We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Website Issues - Thanksgiving”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Ranked #4 of 104 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Because we had stayed here previously and enjoyed it - We booked a Thanksgiving holiday weekend stay (Wed 26th - Sun 30th 2013). We booked this - from the Dunes Manor website in July 2013. We received a confirmation email in return. In September, we sent them an email - from the 'contact us' portion of the same website - asking about reservations for Thanksgiving dinner and if there would be a requirement for dress at the dinner. We received no reply.
The Saturday prior, I checked the web page and found that there was a "Thanksgiving Package" and that people should make reservations. I called the number and spoke to a pleasant woman who verified our reservation and connected me to the restaurant. There I was told that they were completely booked, and they could possibly fit me in at 7 PM. She offered to put me on 'stand-by' - in case someone else canceled. She gave me the name of a restaurant in town that might have an opening, and asked why I did not book 'the package'. I explained that it was not offered on the website in July or September, that other places I had stayed over a holiday, gave priority to their residential guests for meals, and that we were not willing to travel down there just to fast over Thanksgiving. She told me that I should have called rather than use the web page.
We re-contacted the desk and cancelled the reservation. I explained to that woman that the web page did not list a 'Package', and that I sent an email on this topic - but never received a reply. She indicated that the web site was maintained by a third party, and that if I had called, the desk staff would have explained/offered the package, and made the reservation.
After we made other plans (two hours later) we were called and told that someone had cancelled their reservation - and there was now an opening for dinner, which made me suspect that we'b be jammed-in to a temporary table - so we did not re-establish the reservations.
I strongly recommend that anyone making reservations here, follow-up with a phone call far in advance of your reservation.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Phil1ip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley D, Director of Sales at Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

We are so sorry to hear about the issues you had when trying to book the restaurant for Thanksgiving. Your advice to call ahead is very accurate. We sell out in our restaurant every Thanksgiving and in fact, most holidays. I was discouraged to hear that you sent a email and no one got back to you. I will definitely check to see what the disconnect was. I do appreciate you communicating the problems you had. We can't get better if we don't know when things are wrong so thanks for that. We do offer the Thanksgiving package every year and it usually isn't put on the web site until around late October to early November, however, you don't have to book the package to eat in the restaurant. We certainly hope that you will come back to stay with us next Thanksgiving. Please feel free to call us about any questions you may have. We do answer our phones twenty four seven and would be delighted to help with any questions you have. We hope you have a great holiday and hope to see you next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,373)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,968 - 1,974 of 2,373 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2013

Just returned from a weekend in OCMD. Hotel is newly renovated so it was a good value for the money. Staff was very friendly. "Jedi" Chas the bartender was able to handle a big happy hour in the lounge, never leaving us with an empty glass. Happy hour beer, shrimp, and wings specials were great. Don't forget to ask the front desk about dining dollars...$15 for $20 value.

Room Tip: Ocean front, who can complain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichelleS13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley D, Director of Sales at Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

We're so glad that you were able to visit Ocean City. We are even more thrilled that out of all your choices, you picked Dunes Manor for your stay. It sounds like you had a good trip and it also sounds like you had the opportunity to meet some of our wonderful team members. So glad everything went well and you were able to take advantage of all the great values we offer. We look forward to seeing you next time you get the chance to come back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Recently had lunch there and the restaurant overlooks the beach. What a view. Food was great and the service was good. Been in the hotel over Christmas and seen it decorated for the holiday.
Be sure to visit just to see these decorations. Be sure to look at the picture in the bar area of Zippy Lewis. She was a beachcomber that haunted the beach looking for treasures about 90 years ago.
Nice to see the hotel high light such an interesting character.

Room Tip: didn't stay there as i live in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariemhammond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley D, Director of Sales at Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2013

So glad to hear someone comment on the picture of Zippy Lewis in our Zippy lounge. You are correct about her history! We actually have a plaque next to the picture with some info, but the bartender would be more than happy to provide the full written story if asked. You mentioned our Christmas decorations as well. They are actually being put up as I write this. The train garden is coming along nicely. I agree, our decorations for the holidays are beautiful and the spirit is alive at Dunes Manor Hotel! Glad to hear you come to our restaurant as a local. We actually have quite a few locals that meet their families at our restaurant for their holiday dinner. Many of their family members come from out of town and stay here as a group. One of those groups is planning to show a slide show this year of all the years they have been coming here for Thanksgiving as a family. Sounds like a nice tradition! In any case thanks for coming to our restaurant and many thanks for taking time to write about it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Hi, this is TravelManiac1998, and I am reviewing an exceptionally amazing hotel (after the renovation, that is), the Dunes Manor. I've visited this hotel many times, so I have a lot of experience on it. Allow me to say that I am very pleased with the hotel overall. The renovation was also perfected, allowing the ground and lobby floors to keep its grand Victorian style, while completely refurbishing the rooms & suites and making them suitable and comfortable for the guests to stay in. I admire your strict policies, and appreciate your current room cleanliness and removal of annoying comforters on the bed. I also am thankful for making the edges of the bed curved. Last time we stayed here, my mother cut her leg because of the sharp edges on the corner of the bed. The service was fair enough, although it was a bit bittersweet, but it was high enough for our expectations. At least the elevators were faster this time, and I'm happy for that. I love the location, very close to the boardwalk yet situated on beautiful 28th street. I loved the food outside at the deck, at the Zippy Lewis Lounge, Milton's Café and in the Victorian Room Restaurant. I really admire the British tradition of 3pm tea and crumpets. The selection of cookies were my favorite, and for a stomach cool down, I had the refreshing lemon water. Before I end the review, let's not forget the indoor/outdoor pool with half ocean, half front view. Seabonay and Dunes motel are seen in the distance. I like how cautious you are for the spa. 10 minutes at a time! The showers next door are convenient, and the accessibility lift for the handicapped elderly. I'd also like to mention the main advantage of the hotel, that all the rooms are oceanfront! Anyway, I deeply thank you for improvising this traditional Manor which once used to be the sweet heart of Ocean City through the nightlife and piano entertainment. Thank you for making Ocean City a better place.
Wish you all the best,
TravelManiac1998

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravelManiac1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley D, Director of Sales at Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Thank you so much! Not just for making the Dunes a place you frequent but for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. We are so thrilled that you like the renovations. We wouldn't dream of taking away the charm of the lobby and appearance of the hotel. With our high tea and crumpets, we know it brings back the charm of days long gone and keeps alive the tradition Mrs. Conner started when she built the hotel. It's always nice to hear that the honoring of that tradition is appreciated. As the world outside of the Dunes tends to getting moving faster, everyday, you can expect Dunes to continue to be that step back, where you can come to unwind, reminisce and rejuvenate yourself . We look forward to being that place for you now and in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We recently stayed at the Dunes for an unseasonably warm week in Oct. '13. I read the reviews on tripadvisor that did help me chose this hotel. One of the negative reviews stated that the front desk could be a little more friendly...my experience was about 50-50. They seem to be very strict about the 3pm check-in which is okay because that is stated when you make your reservation. The rate was fabulous and the reservationist was extremely helpful in securing a great rate for the 3 nights we booked...we later extended it one day because the weather was beautiful and we were so pleased with the hotel overall. I have been going to Ocean City for over 50 years and we normally stay on the bay in the summer months so this was a real treat to be right on the ocean. The lobby was very grand and the pictures and photos of old ocean city were amazing. Afternoon tea is so nostalgic of the ocean city grand hotels in years past. The "veranda" with the rocking chairs is a great touch!! I loved the feel the hotel gave you. The room was perfect-the view and recent renovation (I read about) made the room so comfortable. The balcony was very private.We slept with the window open to the sounds of the ocean every night...so peaceful. The beds were very comfy..I loved all the pillows. They have a great happy hour in the bar and both bartenders we encountered were friendly and very attentive-they both deserve recognition for their services. (we stayed the week of Oct.27th) The proximity the boardwalk is a plus also. We did not eat in the restaurant but it appears that the service and friendliness was evident. We will return!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mzuder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley D, Director of Sales at Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

The team here at the Dunes was so encouraged by your wonderful review. Thank you for taking the time to let us know what you thought of our renovations. Your comments about the bar tenders will certainly be passed on to both of them. We hope you'll be back to see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

My husband and I decided to have a fall vacation at Ocean City, Maryland. It was a bonus that it happened to be during the car show. We picked the Dunes because it was near the boardwalk and the rates were reasonable. This hotel is very clean and the staff are friendly and helpful. We loved that is has an indoor and outdoor pool with a hot tub, and all rooms are oceanfront balconies. Not that we used it much, but despite the complaints I had read in other reviews, we had strong internet access on the 4th floor. The covered parking is also a plus!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jodi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley D, Director of Sales at Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

We are delighted that your husband and you chose our hotel for your fall vacation. Thank you for taking time to write about your experience here at The Dunes Manor Hotel. So glad you mentioned that you didn't have any trouble with the internet. In fact, we heard the past complaints and have upgraded our internet service. We hope to see you and your husband again soon. Christmas is a great time to visit also. The Victorian charm of the hotel adds to the ambiance of the Christmas atmosphere. Our decorations will be up the Monday after Thanksgiving. Thanks again for taking time to write about your experience with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

my cousin and I had a quick girls weekend in sept at the Dunes Manor. The lobby was very nice with a piano and tea at check in time. The room was very spacious and had a beautiful ocean front view. Very clean!! We forgot our bottom opener and the nice lady at the bar was more then happy to help us. We would definitely stay again!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
Thank joshsgrl512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley D, Director of Sales at Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Sounds like you and your cousin had a great time! Thanks for taking time to write about your stay with us. Glad to hear you enjoyed our piano sing-a-longs and afternoon tea. We will be right here if you and your cousin decide to do it again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#14 of 104 in Ocean City
3,663 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ocean City
1.0 mi away
The Commander Hotel
The Commander Hotel
#7 of 104 in Ocean City
880 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#33 of 104 in Ocean City
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites

Address: 2800 Baltimore Ave., Ocean City, MD 21842-3442
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Ocean City
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#8 Best Value Hotel in Ocean City
#8 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range: $66 - $395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dunes Manor Hotel & All Suites properties offer a unique hospitality experience when visiting Ocean City, Maryland. At the Dunes Manor Hotel you will walk through our front doors and be transported back to the gentle days of a bygone era. Truly ocean front, these properties embrace the stunning views with each guest room offering a private balcony and, at the Dunes Manor Hotel, a wide verandah complete with rocking chairs to take it all in. A location second to none, the Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites properties are the perfect choice for couples, groups and family getaways. Our all-suites property is at the onset of the famous Ocean City Boardwalk and is equipped with a full size refrigerator, microwave, cook-top stove and 46" HDTV. While at the Dunes Suites property, all the amenities at the Dunes Manor Hotel are available for your use including the full service restaurant, The Victorian Room; the indoor/outdoor bar (seasonal) Zippy Lewis Lounge, heated indoor/outdoor pool and Jacuzzi. All properties offer complimentary Wi-Fi access and free off street parking. Afternoon Team is served daily at 3:00 pm and is a tradition started by the Hotel's owner and entrepreneur, Thelma Conner back in 1987. Join the staff as they serve the signature tea with cookies and crumpets with genuine hospitality. What a great opportunity to mingle with fellow guests and learn more of the history of Ocean City Maryland. Whether you choose to relax by our heated pool, enjoy the salty ocean air from the outside deck, explore the Boardwalk, shop, dine or visit some of Ocean City's best attractions, the Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites will help make your dream stay a reality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Otel, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunes Manor Hotel Ocean City
Hotel Dunes Manor
Dunes Manor Ocean City Md

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing