We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“9 out of 10”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Ranked #2 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“9 out of 10”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

As soon as you step into the Dunes Manor Hotel you're overwhelmed with elegance and beauty and that feeling doesn't leave you. The positives of this hotel: Bellhop, location, cleanliness, atmosphere, view (obviously), fast elevators, friendly staff, restaurant, room service, excellent maid service, and of course the afternoon crumpets and cookies. Negatives (very few): TV needs a little updating, standard rooms are just a bit on the small side, and if you're really reaching the bathrooms could be bigger but overall nothing to deter you from staying here. If you decide to visit Ocean City, the Dunes Manor is surely a top place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zach T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,057 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,218
    542
    194
    62
    41
See reviews for
845
696
39
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denton, MD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We just had a surprise birthday party at the hotel in the Verrazano room this weekend for my mother, and I cannot say enough about the wonderful staff who helped make this a great party! They worked so hard and catered to our every need. I love the hotel - it is so charming. And yes, the rooms are outdated, but they are so clean. I've stayed in some beautiful resorts where I would have preferred a clean room over the upscale decor. The hotel is in the midst of upgrading every room, and the renovations are planned for a mid-February completion. With that, there can't possibly be any reason to complain about this treasure of a hotel and their wonderful staff! I highly recommend the Verrazano room for gatherings of 50 or so people. It's a beautiful intimate setting looking out on the ocean. Thanks to all the staff who helped make our mom's celebration a truly wonderful night for our guests!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CathyH574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

My family has been staying in this hotel for years and everytime we stay in it, all the memories flashback. It is almost Victorian-style on the outside. It is very elegant n the inside. Some parts of the building are dated, but that is all overlooked by the lovely lobby. There is a piano at which a person usually plays in the evening and it makes us guests feel at home. The rooms are aging, but it feels like home. This may be a little pricy, but when you stay in a clean room in a nice hotel, you forget about that! It's not for everyone, but you should try this nice hotel out!

Room Tip: It doesn't matter what room you stay in. They all have an Ocean Front view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mawijr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groove City
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel is really old style Victorian. The staff was nice. The rooms are really old, low ceilings, a lot of rust, small bathroom, etc. however it is clean. The view is excellent, beautiful oceanfront and only one block from the boardwalk (the end of the boardwalk). It is not fitting for a younger couple. The price is not worth it in my opinion.

If you like to have a beautiful oceanfront, with an okay room and old Victorian Style Charm, than this is the place for you.

I will not return only because the rooms needs to be updated and its not worth the price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobinGetsItIn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mays Chapel
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We have stayed at the Dunes Manor Hotel in Ocean City Maryland for over 25 years. We love the location and the staff has always treated us well. The lobby is inviting and the cozy bar is a relaxing place to visit and enjoy some of the best drinks in O.C. The dining room staff is great as is breakfast. The dinner meals are not as good as years past and the menu lacks imagination. One major area of concern are the condition of the rooms. They are in need of major renovation. Housekeeping does a good job but the bathrooms are old and in fair to poor condition. The TV's date back to years gone by. The beds are not comfortable and the worn sheets do not always fit. Management needs to heed this and other similar reviews and revive the Dunes Manor back to what was the best place to stay in Ocean City. We want to return!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MickeyMaysChapel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
240 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Always interesting when writing a review, your perspective depends on what you want. If you want an updated, new high tech oceanfront hotel in Ocean City with an oceanside pool; this is not the hotel for you. If you are looking for old fashioned elegance. Quiet and want to sit on the porch in a rocking chair drinking your coffee in the morning or iced tea in the afternoon this is the hotel for you. I go off season, during the week, to the Dunes Hotel to chill. It is so relaxing and comforting. I have always found it clean. But realistically it is an older hotel and it shows but in my opinion that is part of its elegance.

Room Tip: You can watch sunrise over the ocean from the oceanfront rooms on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BB411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Recently stayed for the wine fest. I am never disappointed at Dunes Manor and have stayed here several times in the past 15 years. I love the family orientation, exceptional cleanliness, and friendly hospitality. Will definitely reserve for next year as well.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa0413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
0.3 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#15 of 103 in Ocean City
3,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Castle in the Sand Hotel
Castle in the Sand Hotel
#16 of 103 in Ocean City
850 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#28 of 103 in Ocean City
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites

Property: Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Address: 2800 Baltimore Ave., Ocean City, MD 21842-3442
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Ocean City
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#8 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dunes Manor Hotel & All Suites properties offer a unique hospitality experience when visiting Ocean City, Maryland. At the Dunes Manor Hotel you will walk through our front doors and be transported back to the gentle days of a bygone era. Truly ocean front, these properties embrace the stunning views with each guest room offering a private balcony and, at the Dunes Manor Hotel, a wide verandah complete with rocking chairs to take it all in. A location second to none, the Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites properties are the perfect choice for couples, groups and family getaways. Our all-suites property is at the onset of the famous Ocean City Boardwalk and is equipped with a full size refrigerator, microwave, cook-top stove and 46" HDTV. While at the Dunes Suites property, all the amenities at the Dunes Manor Hotel are available for your use including the full service restaurant, The Victorian Room; the indoor/outdoor bar (seasonal) Zippy Lewis Lounge, heated indoor/outdoor pool and Jacuzzi. All properties offer complimentary Wi-Fi access and free off street parking. Afternoon Team is served daily at 3:00 pm and is a tradition started by the Hotel's owner and entrepreneur, Thelma Conner back in 1987. Join the staff as they serve the signature tea with cookies and crumpets with genuine hospitality. What a great opportunity to mingle with fellow guests and learn more of the history of Ocean City Maryland. Whether you choose to relax by our heated pool, enjoy the salty ocean air from the outside deck, explore the Boardwalk, shop, dine or visit some of Ocean City's best attractions, the Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites will help make your dream stay a reality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunes Manor Hotel Ocean City
Hotel Dunes Manor
Dunes Manor Ocean City Md

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing