We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“family” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Atlantic Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocean City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Atlantic Hotel
Ranked #36 of 108 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

Great rooms at a reasonable price. Friendly, courteous service. Walk right out onto the boardwalk. A family atmosphere. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Very relaxing. Walk the boardwalk, take the tram, or walk just one block to catch the bus to anywhere in Ocean City.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nelson S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    58
    16
    4
    7
See reviews for
87
37
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

As one of the oldest hotels in Ocean City you can't beat the charm of the antiques and decorations within the hotel. We had a room on the third floor which was nice except for huffing up stair case after stair case with full hands of luggage or shopping or anything else. Pretty much if we forgot it in the room we did without or flipped a coin to see who would be the lucky one to get in another workout.

The staff was amazing--they will hold your room key at the front desk if you're going out for the evening or to the beach so you don't lose it. A huge plus for us as we were there for a couples weekend without the children.

Extra towels were a small problem to get as they wanted the used ones first--understandable but at the same time I prefer two, one for my hair and one for my body, and I can't give away what I haven't used yet and they leave just enough in one full room for two people only. Our tub drain was a little slow as water was to my ankles after quick showers...not bothersome for our two nights but if it had been a week stay I would've complained.

Bathroom was a nice size but no counter space to speak of for girly articles like makeup, curling/straightening iron, even toothbrushes and paste. The wallpaper in our bathroom was perfect for the beach but for some odd reason the beach ball border was carried into the main room as well which had a floral background. Once again I put this down to the old style charm.

The room itself was nice sized and clean. The windows opened for a nice breeze that's always present at the ocean. Our bed was a full size and not the queen advertised but was okay for a two night stay. Large dresser with mirror and oddly enough, ample closet space to stow suitcases with hooks which once again lends itself to the old days of storing steamer trunks, etc.

The double doors on the rooms were nice...one solid on the inside and one louvered on the outside...once again leaning towards the old days to keep the rooms cooler before the advent of a/c. If we went out to the porch overlooking the boardwalk we tended to shut only the louvered one. The walls were a tad thin...but not bothersome. The fridge was a nice addition as well as the tiny coffepot. TV was ancient but we weren't there to watch it.

The outside pool is heated...such a nice luxury and a huge plus! Outside shower is in the courtyard. It could stand to have a fourth wall or door but most outside ones don't so no biggie.

If we stay again, it'll be on a lower floor due to bad knees and the stair issue as while there is an elevator we found out staff is required to operate it and its mainly for luggage only.

Great location and parking for a weekend or week.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank sanetoolong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairplay, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Right where the action is, clean room ,great service, friendly staff ,great price, we were there for fall fest, nice view on the deck of the board walk and ocean.Parked car and used the bus to travel all over for a small fee, short walk for breakfast at some great places,the bands were great at fall fest ,we got to see the Beach Boys.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 150 perfect place to go out on the deck, played corn hole, partied with others with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rupper69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
136 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

The Atlantic is in the heart of Ocean City. Let the car at the parking for all your stay and enjoy. At the feet of the pier, the hotel is kind of a vintage one with all the up-date needed for a comfortable stay. You will feel like been at a big family home in front of the great beach of Ocean City. Close from restaurant and activity, the best place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alain H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

My husband and I have been staying at this hotel since 1966. It is one of the oldest hotels in Ocean City, but is soooooo well maintained and updated regularly. Its hands down, the cleanest hotel I've ever stayed in. The rooms are large and airy, the beds are comfortable and the atmosphere of the whole place is just charming. Our room had a microwave, refrigerator and HD TV with WIFI. The thing we like the best is the porch. Its lined with rocking chairs and it overlooks the famous boardwalk - just feet from the amusement pier and the widest beach in Ocean City. There is a heated swimming pool though we never got a chance to use it, because we were too busy checking out the boardwalk, all of the sights that are within walking distance and the marinas on the bay side. I can't stress enough how nice it is to walk down the hustling, bustling boardwalk and enter the lobby of the Atlantic - peace and quiet - and newly decorated. We usually only stay 2 or 3 nights, but don't even have to move the car once - everything you need is right there. We wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank msnrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chambersburg
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Atlantic Hotel is the BEST place to stay in Ocean City, Md. The staff are wonderful...from the check-in staff to the housekeeping staff. They are always friendly and remember you from year to year. Tammy, Hskpg. Supervisor always makes me feel welcome. Her daughter is working there now also. That just proves that Tara and Charlie are great people to work for...that the 2nd generation wants to work for the Atlantic Hotel. You can't be any closer to the boardwalk then walking out the front door and there you are!!!! I can't say enough about this Hotel...!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Just got back from 5 beautiful days in Ocean City, Md. Had another great stay at the Atlantic Hotel. Mary checked us in and was wonderful. Connie our housekeeper was very nice and did a great job. Carl and Ronald came out to our vehicle and carried our things to the elevator and then in to our room because the only luggage cart they had was broken. The room was nice and clean and smelled great. The bed was a little softer than we like but we will continue to stay there and we recommend the hotel to our friends. The hotel had new wall paper and furniture covers in the lobby. It was bright and beautiful. The best hotel for the money. It's not fancy but it's clean and the staff are great and it's on the boardwalk. Get a room with a fridge and microwave. It's a little more but worth it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a fridge and microwave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nannyp7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.2 mi away
Rideau Motor Inn
Rideau Motor Inn
#86 of 108 in Ocean City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#16 of 108 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lankford Hotel
Lankford Hotel
#15 of 108 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
#28 of 108 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.8 mi away
Paradise Plaza Inn
Paradise Plaza Inn
#9 of 108 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shoreham Hotel
Shoreham Hotel
#80 of 108 in Ocean City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Hotel

Property: Atlantic Hotel
Address: Wicomico Street, PO Box 120, Ocean City, MD 21843
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Ocean City
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Number of rooms: 80
Also Known As:
Atlantic Hotel Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing