We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Ranked #2 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Pa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2006

We stayed at the Dunes Manor Hotel for a two night / 3 day stay starting on 8-20-06. We arrived at the Dunes early, several hours prior to check in. There is ample amount of parking at the Dunes, and we were pleased with the appearance of the hotel. When we entered the lobby, we were very pleased with the layout, and the "welcome" you feel. The staff was very helpful as well. When we did make it to our room, it was foud to be very clean. When we opened the door to the outside, the view was amazing. Both mornings, we were able to go out on the loft, and watch dolphins for about an hour or so. The food at the Hotel was also very good. The only issue that we had with this Hotel is the slow elevator service. There are only two elevators for the Hotel, and they were very busy. The average time waiting for one was around 10 minutes. Overall, this hotel is fantastic and I will be staying there again !

  • Liked — A clean hotel with a great veiw.
  • Disliked — The elevators.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
32 Thank redten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,167
    516
    186
    59
    40
See reviews for
800
664
38
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gaithersburg, MD
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2006

First, a little perspective. While there is a lot of development happening in OC, MD, there are very few really nice places to stay. The Dunes Manor is one of the nicer hotels, but is not luxurious in any way. The rooms are clean, but small and spare. The bathroom is small and basic. There is a small fridge and coffee maker in the sink area. There was plenty of hot water, but the water pressure was very, very weak. The beds are comfortable. The lobby and large porch are the nicest features of this hotel. The location is also very convenient and the ocean views are great. I took my son to OC for a short getaway. I felt that the rate was expensive for one night mid-week, but the room was oceanfront and again, there are limited choices for nicer accomodations.

  • Liked — Oceanfront location
  • Disliked — Weak shower/water pressure
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank sambrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont, West Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2006

Just got back from a 4 night stay at the Dunes Manor Hotel. I have mixed feelings because I really disliked Ocean City. But if you have to go there, the Dunes Manor Hotel was clean and the staff was very attentive. The elevators were slow, but it is a busy hotel... We LOVED the piano lady Shirley Toms, who plays and passes out song books and there were families singing and older people sitting next to college students and it was great. They have afternoon tea and cookies and that is very popular also. On the down side, their beach stand where you can buy lunch is chaotic with a capital C. We ate breakfast in the Victorian Room and it is affordable. We ate outside and watched the dolphins swim by . All in all, the Dunes was in a great location. I looked around and if I HAD to visit Ocean City again, I would stay at the Dunes again. Nothing else appealed to me....

  • Liked — Shirley Toms at the piano
  • Disliked — The outside cabana like place to order lunch, snacks.....needs more employees...bigger setting
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
25 Thank WVVickster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blairsville, PA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2006

The Dunes Manor is a beautiful hotel. I travelled w/my cousin, my daughter, and her daughter for a few days away before my cousin's daughter heads off to college. We had a great visit.

We did enjoy the ocean front room, what a view!! Dolphins galore.

Our room was very nice. The bathroom was a bit small, but functional. We liked having the fridge and microwave. The first day our air conditioner did not work, but it was replaced immediately with no problem.

We loved afternoon tea and singing w/Shirley. The four of us really enjoyed the evening she was there. We also like the free coffe and tea in the morning. We sat many afternoons on the deck in the rockers reading and listening to the waves. We also liked the pool. It was clean and comfortable.

The price was a bit high, so it will be difficult to stay at the Dunes Manor again, this was a special trip, and we picked the perfect place.

While we waited for the elevator, many people complained, but I did not have a problem with how long we had to wait. It is a busy hotel and they have 2 working elevators. The wait is never very long. It is not possible to just press the button and get instaneous results anywhere. I found it completely reasonable.

Helpful?
15 Thank A1teacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester,ny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2006

This was our first visit to OC and the hotel was great. Clean, well maintained and good service. Excellent location in relation to boardwalk. Just a 2 blocks away! It was also quiet here so if you are looking for a family place and not a party hotel, this is a great place to stay. We enjoyed the "afternoon tea". The hotel was right on the beach. Very convienient so you can just park your car for your entire stay and take the bus or boardwalk tram! If we decided to go back to OC, which we will, I would definantly stay here again!

Helpful?
20 Thank jlaharrity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2006

I have stayed at the dunes for 4 years and I just came back from 3 days/2 nights stay at hotel and they never stop amazing us, the view you get from our balcony is fantastic, we were bless with good weather that weekend and I cannot say enough about the good service this place offers, the restaurant serves a delicious breakfast, the bartender was out of this world, the place is sparkling clean and reception desk very friendly, they even remember us from previous years which makes us feel very welcomed. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
30 Thank loverocbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2006

My husband and I recently stayed at the Dunes Manor. He is currently working on a project in OC that brings him there twice a month. He tried a few different hotels and has not been pleased. The Dunes changed that. The hotel is not 5 star or anything like that, but it beats most typical beach hotels. The rooms were clean, the staff VERY helpful and curteous, and the location was perfect. The only complaint I had was the elevators, they were slow, but that was not a big deal.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank luv2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
0.3 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#15 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
0.6 mi away
Castle in the Sand Hotel
Castle in the Sand Hotel
#16 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
1.3 mi away
Paradise Plaza Inn
Paradise Plaza Inn
#8 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites

Property: Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Address: 2800 Baltimore Ave., Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#2 Business Hotel in Ocean City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#8 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dunes Manor Hotel & All Suites properties offer a unique hospitality experience when visiting Ocean City, Maryland. At the Dunes Manor Hotel you will walk through our front doors and be transported back to the gentle days of a bygone era. Truly ocean front, these properties embrace the stunning views with each guest room offering a private balcony and, at the Dunes Manor Hotel, a wide verandah complete with rocking chairs to take it all in. A location second to none, the Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites properties are the perfect choice for couples, groups and family getaways. Our all-suites property is at the onset of the famous Ocean City Boardwalk and is equipped with a full size refrigerator, microwave, cook-top stove and 46" HDTV. While at the Dunes Suites property, all the amenities at the Dunes Manor Hotel are available for your use including the full service restaurant, The Victorian Room; the indoor/outdoor bar (seasonal) Zippy Lewis Lounge, heated indoor/outdoor pool and Jacuzzi. All properties offer complimentary Wi-Fi access and free off street parking. Afternoon Team is served daily at 3:00 pm and is a tradition started by the Hotel's owner and entrepreneur, Thelma Conner back in 1987. Join the staff as they serve the signature tea with cookies and crumpets with genuine hospitality. What a great opportunity to mingle with fellow guests and learn more of the history of Ocean City Maryland. Whether you choose to relax by our heated pool, enjoy the salty ocean air from the outside deck, explore the Boardwalk, shop, dine or visit some of Ocean City's best attractions, the Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites will help make your dream stay a reality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunes Manor Hotel Ocean City
Hotel Dunes Manor
Dunes Manor Ocean City Md

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing