We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it was awful”
Review of Shoreham Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Shoreham Hotel
Ranked #83 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Pasadena, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“it was awful”
Reviewed June 10, 2010

we had 2 couples and children we also met up with other friends and family first when we went to check in i noticed on our paper work it said you could not have any company in your room and when we went to go up to go get some rest myself and my friend went up first with the children our other halves tryed to come in 20 mins later and the gentalmen told them it was to many people in the room but we had already told the ladie that checked us in how many of us it was but my opinion is it was because they were black and we were white because we all had been in and out that hotel all day with no problems then when we went to pull the sheets back there were dirty underware sticking out between the boxspring and mattress not to mention the bathroom sink was being held up with a 2x4 this was my first ever ocean visit it turn out not so well because of this hotel

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank freshcpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shorehamoc, Manager at Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2010
the first thing that is asked is how many people you have, this guest told us 2, they had 7 people in a room with one queen bed and the room is very small, they had been in the room all day and no complaints until they were caught bring 7 people into a room that sleeps 2, and even after they were caught we let them stay altough our policy is to evict without refund we let them stay, still no complaints, the sink has wooden legs and not 2x4. It is not fair because someone breaks the rules that they can tell lies about the hotel, this hotel is very clean and it also had nothing to do with the persons color.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    30
    20
    9
    23
See reviews for
32
37
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2009

You can't beat the Shoreham's location - right on the boardwalk at 4th Street - just steps from the ocean and all the fun boardwalk activities. Normally a location like this would come at a hefty price, but the Shoreham is surprisingly affordable. We paid only $105 for a standard room with a Queen bed. I had scouted nearby properties and found rooms for double that price. If an affordable room on the Boardwalk is all you need, and you're not all that concerned about the quality of the room itself, the Shoreham is perfect for you. The room itself was not the greatest. It was clean, save for a small stain on the bed sheets. It was comfortable. It was, however, very small. The bed took up most of the floor space. I kept tripping over our bags as I walked to and from the front door. You'll probably have to take advantage of the closet and drawers, even for a short stay. The shower stall was also very tight. Not enough room for an average sized man or woman to bend over. They did manage to squeeze a small refrigerator into the room, which was a big help to keep our bottled water cool. No in-room coffee maker, though. It's a bed, dresser, small chair, TV, fridge and that's pretty much it. Oh, and the soda in the vending machines is only a buck. I've never seen it that cheap in a hotel. If your goal is to be on the Boardwalk at a reasonable price and spend most of your time outside the room, then the Shoreham is great. If you're particular about amenities, you might want to spend the extra money and stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank apagano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2009

We enjoyed our stay at the Shoreham and don't feel as though it deserves the poor reviews it has been given. It is at an excellent location and has a very friendly staff. We were happily suprised to find that each room had a small fridge. The room temperature was so comfortable (even though it was hot outside) that for two of the nights we were there, we turned off the air conditioner and just used the ceiling fan.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waltermdd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2009

No elevator, which is ok if you are staying on the 2nd floor, but not so good if you're staying on the 3rd or 4th. This hotel is on the boardwalk, but the outdoor bar and grill actually sits on the boardwalk so the actual rooms do not have a view of anything except the next building. Entrance in the rear, where the "kitchen crew" hangs out the back door, and that's feels a bit uncomfortable.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ihatedopes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ocean City hotels

virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2008

My family and I stayed at the Shoreham Motel last weekend , and it was aweful. We have stayed there before and found the rooms clean and afordable, although lacking ammenities such as a pool. On this night we found dirty towels and wachclothes in the room, and our tub was covered in rust and cleaning solution. We were kept awake all night by the room above us fighting and cursing, as well as partying till 5 am. We complained at the lobby several times and nothing was done. As soon as it was daylight, we checked out and complained to the manager, where we were treated very poorly. Please families beware of too good of a deal, there is a reason. I would not suggest this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lissaloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.4 mi away
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#79 of 103 in Ocean City
36 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rideau Motor Inn
Rideau Motor Inn
#87 of 103 in Ocean City
72 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plim Plaza Hotel
Plim Plaza Hotel
#70 of 103 in Ocean City
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Beach Plaza Hotel
Beach Plaza Hotel
#36 of 103 in Ocean City
527 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean 1 Hotel and Suites
Ocean 1 Hotel and Suites
#59 of 103 in Ocean City
140 reviews
0.2 mi away
Madison Beach Motel
Madison Beach Motel
#26 of 103 in Ocean City
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shoreham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoreham Hotel

Property: Shoreham Hotel
Address: 309 Atlantic Ave, Ocean City, MD 21842-7518
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Shoreham Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Shoreham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing