We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Nearby Hotels
Grand Hotel & Spa(Ocean City)(Great Value!)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$161
ClarionHotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City(Ocean City)(Great Value!)
$119
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$180
$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Atlantic Oceanfront Inn(Ocean City)(Great Value!)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Princess Royale Resort(Ocean City)(Great Value!)
$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$391
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City(Ocean City)(Great Value!)
$325
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,620)
Filter reviews
2,620 results
Traveler rating
1,568
662
253
82
55
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,568
662
253
82
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvictorian roompiano playerocean frontzippy lewis loungesing alongsthe indoor outdoor poolrocking chairsrooms face the oceanthe main hotelstarbucks coffeecorner roomoff seasonbeach barwonderful hotelprivate balconygreat view of the oceanboard walk
Filter
Updating list...
2,541 - 2,546 of 2,620 reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2007

We stayed at Dunes Manor on Saturday June 16th. I was very happy that they didn't require the 2 or 3 night minimum that virtually every hotel requires for weekends.

The Hotel is very clean and they even have bellman at the front doors to assist you. Check in and check out was a breeze. Of course the view from the room was great with our private balconey.

The room was basic but clean and comfortable and did the job. It had a small fride, microwave and coffee maker. The bathroom sink and bathroom are actually seperated with is nice if the wife is doing her make up. It's got an inside bar and also an outside one too but I didn't see that one open that day (probably due to the weather). The hotel has 2 pools and one of them partially inside and outside.

I look forward to staying at The Dunes Manor again in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
27  Thank flattop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2007

Our experience at the Dunes Manor was good. The front desk staff were very curteous and helpful.

The view off the deck is beautiful.

The room was a bit small but clean on arrival and cleaned promptly each day. The restaurant and ocean view for breakfast was very nice. I would recommend this hotel to families with young children and older couples.

There was not much night life at the property. Although they did have someone who plays the piano in the evening. They also offer afternoon tea every day.

The only downside was the pool and hot tub area. They need to
do dome work on it. The gift shop is also very small.

Other than that we enjoyed our stay and the rate was a good value for off-season. We would stay there again and recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Somerdale Gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2007

This was a nice hotel in it's day and still could be if renovated. The lobby is nice but the rooms need to be renovated especially the bathrooms. The paint was peeling off of the railing on the porch. Some things that are nice about the hotel are the rocking chairs on the porch, inexpensive happy hour at the beach bar, tea in the afternoon and the location in terms of the boardwalk. A good portion of the staff is foreign and more were coming in for the summer. By far, the best thing about this hotel is the view from your room - can't beat it. Use this hotel as an alternative. The Grand is nicer.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank patravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2006

Our family stay at this hotel during the Christmas Holiday. Everything is relatively quiet, but peaceful. The sound of the ocean is wonderful and the view from the balcony is fantastic, especially at the sunrise. We take a trip to the Asseteague Island and have a nice walk around and see one wild pony upclose and one further away.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
32  Thank 3T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2006

I stayed at the Dunes Manor Hotel in July 2005 and found it to be a place of extremes--a mixture of good quality with the very average.

The lobby is very nice and spacious with a pleasant old fashioned Victorian parlor theme. You can walk out to the adjacent big porch facing the ocean and sit in one of the many rocking chairs and relax. There is a friendly woman piano player who plays all the old favorites on the old grand piano on some evenings in the summer just like it must have been in the "good old days." There is also, at least in the summer, a daily afternoon tea and cookies which is very popular with the guests. The hotel restaurant is also just off the lobby overlooking the ocean with fairly decent food and service. I did get one of the order by 5:00 pm dinner specials and it was pretty bad though. I made the receptionist take it off the bill when I checked out but only after alot of arm twisting. The breakfasts were fine and a couple other "non special" priced lunches were adequate. The hotel is just one block north of the end of the boardwalk for easy access to the boardwalk tram and attractions.

Overall, I was quite disappointed with the room at the Dunes Manor Hotel. The mid-week rate in July 2005 was $239 a night which with tax brought the bill to well over $700 for the 3 nights I was there. The room was tolerable, average size and not awful. However it was very very plain with cheap furnishings and two double beds which were acceptable but not very comfortable. After the nice lobby, the room is a let down. The bathroom was small and also plain. ( My rooms at the Crystal Beach Hotel and the Holiday Inn Express where I stayed in 2006, while nothing special, were both superior to this room. ) You do get a private balcony off your room directly overlooking the ocean which is a plus when staying here. I was up on a higher floor so the view was very pleasant. The room was kept fairly clean and had daily maid service so I have to be fair about mentioning that. Unfortunately my room smelled strongly of urine in a corner of the carpeting as if the people before me had brought a pet dog. The front desk said they could not change the room when I went to complain right after checking in so I went out and bought a can of Lysol which helped as long as I kept spraying regularly.

I need to share with readers that the elevators in this hotel are ridiculously slow. They are so outdated for a place charging the rates the Dunes does. After the first couple of times it got very very annoying to wait for them because it seemed to take forever. To the owners of this hotel; get off your butts and replace these elevators. Your customers don't deserve this cheap mediocrity. If you are not going to replace them and update the rooms a little, you have no business charging the rates you do.

Overall, one needs to keep in mind, including me, that this is Ocean City, and the overall standard is not like staying at a decent hotel in Baltimore or Washington, D.C. Still, things are changing and there is some competition out there now in O.C. I can say without any hesitation you can definately do better than staying at the Dunes Manor when planning your next trip to Ocean City.

The rooms in this place get a B-. They do not get an A - or a B+. Without the direct ocean view balcony they would get a C, regardless if this hotel is located in O.C.

It is time for the Dunes Manor to have a facelift, and especially, an elevator lift. Until then, this property will not see any more of my money.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank FairtoEveryone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews