they would call us on our cell by 4:30 they still did not call us but the room was in fact ready. We had added an additional day to our trip back in May and we were told we could stay and would not have to move, only to find out they gave our room to someone else and we would have to change to a smoking room. I have 2 children and would never put them in a smoking room, I also have asthma they said nothing they could do so we cancelled the last night. It turned into a blessing in disguise. The room smelled like smoke we had to leave the door open to air it out. The hallways were never clean and smelled like mold. The ocean view was the only good thing I can say about this hotel. I had planned on doing some light cooking but did not want to use anything in the kitchen so we had to eat out which I was trying to avoid with an extremely picky eater and the reason for the kitchen. My coffee maker was broken and after telling the front desk twice I had to leave my room every morning for my coffee. The pools were very dirty and I cringed everytime my children wanted to swim, but had to say yes because the ocean was very rough , I chose this hotel the indoor and outdoor pool. The swim up bar was almost impossible to use because of the drunks that were apparently glued to the seats. I would have left the minute we checked in but the other hotels were booked(believe me I checked every one) and I drove 5 1/2 hours to get there. I know it is not a five star hotel but we paid alot for the room and I expected so much more. I will never stay at a Holiday Inn again!!!!!!

Room Tip: The direct ocean front room view was wonderful, but we stayed at another hotel and had the same view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ocean City, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Theresa V,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Ocean City, MD.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

room was sufficient. Hotel was clean and friendly. Pool/beach area was like an island resort. Not very kid friendly but ours did just fine. Quick trek to actual beach but not much need to go. Hotel has pool with swim up bar, plenty of lounge chairs and hammocks in the sand. Food and drink prices were reasonable. This is not a five star resort but its one if the nicer hotels in ocean city. For the area it was perfect.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigmook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

My family and I stayed at this property over the 4th of July. We normally stay at the Holiday on 17th; however, we decided to split the trip between the two hotels to check this one out. The staff is very friendly, and the housekeeping service of Fatina was awesome. So why the average rating?

Pros:
1) beautiful beach
2) good indoor pool facilities
3) kitchenette
4) called for broken shower head before dinner & it was fixed upon our return

Cons:
1) direct oceanfront rooms are far from elevator
2) The outdoor pool was very nice, but we were uncomfortable after the bar opened. We have 2 children 7 and 9, and while they see their dad drink a beer or myself have a cocktail
with dinner, they do not see us sitting at the swim up pool bar at 10:50am (opened at 11am) and not leaving the seat until the bar closes. The first night we were there we watched 3 men (older...at least late 60's early 70's) assissted out of the pool becuase they were so drunk they couldn't stand. We gave it another try the following day. Nope, this time a younger adult ran the length of the bar and jumped in pool. Please realize the pool bar is in the shallow end of the pool. You know the place where your kids may want to swim. Anyway if you're into that kind of thing, this is your place. If you like to have a responsible drink with your dinner, leave by 11am.
3) If you enjoy staying on the boards, this is not for you.
4) While the management made efforts to have family fun activies, the level of drinking made me uncomfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for Fatina's floor. She's great! We missed her the two days she had off during our vis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank familyfun48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

This place is not 5 star but has some nice things. Staff was nice and helpful. You can tell that it is an older hotel that has been redone. Nice to have a small kitchenett with refrigerator so you don't have to go out to eat for every meal. Ocean city in general is expensive. Beach is very nice. The pool is nice (a little small for the number of guest). My boys liked being able to get frozen drink while in the pool a real treat. There is also an indoor pool with 2 spas. The restaurant Reflections in the hotel was great. They had a early bird special with 3 course meals around $20 which is a good amount for the area. The food was really good and nice portions.
There was lots of places to eat and shop around.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

The hotel is much older and the pool is smaller than it looks in the pictures. The service was great and all the staff were very nice! The beach is RIGHT outside of the hotel. Makes it convenient if u have small kids. Bed Bugs were a major concern for me but I checked the matress and didnt see a reason for alarm but still took extra precautions. The room was cleaned daily but was still a little dirty. Bring Lysol!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MzLola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
2.7 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,896 reviews
2.2 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#2 of 103 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn Oceanfront
Quality Inn Oceanfront
#32 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
1.7 mi away
Castle in the Sand Hotel
Castle in the Sand Hotel
#15 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Ocean City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Ocean City

Property: Holiday Inn Ocean City
Address: 6600 Coastal Hwy, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ocean City
#16 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Ocean City 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Oceanfront Resort Hotel and Conference Center is located directly on the beach and ocean. Our hotel offers a great location in midtown Ocean City, MD, with the sandy beaches as our backyard. Spend a sunny afternoon relaxing on our oceanside hammocks or take a dip in our outdoor pool with swim up pool bar where you can enjoy a refreshing cocktail. We also offer activities such as tennis, a game room, shuffle board, tanning bed, and supervised children s activities in-season. Kids 19 & under stay free, while children 12 and under eat free. Ocean City Golf Packages are our specialty with over 20 golf courses just a short drive from the hotel. Family fun, including Jolly Roger s amusement park, jet ski rentals, parasailing, Northside Park, and putt putt golf are conveniently located nearby. Assateague National Park with wild ponies is located just 20 minutes away. The hotel is located just one mile from Seacrets Bar and Grill, 3 miles from the Ocean City boardwalk, and walking distance from famous Fager s Island Restaurant. Enjoy an authentic Italian experience in our restaurant: Touch of Italy. Serving fresh items like handmade mozzarella cheese, pasta, pizza, cookies and crispy bread, as well as high quality imported items from Italy. Touch of Italy was born out of two Italian family traditions that trace back to the late 1800's. These two families trace their roots to the beautiful Marche and Abruzzo regions in Central Italy, where one can find rich cultural traditions and recipes passed down from generation to generation. In season visit our famous Original Pool Bar and Grill for tropical libations and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Ocean City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ocean City Hotel Ocean City
Ocean City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing