We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much Better than Snowshoe WV for Ski Trip”
Review of Will O' the Wisp

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oakland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Will O' the Wisp
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Oakland
Reviewed January 4, 2010

My group of friends (in our late 20's) go on an annual ski trip every year. After staying at ski in-out condos at Snowshoe WV (Powderridge Townhomes) a few years and feeling like we were getting gouged we decided to try somewhere else. We were all glad we tried Will O Wisp and I cant stress enough how much better our trip was staying there. We got a three level condo. It had a real fireplace, two bathrooms, a kitchen with dishwasher, and nice beds. It looked like all the units had views of the lake. The pool and bi level hot tub was immaculately clean and not a madhouse. HUGE difference from the nasty hot tubs at Snowshoe Split Rock pool. It's about a 5 minute drive to the Wisp Resort where the skiiing is.

There's a restaurant attached to the building called the Four Seasons. The food was great, and we didn't have to wait forever. The Salmon Rockefeller is to die for. FYI This was a HUGE difference from eating at Snowshoe restaurants where you have to bribe the waitress to be seated and then you get a so so overpriced meal.

There was a bar in the lobby of the restaurant where we hung out one night. It was a pretty laid back atmosphere.

There's even a racquetball court right down the hall where we played a few games. One of the girl's in our group didn't want to ski and worked out in the weight room and said all the equipment was really nice.

Case in point, we will not be returning to Snowshoe Mountain and have already planned to return to Will O Wisp next year. If you go, request a unit towards the center of the complex so you can get a full view of the lake.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IndianaMan21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
There are newer reviews for Will O' the Wisp
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 85 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2009

My husband and I always stay at Will O the Wisp. We have been going there since 1999. We wanted to have our Wedding there but the place was already booked. The views are amazing.
A family owned business since 1975 that's amazing these days. We thorougly enjoyed the pool and fitness center. We dined at the Four Seasons Dining Room the two nights we were there. Delicious food and scruptious desserts. A young friendly staff. We really enjoyed the manager of the Lounge and Hosts.
We recommend this resort and have already booked our stay for ski season .

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank francis52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2009

At Will o'the Wisp some courageous condo owners are renting their renovated condos to complete strangers. These condos are beautiful and make the guests feel like royalty.

I just returned from spending 3 days in Unit 204B. In this tastefully decorated 1-bedroom condo all the rooms are on the same floor, and it has 2 fireplaces and 2 balconies overlooking the lake, a marina, a little white beach and a playground.

Of course, there are all the amenities like 2 TVs (one is a 37" LCD TV), a DVD player, a CD player, a video player and a stereo. But what impressed me the most was the combination of new tan-colored ceramic tiles and berber rug. The living room has a very comfortable sleeper sofa and 2 easy chairs. The sliding glass doors with vertical blinds take up the entire wall in the living room and bedroom, and you can even see the lake and the boats from the bed closest to the window.

The kitchen is equipped with everything you could possibly need including a dishwasher. The spacious bathroom has been updated with bright lights, a big sink and a new toilet. Unfortunately, the old bathtub with pink tiles and glass doors was not included in the renovation. However, the new higher shower head, 2 safety bars and a bathmat are much appreciated.

So this was a very good experience. The only things that I did not like were the hard bed pillows (there are 2 softer ones in the walk-in closet), no space for a suitcase in the bedroom and the empty paper towel holder. If toilet paper and Kleenex are provided, the guests should not have to bring their own paper towels.

Will o'the Wisp also has a large indoor pool and free garage parking. The weekday rates are very reasonable, and there are no additional fees or discounts. Remember to request a renovated condo when you make the reservation.

Stayed: September 2009, traveled solo
Thank Eisbaer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2009

It can be pricey, but it is worth the money. Everything was very clean and there are lake views from nearly every room. My room had a full kitchen which was nice. The only possible problem was that the bathroom was upstairs. That was ok for me, but maybe some would have issues with that.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 17300Halton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2009

We had a family reunion at wil-o-wisp with about 50 people here in June 2009. Lake views from most rooms were very nice, most families liked their rooms but lots of steps to get to bathrooms in multi-level condos. This was an issue with the older generation who are now in their 80's.

Amenities - indoor pool was clean and unique in its two circles attached. Our children used the pool quite a bit. The hot tub was closed when were there for maintenance, but the sauna was clean and the workout room looked fine. The adult male and kids loved the free ping pong and racketball court. Someone rented a boat nearby for tubing and that was fun.

We were the only ones that stayed in a cottage next to main building which was ok, for 150 a night it was just two beds in one room and a tight sitting room and kitchen. It was adequate as the bathroom but not fancy at all. This was a less expensive option than in the condos (approx 200 per night) but views were blocked by trees which was explained to us. We did not spend much time there as we were to bond with relatives. Cottages were 70's panneling but clean and beds comfortable (not great). Bathroom tired but clean, water pressure could be better but we lived.

The units were all condos and each level was connected so you could have a 3 bedroom 3 level unit. The big draw back was there was no unit big enough for 20+ people to hang out in. They did have a "guest game room" you could reserve (we did the last day for a church service) that would have been good for the general hang out but the grandparent group likes to be in their own units with access to snacks and beverages so we moved from unit to unit and spent lots of time socializing in the hall.

Over all it was a nice resort and we had a great reunion. The staff was very helpful to us. Two groups tried to go to smaller sizes or cancel when there were medical issues and people could not come but they did not accomidate since the units are privately owned and they expected the rent for this time period. The group thought thisresort was a bit pricy and they required a 3 night minimum which we did not need/want.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Momstertraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2009

I stayed in the loft room #8 and was very impressed with the condo! I was very clean with a great view. The kitchen was complete with a coffee maker and coffee. There were spiral stairs to the loft which just included the bedroom, but the view was great. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. No fireplace, but that's fine because it was summer.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank linny1173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2009

We stayed at this resort mid-week, Monday through Friday. Some of the reviews here had me worried but we had no problems at all. The staff were friendly and very helpful to guide us to the area's attractions. Each condo unit is individually owned. Ours was a little dated but was VERY clean and comfortable. The balcony had nice views of Deep Creek Lake and had a chaise lounge and small table with two chairs.

The resort's amenities were great! A warm indoor pool, two level hot tub, game room, exercise room, racquetball court aside from being right on the water! The kids were always entertained!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakland
3.4 mi away
The Lodges at Sunset Village
0.5 mi away
Inn At Deep Creek
Inn At Deep Creek
#1 of 3 in Oakland
301 reviews
0.6 mi away
Suites at Silver Tree
Suites at Silver Tree
#1 of 3 in Oakland
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Lake Pointe Inn
Lake Pointe Inn
#1 of 2 in McHenry
239 reviews
7.8 mi away
Oakland Motel
Oakland Motel
#3 of 3 in Oakland
9 reviews
1.7 mi away
Carmel Cove Inn at Deep Creek Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Will O' the Wisp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Will O' the Wisp

Address: 20160 Garrett Hwy, Oakland, MD 21550-7133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Garrett County > Oakland
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Oakland
Price Range: $50 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Will O' The Wisp is the premier condominium resort at Deep Creek Lake. The private pool. sandy beach, and enjoyable onsite dining will make you want to take a second vacation! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Will o` The Wisp Hotel Oakland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing