We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not happy with the Dunes Manor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Ranked #3 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, VA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“not happy with the Dunes Manor”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I was extremely disappointed with the two room efficiency I rented for the week. Room was not clean, don't believe sheets were changed during the week. Hide-a-bed sofa was horrible for sleeping and dangerous (you could lose a small child through the back of the sofa bed). Kitchen very sparsely furnished and even lacked a can opener. Only 2 small trash cans in the entire place - certainly not enough when you cook! Room did not feel clean. TV in first room with hide-a-bed not viewable from the sofa. TV is old and outdated - children couldn't hook up games. Water for showers was ice cold. Furniture on balcony cheap and uncomfortable. I do love the restaurants and the location of the hotel. They need to update this place. My 2 room efficiency was not worth the $2500 dollars paid for the week!!!

Room Tip: Visit after they update the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,070 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,222
    547
    197
    63
    41
See reviews for
854
700
39
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Ocean City reminds me of Jasper Canada during peak season. Most acceptable hotels or motels are fully booked therefore getting a room a day before arrival is such a gift.

There was nothing that surprised me @Dunes. I read through the TA reports and as usual they were spot on. So, I wasn't turned off by the age of the hotel. Some people wrote about it being untidy but I found the opposite. It felt like going to grandma's home. OLD edifice that would surely benefit updating. But, it was definitely clean. Walls have been repainted and our room and other public areas were well sanitized. With that said, I really think the management should think about renovating the building, updating in-room amenities (not that we cared for it since we were at the beach most of the time).

Our likes:
1. It's situated 2 blocks off the starting point of the boardwalk. If you want peace & quiet, this would be a plus.
2. Their main dining room "The Victorian Room by the Sea" serves good breakfasts (lump crabmeat omelet, yum!) and reminds me of "Somewhere in Time" for those of you old enough to remember Christopher Reeve and Jane Seymore :)
3. The deck is a good place to hang out if you don't want to be on the sand.

Our dislikes:
1. Again, although it was clean, it really needs a major renovation.
2. DH, noted that since it wasn't on the boardwalk beachcombers didn't pass through everyday. The sand would have benefitted from it.
3. The least expensive food outlets for a quick bite i.e. fish tacos, coffee outlets, etc. where located mid-boardwalk so you either had to walk or take the tram ($3/each way) to get to those.

Overall, since this was only a short stay, we enjoyed it and were satisfied with our pick. We'd recommend it to friends who travel the same we do.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbugOttawa_On
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

The Dunes manor hotel is a wonderful place to stay. Very clean hotel. The staff are very friendly and always smiling and ready to answer your questions. The bathrooms in the lobby area are extremely clean and smell very nice unlike other hotels. The staff are constantly maintaining it's appearence. The view of the beach is very beautiful. The atmosphere is very family oriented. My wife and i are going to make the dunes manor hotel our spot to come back to every year and we will be recommending the hotel to everyone we know. To the owners or managers whatever you are doing, keep doing it cause your doing a great job. I rate this as a perfect hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Combatvet101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Let me start off by saying Linda the assistant manager and louane or however you spell her name she works overnight. They were the most rudest people i've ever had to deal with and racist at that. Linda sold our room that we booked two weeks ahead of time and tried to put us in a double bed room instead of the suite which we had originally booked.. she insisted that we didnt know what we were talking about and that she would gladly put us in the motel. She claimed the person who booked our room had worked there for 10 years and that she would never make a mistake she kept yelling at us as if we were idiots and we had our information that was given to us over the phone. She put us in a room where they put people who had been injured in a boat accident and had no where to stay "charity" room. Later that night the front desk lady louanne claimed she had better stuff to do then help me get my parking ticket ...do you think she helped and gave me one NO instead she yelled at me while an employee sat there along with her. I do not recommend this hotel to ANYONE! There racist, rude and dont give a damn about any customer whos a minority. Linda should be fired along with louanne. The room was sooo ugly and dirty! If you want a peaceful vacation STAY AWAY FROM THE DUNES HOTEL...

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Yolo21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

I've been visiting OC annually for 35 years. This was my first stay at Dunes Manor, but wont be my last. The staff went out of their way to make you feel welcome. We needed a middle of the bed change-sick child- and the front desk was quick to get us new linens. The next day our housekeeper, Mildred, was unable to get to our room due to our early return from the beach. She made sure we had everything we needed in the interim until the evening cleaning crew arrived. Our room was serviced when we returned from dinner. Mildred followed up the next morning to make sure we were taken care of the previous night. I appreciated her gesture. The room was clean and perfect for a 3 day beach visit. The complimentary coffee in the morning and iced tea in the afternoon were a very nice conveniece. The mini fridge was helpful in keeping the Candy Kitchen chocolates in tact. Thank you for a nice stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed here for a week following the July 4th holiday. The location is great, right at the end of the boardwalk, and right on the beach. We were greeted with fantastic service throughout our stay. We also enjoyed the 'high tea' service every afternoon at 3 pm. We had stayed here over 15 years ago and we were surprised to see that there hasn't been much updating since we were last there. However, everything was not run down and was very clean, soviet feel that is a minor point. Overall, we had a great time, even our 3 kids enjoyed it. We are already planning our stay there next year.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlcates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

I have been in many hotels in Ocean city over the years and the Dunes Manor Hotel is on top of that list. The parking was plentiful, in front of the hotel and two more spots on the sides. Check in was easy and fast. We were traveling with a 9 month old, so the condition and the location of the hotel is very important to us. The rooms were good and the balcony overlooking the ocean was great. The location of the hotel was 2 blocks from the boardwalk, so the noise levels were down, yet the location was prime. The hotel staff were also very accommodating for the last check out due to the baby naps, we could check out a bit later without any fees, which was great. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to everyone from family to singles as well.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikep06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
0.3 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#15 of 103 in Ocean City
3,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Castle in the Sand Hotel
Castle in the Sand Hotel
#16 of 103 in Ocean City
850 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#28 of 103 in Ocean City
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites

Property: Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Address: 2800 Baltimore Ave., Ocean City, MD 21842-3442
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Ocean City
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#8 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dunes Manor Hotel & All Suites properties offer a unique hospitality experience when visiting Ocean City, Maryland. At the Dunes Manor Hotel you will walk through our front doors and be transported back to the gentle days of a bygone era. Truly ocean front, these properties embrace the stunning views with each guest room offering a private balcony and, at the Dunes Manor Hotel, a wide verandah complete with rocking chairs to take it all in. A location second to none, the Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites properties are the perfect choice for couples, groups and family getaways. Our all-suites property is at the onset of the famous Ocean City Boardwalk and is equipped with a full size refrigerator, microwave, cook-top stove and 46" HDTV. While at the Dunes Suites property, all the amenities at the Dunes Manor Hotel are available for your use including the full service restaurant, The Victorian Room; the indoor/outdoor bar (seasonal) Zippy Lewis Lounge, heated indoor/outdoor pool and Jacuzzi. All properties offer complimentary Wi-Fi access and free off street parking. Afternoon Team is served daily at 3:00 pm and is a tradition started by the Hotel's owner and entrepreneur, Thelma Conner back in 1987. Join the staff as they serve the signature tea with cookies and crumpets with genuine hospitality. What a great opportunity to mingle with fellow guests and learn more of the history of Ocean City Maryland. Whether you choose to relax by our heated pool, enjoy the salty ocean air from the outside deck, explore the Boardwalk, shop, dine or visit some of Ocean City's best attractions, the Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites will help make your dream stay a reality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunes Manor Hotel Ocean City
Hotel Dunes Manor
Dunes Manor Ocean City Md

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing