We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”
Review of Will O' the Wisp

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oakland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Will O' the Wisp
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Oakland
Reviewed September 23, 2007

My fiance and I stayed here in January 2007 and we loved it! We had a HUGE condiminium overlooking the lake. You walked in to the living room that had two double doors leading out onto a balcony, there was a real fireplace with wood supplied and a couch. To the left there was a decent sized kitchen. All the basics were supplied and all plates, cups etc too.

You then went upstairs and there was a fairly big bathroom to the left and a HUGE bedroom at the end of the corridor, with floor to ceiling windows. There was a balcony in here also that you could see down into the living area. The king size bed was extremely comfortable and everything was clean.

We did not eat in the restaurant, so we cannot comment on the food but we did eat in an italian restaurant just around the corner which was very reasonably priced.

We love the deep creek area and try and get down there once a year. We have been back since our stay at will o the wisp, but stayed in a little cottage in the woods. I'm sure we will go back to this hotel though as we enjoyed every minute of it.

I would certainly recommend it to all :)

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doughnutnutty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 85 of 85 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2007

We just returned from spending a week in a condo at the Will O Wisp Resort in Deep Creek Lake, MD. The condo had just been renovated and was perfect for our needs. The resort has a wonderful indoor pool and hot tub. The majority of the staff were friendly with the exception of the staff in their restaurant. We had made a reservation because we had a party of 10. Once we were seated, the waitress approached and belligerently stated "I assume you all are having the pasta buffet?" Her behavior left us wondering what we had done. When I spoke with the manager as we left, he basically excused her behavior because he had to "beg her" to take our table because everyone was so busy. I also left a message to speak with the hotel manager but he never returned my call. Although the food was good, it certainly put a damper on our evening. One morning, our friends went down for breakfast and waited 20 minutes before being waited on.
Basically a great place to stay but explore the other restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LisainAlexandria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2006

My husband and I just got back from staying at this hotel. We stayed in one of the loft rooms and it was decent, but when we got to our room, we noticed just tons of ladybugs, dead and alive, all over the room by the windows and doors, inside and out on the balcony . Alot of them! I went to the front desk because the phone to the front desk didn't work properly. I told the lady at the front desk about it and she talked to the head of housekeeping. They said they could put us in another room but we would have the same problem. (Apparently it was ladybug season?) I said that was fine (we were only in town 2 nights) but could someone please come and sweep up all the dead ones, it was disgusting to look at. Someone had to have noticed it when they 'cleaned' the room. You could not have missed them. They said they would send someone up, never did. We spent the first hour or two killing the crawling and flying ones. Even the next day when they came in to clean up, the bugs remained. I saw the sweeper in the hallway, took it to my room and cleaned some of them up the best I could. I can see this (maybe) slipping their minds the first day, but not when you go into the room the next day, see this disgusting mess and just totally ignore it. However, the view was just gorgeous, if you looked through and past the bugs.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pghbinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2006

The Will O' The Wisp is a lake front condominium that is available for personal use. The Will O' the Wisp has everything from a standard hotel room to a 3 bedroom/3 bath apartment. The room was someone's lake home, so each one is different. However, the indoor pool and two level hot tub were AWESOME as was the beach on the lake, the free docks, and the fishing was to die for. We ate at the Four Season's Restaurant on site for their PASTA NIGHT, which was cheap and very good (11.95). The front staff were very helpful, but weren't the most knowledgeable staff in regards to the computer system. The Will has several different security features, including cameras and multiple locked doors. As long as you don't lose your key, you will enjoy this feature. The property also has a fitness center, racquetball court, and 7 floors. Additionally, the property has 15 or so boat slips on the dock, as well as a swimming dock for swimmers in the lake.

THe Will also has business rates for business travelers, and has on/off peak rates as well.

We "Will" stay again at the Will O' The Wisp again on our next trip to McHenry/Oakland/Deep Creek Lake

9  Thank rmarrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2010
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuSt-vielreisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakland
3.4 mi away
The Lodges at Sunset Village
0.5 mi away
Inn At Deep Creek
Inn At Deep Creek
#1 of 3 in Oakland
304 reviews
7.8 mi away
Oakland Motel
Oakland Motel
#3 of 3 in Oakland
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Suites at Silver Tree
Suites at Silver Tree
#1 of 3 in Oakland
111 reviews
11.6 mi away
Yough Valley Motel
Yough Valley Motel
#1 of 1 in Friendsville
30 reviews
18.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Keyser
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Will O' the Wisp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Will O' the Wisp

Address: 20160 Garrett Hwy, Oakland, MD 21550-7133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Garrett County > Oakland
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Oakland
Price Range: $50 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Will O' The Wisp is the premier condominium resort at Deep Creek Lake. The private pool. sandy beach, and enjoyable onsite dining will make you want to take a second vacation! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Will o` The Wisp Hotel Oakland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing