We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Ranked #6 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
rochester,ny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“great place to stay”
Reviewed August 10, 2006

This was our first visit to OC and the hotel was great. Clean, well maintained and good service. Excellent location in relation to boardwalk. Just a 2 blocks away! It was also quiet here so if you are looking for a family place and not a party hotel, this is a great place to stay. We enjoyed the "afternoon tea". The hotel was right on the beach. Very convienient so you can just park your car for your entire stay and take the bus or boardwalk tram! If we decided to go back to OC, which we will, I would definantly stay here again!

Helpful?
20 Thank jlaharrity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,278
    570
    215
    68
    43
See reviews for
925
726
39
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frederick
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2006

I have stayed at the dunes for 4 years and I just came back from 3 days/2 nights stay at hotel and they never stop amazing us, the view you get from our balcony is fantastic, we were bless with good weather that weekend and I cannot say enough about the good service this place offers, the restaurant serves a delicious breakfast, the bartender was out of this world, the place is sparkling clean and reception desk very friendly, they even remember us from previous years which makes us feel very welcomed. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
30 Thank loverocbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2006

My husband and I recently stayed at the Dunes Manor. He is currently working on a project in OC that brings him there twice a month. He tried a few different hotels and has not been pleased. The Dunes changed that. The hotel is not 5 star or anything like that, but it beats most typical beach hotels. The rooms were clean, the staff VERY helpful and curteous, and the location was perfect. The only complaint I had was the elevators, they were slow, but that was not a big deal.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank luv2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2006

My family of five and I just returned from a 4 day stay at the Dunes manor. We have family in Ocean City, and they booked the place for us. From looking around the rest of Ocean City, it was a pretty good deal. Most lodging there is pretty sketchy, but the Dunes was clean, beachfront, and affordable. The beach was great, and umbrellas and chairs were available to rent. The rooms were small, but not dirty, and all had great ocean views. The food was typical beach fare, though with waiting times that were spectacularly long. The pool was located far away from the beach, and was nothing special. Final Verdict: Ocean City is a beach town, and that comed with the whole cast of shady characters and establishments that you might expect. The destination itself was not somewhere I can't wait to go back to, but if you're going, the Dunes Manor is no Four Seasons, but it seemed like the place to stay. It was quirky, but eventually grew on all of us. Before you make plans to visit Maryland, consider Montauk, Long Isand if you are in the NE. It far outclasses OC.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jbs1114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancaster
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2006

My family(wife and 2 teenagers) just returned from our 6 day trip at OC today. It's hard to imagine a better motel- service,price, and accomodations. The hotel looks majestic, and the doorman open the front door for you. Parking is either outside or under the lobby, as ample spaces abound. Courtesy permeates throughout the staff at the hotel(the doorman, front desk, maids, waitresses, and pool assistant). The lobby has a victorian style that is well maintained. Wnen we first entered the room the telltale sign of cleanilness is the bathroom. That's what I checked, and when you can safely place your food on the bathroom floor and eat, you know you have a classy hotel. The room was a decent size, and overlooks the ocean(as do all of their rooms). The only complaint, and it's minor, was the dresser having only 3 drawers for 4 people, but this was overwhelmed by the service and accomodations. The hotel encourages socializing with these nice touches. Happy hour starts at 2(beer is $1.35, mixed drinks $3(virgins) and $4( spiked). Around 3 pm tea and cookies are served for guests. In the evening Shirley Jones plays the piano for sing-a-longs. The pool is moderate size up to 4 1/2 ft depth & is a combo indoor /outdoor, which was perfect for the heat wave, for those avoiding the sun.
They have an early riser breakfast special at $2.99(pancake, eggs, etc) , and and early bird dinner special. We tried each and were satisfied.
The hotel is owned by a woman, who obviously trains her staff to be courteous and attentive.
The view from our room was fabulous. We only wish the humidity wasn't so high, so we could sleep with the windows open and hear the waves crashing on the beach.
You'll pay more here than best western or howard johnson's, but your stay will be more enjoyable and without accomodation incident. This is a wonderful hotel, and has a fabulous staff with a pleasant attitude. They enjoyed serving their customers and the sparkle on the bathroom floor reflected that. You'll pay more than the motels, but the difference was worth it to me. Do you want zinfindel or ripple?

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
27 Thank rossnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, MD
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2006

This was our 3rd stay at Dunes Manor. Perfect view, wonderful staff, VERY CLEAN rooms!! Large enclosed area for rinsing sand off when coming off the beach is a plus! Lobby area bathrooms were exceptional! Just 2 small negatives,,,, bedding wasn't very soft and there was a little too much chlorine in the pool. Overall, this is a great place to stay!

  • Liked — Everything was clean!!
  • Disliked — Bedding wasn't soft.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 3day*walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2006

My husband and I stayed for a 3 day, 2 night getaway and had a very good experience. The afternoon tea and crumpets was a nice touch that we enjoyed in addition to the piano player in the evenings. Though there were plenty of families with kids, it does seem to cater to a "just couples" and older adults crowd which was perfect for us since we left our children at home. Nice room, atmosphere and very helpful staff. Only caveat is that the walls seem to be a bit thin, we could hear our neighbors talking very clearly. Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel and we will be returning for another visit.
From, Akron, Ohio

  • Liked — The victorian style of the hotel
  • Disliked — the thin walls of the rooms
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank SpringfieldTownship
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#14 of 103 in Ocean City
3,365 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
0.3 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
#29 of 103 in Ocean City
313 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
0.6 mi away
Castle in the Sand Hotel
Castle in the Sand Hotel
#19 of 103 in Ocean City
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites

Property: Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Address: 2800 Baltimore Ave., Ocean City, MD 21842-3442
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Ocean City
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#8 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dunes Manor Hotel & All Suites properties offer a unique hospitality experience when visiting Ocean City, Maryland. At the Dunes Manor Hotel you will walk through our front doors and be transported back to the gentle days of a bygone era. Truly ocean front, these properties embrace the stunning views with each guest room offering a private balcony and, at the Dunes Manor Hotel, a wide verandah complete with rocking chairs to take it all in. A location second to none, the Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites properties are the perfect choice for couples, groups and family getaways. Our all-suites property is at the onset of the famous Ocean City Boardwalk and is equipped with a full size refrigerator, microwave, cook-top stove and 46" HDTV. While at the Dunes Suites property, all the amenities at the Dunes Manor Hotel are available for your use including the full service restaurant, The Victorian Room; the indoor/outdoor bar (seasonal) Zippy Lewis Lounge, heated indoor/outdoor pool and Jacuzzi. All properties offer complimentary Wi-Fi access and free off street parking. Afternoon Team is served daily at 3:00 pm and is a tradition started by the Hotel's owner and entrepreneur, Thelma Conner back in 1987. Join the staff as they serve the signature tea with cookies and crumpets with genuine hospitality. What a great opportunity to mingle with fellow guests and learn more of the history of Ocean City Maryland. Whether you choose to relax by our heated pool, enjoy the salty ocean air from the outside deck, explore the Boardwalk, shop, dine or visit some of Ocean City's best attractions, the Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites will help make your dream stay a reality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel and getaroom.com so you can book your Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunes Manor Hotel Ocean City
Hotel Dunes Manor
Dunes Manor Ocean City Md

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing