We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too shabby”
Review of Tides Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocean City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tides Motel
Ranked #74 of 104 Hotels in Ocean City
Reviewed July 19, 2011

This place has mixed reviews, but we have nothing but positive things to say about the Tides Motel. The price was 20% cheaper than any other hotel we could find for our stay in the middle of July. We stayed in the annex building, the room was large, sometimes 2 beds are basically squished together, but here we could have easily fit a 3rd bed. There are also 4 chairs and a small dinning table, full fridge, sink, microwave, 2-burner stove top, coffee maker, pots, pans, and utensils. The bathroom was clean, odor-free, and the shower had great water pressure. The balconies are just the common walkway with chairs and really just for smokers so don't expect too much from them.
It's only a 1/2 block from the beach and has free parking. Within blocks there is the General's Kitchen for a good fast breakfast, Big Pecker's and BJ's on the Water for dinner and drinking, and the Seaside Deli for pretty much anything else you could need.
It was really great for the price and if we can get a good deal again, we'll be back.

Room Tip: Check their website and look for coupon codes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JimmyBaltimore_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 92 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2011

I felt welcomed when we got there and throughout the stay. The room service was really warm and caring. People that are giving this place a bad review I just dont understand it. The internet service did need some help though. The housekeepers were very friendly and helpful. When we wanted to stay another night. It was done very promptly and without any problems. THANK you all from us for a very wonderful calm stay. We will be back to see you all in 2011. Oh, By the way, all of our wishes that we needed was given promptly and without a problem. Thank you all again Harrisburg,Pa

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank slaptop38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

This is not a Marriott or Hilton but with the price they charge what would you expect? Honestly, the place was clean and is perfect if you do not intend to stay much in the room. I don't go to the beach to hang out in the motel...but if you do this place isn't for you.

Everything is quite old and in desperate need of renovation. Smoking is not allowed in the rooms so the majority of the renters were hanging outside on the cheap chairs smoking...and in some cases drinking. It was laughable. Also, they claimed to offer free wifi but none of our 3 devices worked. They claimed it was us but there was no way that all 3 of our devices didn't work at the same time.

Stay here to save money only. Don't expect luxury, quality or service.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank matthewedward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

recently stayed here. The room was nice, small pool, very good maid service,but the floors are super thin and you can hear every footstep above you. One group of young adults above us actually had our ceiling vibrating because of their jumping up and down. We were on the second floor and had shower water from their third floor room come through the ceiling into our bathroom twice! very unsanitary. The staff wiped the floor with towels but it was still a gross unsanitary experience. Received calls continuously from one office employee who said he couldn't sleep at night in the office because the children were making to much noise with their feet on the super thin floors. The beach at this location was very treacherous for young children.

Definately not worth the reduced price for what you have to endure.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank camel42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2010

These people expect quite alot for one of the cheapest hotels in Ocean City. We have stayed in some of the other cheapest and this motel is by far better then most. Yes the furniture and bathrooms are outdated and yes the pool was very small, but the room was clean, there was no bugs (we've had ants in other cheap rooms in OC), there was no foul smell (we've had that as well in other rooms) the location is perfect, a few steps from the beach , we were supplied with towels daily and there was a kitchenette with a full size refrigerator which is very cool for a room that cheap. There was a small coffee maker, they supplied dishes and utensils (which we didn't use), dish soap and rags. We even decided to stay an extra day which they accomodated. For rates in July, this motel was the second to cheapest we could find. I forgot to take a pic of the room but I did get a pic of our view from the 3rd floor.

Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
3  Thank poca1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2010

Our stay was pleasant, suprisingly based on previous reviews read our expectation was filled with anxiety, however we got a nice surprise the rooms were clean, had everything we needed, it was located in a nice area;within walking distance of the beach, literally one minute Wow what else could we ask for at the price? customer service was very professional and corteous
thanks for the suggestion on the Deli it was the best!!!
If youre too Picky go ahead and pay $300 per night at any other hotel... If you in recession like the rest of us you cannot go wrong with this motel;)

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gylo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2010

I stayed one night while attending the American Legion's Department of Maryland Convention. My advanced reservation listed, but didn't guarantee, a second floor room in the main building. I was assigned a ground floor room in the annex building at check-in. There were several "vacancy" signs at some of the chain motels, so I'm sure I could have found a more modern one for the same amount of money or slightly more. The website pictures don't show the outdated bathroom and fixtures. My bathroom was a green color with very old fixutures, including a slightly rocking toilet. There was only a small shelf space above the non-vanity sink for holding toilet articles. The mattress was fair. The check-in gentleman was very friendly, but the check-out man wasn't too friendy. I was gone during the day, so never used the pool or saw any of the cleaning staff. I would never stay there again. I am normally easy to please and not a complainer, but I was very disappointed with the old motel room. My only positive comment is: "it was a place to sleep and shower, for one night."

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChowHoundSkip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
1.1 mi away
Princess Royale Resort
Princess Royale Resort
#4 of 104 in Ocean City
2,887 reviews
3 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#14 of 104 in Ocean City
3,757 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#3 of 104 in Ocean City
2,455 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#34 of 104 in Ocean City
891 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tides Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tides Motel

Address: 7100 Coastal Hwy, Ocean City, MD 21842-2930
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 104 Hotels in Ocean City
Number of rooms: 54
Also Known As:
Tides Hotel Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing