We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Ranked #6 of 104 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 5, 2006

We stayed at the Dunes Hotel from 8/19-8/26. It is, by far, the nicest hotel I have ever stayed at. The rooms are extremely clean and the housekeeping staff is very good. We stayed on the 10th floor and it was very quiet at night, just the sounds of the ocean. The restaurant is very nice. You can dine inside or outside overlooking the ocean. The food is really good and not too highly priced (for Ocean City). The rocking chairs out on the veranda overlooking the ocean are very relaxing when you want to just stop and sit for awhile. The pool is nice, but very warm. The jacuzzi temperature was quite hot. Shirley Toms plays the piano nights (Wed.thru Sunday) in the lobby. This is a great time for all ages. She has sing-a-longs that are a lot of fun. Doesn't matter if you can sing or not! The lobby, itself, is beautiful. The afternoon "tea" time is fun for all, as well. The only complaints I have were the elevators (only 2) that took a long time to get, and there were a couple of front-desk girls that were not very friendly during our stay. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone going to Ocean City to "party", as it is definitely not the place for that. It is more of a family-oriented, or "mature" traveler's hotel. It is well worth the extra money we paid, and I would go back again if I ever have the chance.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
28  Thank kakesrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,297)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,228 - 2,234 of 2,297 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2006

We stayed at the Dunes Manor Hotel for a two night / 3 day stay starting on 8-20-06. We arrived at the Dunes early, several hours prior to check in. There is ample amount of parking at the Dunes, and we were pleased with the appearance of the hotel. When we entered the lobby, we were very pleased with the layout, and the "welcome" you feel. The staff was very helpful as well. When we did make it to our room, it was foud to be very clean. When we opened the door to the outside, the view was amazing. Both mornings, we were able to go out on the loft, and watch dolphins for about an hour or so. The food at the Hotel was also very good. The only issue that we had with this Hotel is the slow elevator service. There are only two elevators for the Hotel, and they were very busy. The average time waiting for one was around 10 minutes. Overall, this hotel is fantastic and I will be staying there again !

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
32  Thank redten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2006

First, a little perspective. While there is a lot of development happening in OC, MD, there are very few really nice places to stay. The Dunes Manor is one of the nicer hotels, but is not luxurious in any way. The rooms are clean, but small and spare. The bathroom is small and basic. There is a small fridge and coffee maker in the sink area. There was plenty of hot water, but the water pressure was very, very weak. The beds are comfortable. The lobby and large porch are the nicest features of this hotel. The location is also very convenient and the ocean views are great. I took my son to OC for a short getaway. I felt that the rate was expensive for one night mid-week, but the room was oceanfront and again, there are limited choices for nicer accomodations.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank sambrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2006

Just got back from a 4 night stay at the Dunes Manor Hotel. I have mixed feelings because I really disliked Ocean City. But if you have to go there, the Dunes Manor Hotel was clean and the staff was very attentive. The elevators were slow, but it is a busy hotel... We LOVED the piano lady Shirley Toms, who plays and passes out song books and there were families singing and older people sitting next to college students and it was great. They have afternoon tea and cookies and that is very popular also. On the down side, their beach stand where you can buy lunch is chaotic with a capital C. We ate breakfast in the Victorian Room and it is affordable. We ate outside and watched the dolphins swim by . All in all, the Dunes was in a great location. I looked around and if I HAD to visit Ocean City again, I would stay at the Dunes again. Nothing else appealed to me....

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
25  Thank WVVickster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2006

The Dunes Manor is a beautiful hotel. I travelled w/my cousin, my daughter, and her daughter for a few days away before my cousin's daughter heads off to college. We had a great visit.

We did enjoy the ocean front room, what a view!! Dolphins galore.

Our room was very nice. The bathroom was a bit small, but functional. We liked having the fridge and microwave. The first day our air conditioner did not work, but it was replaced immediately with no problem.

We loved afternoon tea and singing w/Shirley. The four of us really enjoyed the evening she was there. We also like the free coffe and tea in the morning. We sat many afternoons on the deck in the rockers reading and listening to the waves. We also liked the pool. It was clean and comfortable.

The price was a bit high, so it will be difficult to stay at the Dunes Manor again, this was a special trip, and we picked the perfect place.

While we waited for the elevator, many people complained, but I did not have a problem with how long we had to wait. It is a busy hotel and they have 2 working elevators. The wait is never very long. It is not possible to just press the button and get instaneous results anywhere. I found it completely reasonable.

15  Thank A1teacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2006

This was our first visit to OC and the hotel was great. Clean, well maintained and good service. Excellent location in relation to boardwalk. Just a 2 blocks away! It was also quiet here so if you are looking for a family place and not a party hotel, this is a great place to stay. We enjoyed the "afternoon tea". The hotel was right on the beach. Very convienient so you can just park your car for your entire stay and take the bus or boardwalk tram! If we decided to go back to OC, which we will, I would definantly stay here again!

20  Thank jlaharrity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2006

I have stayed at the dunes for 4 years and I just came back from 3 days/2 nights stay at hotel and they never stop amazing us, the view you get from our balcony is fantastic, we were bless with good weather that weekend and I cannot say enough about the good service this place offers, the restaurant serves a delicious breakfast, the bartender was out of this world, the place is sparkling clean and reception desk very friendly, they even remember us from previous years which makes us feel very welcomed. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
30  Thank loverocbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#15 of 104 in Ocean City
3,597 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
#28 of 104 in Ocean City
318 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ocean City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites

Address: 2800 Baltimore Ave., Ocean City, MD 21842-3442
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Ocean City
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#8 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range: $70 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dunes Manor Hotel & All Suites properties offer a unique hospitality experience when visiting Ocean City, Maryland. At the Dunes Manor Hotel you will walk through our front doors and be transported back to the gentle days of a bygone era. Truly ocean front, these properties embrace the stunning views with each guest room offering a private balcony and, at the Dunes Manor Hotel, a wide verandah complete with rocking chairs to take it all in. A location second to none, the Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites properties are the perfect choice for couples, groups and family getaways. Our all-suites property is at the onset of the famous Ocean City Boardwalk and is equipped with a full size refrigerator, microwave, cook-top stove and 46" HDTV. While at the Dunes Suites property, all the amenities at the Dunes Manor Hotel are available for your use including the full service restaurant, The Victorian Room; the indoor/outdoor bar (seasonal) Zippy Lewis Lounge, heated indoor/outdoor pool and Jacuzzi. All properties offer complimentary Wi-Fi access and free off street parking. Afternoon Team is served daily at 3:00 pm and is a tradition started by the Hotel's owner and entrepreneur, Thelma Conner back in 1987. Join the staff as they serve the signature tea with cookies and crumpets with genuine hospitality. What a great opportunity to mingle with fellow guests and learn more of the history of Ocean City Maryland. Whether you choose to relax by our heated pool, enjoy the salty ocean air from the outside deck, explore the Boardwalk, shop, dine or visit some of Ocean City's best attractions, the Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites will help make your dream stay a reality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Otel, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunes Manor Hotel Ocean City
Hotel Dunes Manor
Dunes Manor Ocean City Md

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing