We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again.”
Review of Tides Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocean City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tides Motel
Ranked #71 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Never again.”
Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

The second we got in the room, we put my infants baby carrier down onto the floor and the largest spider I had ever seen came down from the ceiling and into the baby carrier. We eventually got it out but it left a bad taste in our mouths for the remainder of the trip. Saw more spiders, the room was not clean, and the moldy room gave my infant breathing problems. We had to keep the door open the whole time. We also took time out of our trip to go to the local Walmart and buy sheets and blankets. The price isn't even that great but obviously more affordable than most other hotels down there. The pool was as big as a hot tub. Although ocean side, the beach was still a good walk away.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank naptownfinest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    24
    16
    4
    15
See reviews for
43
13
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Stood One night here was perfect literally steps away from the beach! That's great right? We certainly were pleased. Not a good location if u were looking to go to the boardwalk being that this motel is on 71 St and the boardwalk starts on 28th and goes to 1 St. We rented scooters to get around quicker. The service was good. All in all it was great fun.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bri93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We have stayed here several times and it's a great place for OC. Away from the busy boardwalk but not a far ride or drive when you want to head there. Clean place and the staff is nice. If you are looking for a Hilton, this isn't the place but if you are looking for a comfortable stay in a decent location, this is for you! We will continue to stay in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Virgo217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore, md
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Arrived 8/19 and the front desk clerk was very nice and efficient in getting everyone checked in; we arrived right at 2 PM and three people were ahead of us in line. He told us to let him know if there was anything we needed. On day four, we received a knock on the door from someone, I had never seen him before, stating he was the manager and he had complaints that we were too loud. On check out day, 8/24, the same desk clerk that checked us in, checked us out. Except for the knock on the door from whoever he was, we had a very pleasant time staying at the hotel and are already planning a return visit for next year.

Room Tip: Because there are no elevators, either choose a room on a lower floor, or pack lightly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crazykatesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sewell, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I felt that the Manager as well as the man that sat at the front desk (devon Washington) were extremely disrepectful and ignorant. As soon as I walked in I was threatened if we made noise and he had to come up to the room it would be ugly. Being that Ocean CIty is a PARTY town we went out and came back a little late. We werent being loud at all he called our room and said that we were walking around too much??? My boyfriend is 6ft 6 and weighs 250 there is no way he can walked lightly. He came to our door the second time and screamed and cursed at us telling us we needed to go to bed like we were little kids and then told us were are getting our stuff and leaving in the morning. The way he spoke to us females was unbelievable. That morning they were at out door at 8 am banging on the door like cops and told us we had one hr to get out (which i dont think legally ya can do) So we got our things and went to Bonita Beach hotel which was fantastic!!!! If you are looking for a nice place to stay and want to be treated like a human being and with respect, I would definitely tell you to go elsewhere. AWFUL MOTEL.....not even worth the cheap rate.....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ocean City hotels

Atlantic City, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

front desk person was rude absolutely ignorant....you are not allowed to walk around your room because you make too much noise!!!! so make sure you crawl when you get out of bed!!! front desk BANGS on our door in the early am, told us we had an hour to leave or the cops would be called. we were not partying or playing music...however the floors make too much noise so you must leave!!! awful place to go if your just looking for a place to stay...I'd rather pay extra money than be disrespected like that....he yelled at us like we were children.....again stay away from this hotel...we were paying customers who did not deserve to be treated nor spoke to in that manner

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah_S29750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joppa, MD
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

This is my second review of this motel, we stayed here two years ago and had a great stay so decided to try it again. As everyone else says, its a typical beach motel. The location is excellent, only steps from the beach. The pool was great, the rooms were clean. I'm not sure if "Lavon" was the one checking us out and in but he was very nice to us, very friendly. We were also offered towels each day. Sure it could use some updating but as long as its clean, who's sitting in the hotel looking at the furniture all day anyway? It also has a kitchenette with a full size fridge. I recommend this motel to anyone looking to stay in OC who is looking for a clean place to stay on a budget. In fact when I tell people where we stayed, I've heard more than one person say it's their favorite place to stay in OC because of price and location.

Room Tip: Stay in the annex if you want to be closer to the beach. The main buidling if you use the pool more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank poca1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.6 mi away
Bonita Beach Hotel
Bonita Beach Hotel
#23 of 103 in Ocean City
423 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#28 of 103 in Ocean City
842 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sea Bay Hotel
Sea Bay Hotel
#33 of 103 in Ocean City
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Seabonay Motel
Seabonay Motel
#69 of 103 in Ocean City
177 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beachcomber Motel
Beachcomber Motel
#47 of 103 in Ocean City
89 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shangri La Motel
Shangri La Motel
#5 of 18 in Ocean City
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tides Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tides Motel

Property: Tides Motel
Address: 7100 Coastal Hwy, Ocean City, MD 21842-2930
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Number of rooms: 54
Also Known As:
Tides Hotel Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing