We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best I've Found in OC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantic Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocean City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Atlantic Hotel
Save
You added Atlantic Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #33 of 108 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
133 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Best I've Found in OC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

This is the third hotel I've tried in Ocean City and it's the best by far. The location is right at the amusement park on the boardwalk, so that cannot be beat. The hotel has a huge deck on the 2nd floor that overlooks the boardwalk so it's the best place possible for people watching. The boardwalk access door to the hotel is understated, it feels like you've found the secret when you see it.

The hotel itself is good by beach standards. The room we shared was a good size, with 2 beds perpendicular to each other. The decor is best described as "Grandma's house" but it's head and shoulders above the other two places I've tried. Housekeeping was on point every day, and was ready to clean our room by 9:30 every day (if we wanted them to). The bathroom was definitely small and the tub has some familiar "beach hotel sandblast" look, but we were still happy. This hotel may not rank equally to a 4-star hotel in a city, but for a hotel on the beach in Ocean City that sees endless traffic, this is the best choice I've found. The staff was very friendly, and there is also a pool out back (but we never tried it).

I'd book here again.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank MLNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    58
    16
    4
    7
See reviews for
88
37
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

It is unfortunate that the Atlantic had to take housekeeping to an outside company. This is one of the great old beach hotels in America. To have housekeeping staff yelling down the halls and horse playing while providing less than an adiquate service is apprehensable. To hear one say to another "what that B*#%h didn't leave no tip" really!! Come on Purnells. What would Flossie say!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank RockCLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I have stayed at The Atlantic Hotel many times and have always been satisfied. This hotel is VERY clean. The housekeeping staff are hard workers and are very respectful. When you pass them in the hall, they greet you with a "Good Morning" and a smile on their face. KUDOS to them for keeping such a CLEAN hotel, hopefully they are recognized for their hard work. The front desk staff was also very helpful. If you are looking for a CLEAN and QUIET place, this is the place to stay. The lobby area is beautiful and it makes you feel like you stepped back in time. The hotel is right on the boardwalk so you don't have to worry about walking a distance to get to the boards. This hotel is a TREASURE in the sand!!! We will be back!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mychunks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Marsh, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

I have been staying at the Atlantic Hotel now for 40 years. Would/will NEVER stay anywhere else in OC. The front desk, housekeeping and janitorial staff are nothing short of amazing. All will go out of their way to provide you with the most comfortable, relaxing stay. And always with a friendly, pleasing attitude. Always willing to go out of their way for you. The hotel is, and always has been, THE cleanest, well kept hotel I have had the pleasure to visit. The sheets are pristine white, the floors are impeccably clean as well as the bathrooms. The hotel is over a hundred years old and is lovingly cared for and restored to past elegance. A pleasure for the eyes as well as the soul. And location, location, location! It's located in the hub of all the action; restaurants, rides, games. And the most reasonably priced hotel in Ocean City. What else would you need? I absolutely LOVE the hotel & especially the staff. See you next year, and many more I hope!

Room Tip: I request, and have always gotten an oceanfront room (corner suite: large, sunny and the delicious a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AtlanticLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

The Atlantic Hotel located right on the boardwalk in Ocean City, Md is a family oriented environment. We have been staying at this hotel for the past 8 years. Every staff member we have ever encountered has been friendly and courteous. The lobby offers a great place to sit and relax for a few minutes.The rooms are clean with an old style charm. The deck is a winner at this hotel. It offers a fabulous view of the activity on the beach and boardwalk. They have a pool that we use on occasion, although we prefer the ocean. The outdoor shower is quite convenient so that you don't track sand back into your room. All-in-all, the price you pay isn't bad for a good clean hotel right on the boardwalk.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hulagirlie2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faulkner, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We discovered the Atlantic Hotel about 4 years ago, now we don't stay anywhere else when in O.C. It has great old time charm, clean rooms and great location. Sits right on the boardwalk close to all the action. Sometimes it's nice to just sit out on the porch overlooking the boardwalk and do some people watching. If you're looking for all the modern amenities and free food, you'll be disappointed, but if you're looking for a clean, comfortable room, with friendly people, you'll be pleased.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank roadrunnermoore33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Great rooms at a reasonable price. Friendly, courteous service. Walk right out onto the boardwalk. A family atmosphere. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Very relaxing. Walk the boardwalk, take the tram, or walk just one block to catch the bus to anywhere in Ocean City.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nelson S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.2 mi away
Rideau Motor Inn
Rideau Motor Inn
#84 of 108 in Ocean City
3.0 of 5 stars 67 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#15 of 108 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 stars 289 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
#29 of 108 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 stars 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Lankford Hotel
Lankford Hotel
#16 of 108 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 stars 156 reviews
1.0 mi away
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel - Ocean City Oceanfront
0.5 mi away
Shoreham Hotel
Shoreham Hotel
#77 of 108 in Ocean City
3.0 of 5 stars 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Hotel

Property: Atlantic Hotel
Address: Wicomico Street, PO Box 120, Ocean City, MD 21843
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Ocean City
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Number of rooms: 80
Also Known As:
Atlantic Hotel Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing