We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, location.”
Review of Atlantic Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocean City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Atlantic Hotel
Ranked #43 of 104 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We stayed at the Atlantic Hotel for two nights. It was just two of us and we had a single queen bed room. Upon arrival, we were able to park before check in. The parking lot is on site which is a huge plus. We were able to check in 45 minutes early and the desk staff were friendly. Our room was on the small side, but enough for what we needed. It had a bed, bathroom, and closet with dresser. The room wad clean with the exception of the air conditioner. I made the mistake of not taking a photo and starting to clean it myself. There was black with white fuzzy mold on it. I asked the front desk if someone could go over it with bleach which they immediately took care of. The situation wad rectified and they apologized. They did try to say it was only dirt (however I have worked Microbiology/Mycology and know the difference). Anyway, overall that was taken care of and we enjoyed our stay. The porch view was relaxing with the rocking chairs. We would stay here again if it was only the two of us and if it was for a short period of time (we may consider a room with the fridge/microwave next time). Also, the pool was nice to have especially the pool bar.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marleanm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 167 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2011

On the first morning we found splatters of blood on our sheets near the foot of the bed, and after inspecting ourselves, knew that it was not our blood. Not raising a stink about it like we should have, we put out the sign for our room to be cleaned and remade, and thought this would take care of it. We were wrong. The next morning (did not inspect the sheets that night as we should have) we saw the same spots of blood in the same spot on the sheets! I was disgusted and even though my husband did not want to say anything, I did.

But that isn't the worst of it. The worst of it is when I told the manager when we were checking out, she seemed genuinely concerned and had the head of the cleaning staff go and check it out. That woman went upstairs to check it out, and came down and looked us in the eye and essentially blamed us for the blood and said we ruined her sheets. After being spoken to in such a rude and embarrassing way, I went to speak to the manager who sided with her, saying "if you have a problem with it, then you should just not come back".

This was the worst experience of customer service i have ever had. Obviously if it was her fault that the sheets were bloody, but also failed to get changed with this obvious mistake, she clearly was looking to get out of this huge failure to DO HER JOB! But then to blame us for it and to treat us like the common criminal was ridiculous. If we had ruined her sheets, why would we TELL them about it??

I will never go back and here.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank emster31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Atlantic hotel was not a five star hotel but it was perfect for the Ocean City. We stayed two nights. We paid $30 extra a night to have a refrigerator and microwave. We used the microwave to heat left overs and stored our water and wine in the frig. Atlantic is right on the boardwalk near Ripley's. It has a huge balcony to sip your wine on while people watching those on the boardwalk. The room is o.k. The air conditioner provided white noise so we slept solid and the bed was comfortable. The hotel is very old and we were suprised to see the toilet next to the bed instead of in the bathroom. The shower was roomy and had plenty of hot water. We had a lot of stairs to get to our room / bathroom, there is no bathroom in the lobby. However, they do have an elevator that staff can assist you with if you can not do stairs. The pool is small but big enough, 6" to 5' deep. Overall, very nice place to stay (if you don't mind the sink next to your bed), odd but we got over that quickly. Staff were very friendly and they had coffee ready at 6:00a. They also have bike and segway rental in the side alley. I don't believe they have a fittness center but who needs that, you can get all the excercise you want for free by walking the boardwalk or on the beach.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor room if your mobility is limited.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fishtherapy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

After reading the reviews, both good and bad, we decided that the sun-thurs deal was too good to pass up. The price is great and the location is awesome but we still won't stay here again.
The check in time is 3:00 and when we got there is was 3:00. There was a lot of people in the lobby waiting for rooms and seemed very irritated. This gave me a clue what we were in for. People were coming to the desk saying they got the wrong rooms as they had doubles when they booked queens. The staff repeatedly stated that the beds were queens.
We had to wait for 45 min till our room was available. The desk staff wasn't even apologetic in any way.
Our room was laid out weird and so small with two "queens". These beds were the smallest queens I have ever seen. I think some of the rooms may be decent and we just got stuck with a bad one. The housekeeping staff would leave doors open as they cleaned them so we could look inside as we were walking past. Some of these rooms looked really good compared to ours. One actually had a large flat screen tv.
The inner door to our room would shake like someone was trying the door whenever someone would walk by. This got very annoying when trying to sleep. My husband put socks in the door so stop the rattling.
The housekeeping staff was very thorough and was polite when passing in hallways. The head of housekeeping was not polite and seemed abrupt with the staff in front of patrons of the hotel.
Yes, the price is good and the location is unbeatable, so if you can put up with a cramped, noisy room with not great customer service, then this hotel is for you.

Room Tip: need to update rooms, by the 5th day, the
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JenFreshley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Atlantic Hotel recently and were throughly surprised with the size of the hotel but the country feel of the room. It reminded us of a bed and breakfast but with all the attractions on the boardwalk just steps away. Room was clean and felt so cozy and warm and the location couldnt have been better. We enjoyed our stay so much that we have already decided that our next vacation to Ocean City, we will be staying at the Atlantic hotel. One thing to note, the size of some of the rooms are a bit small depending on how many people are in your party, and if you happen to have a room on the 1st or 2nd floor, be ready to go up some steep stairs cause there is no passenger elevator. But those very small issues in comparison with the comfort, friendly staff at the front desk and most importantly the location of the hotel can be overlooked. Quite simply, you will enjoy your stay at the Atlantic Hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HoneymooningDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

great place. First time there. very clean. Great Deck overseeing ocean and boardwalk. EVERYTHING was great. Price . Quality. Service. Location.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beachlovers711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

We stay at the Atlantic Hotel every year. It's clean and the staff are always helpful. When we need towels we just put the dirty ones in the hall. I read reviews and people complained that they couldn't get towels unless they went to the front desk, and the tv had no remote. When we check in we ask for the tv remote. They ask for a 10.00 deposit. Big deal. As long as u return it you get it back. Bring your own hairdryer. I recommend the Atlantic to everyone. Now my children take their children and stay at the Atlantic. We love it and will always stay here! Thank You to the staff for doing awonderful job.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nannyp7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
3.1 mi away
Atlantic Oceanfront Inn
Atlantic Oceanfront Inn
#36 of 104 in Ocean City
326 reviews
0.2 mi away
Talbot Inn
Talbot Inn
#70 of 104 in Ocean City
73 reviews
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#34 of 104 in Ocean City
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Ocean City Oceanfront
Courtyard Ocean City Oceanfront
#13 of 104 in Ocean City
612 reviews
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Ocean City Oceanfront
7.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
#31 of 104 in Ocean City
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Hotel

Address: Wicomico Street, PO Box 120, Ocean City, MD 21843
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Ocean City
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Number of rooms: 80
Also Known As:
Atlantic Hotel Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing