We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and Comfortable”
Review of Inn At Deep Creek

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn At Deep Creek
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

The Inn has come in handy twice when we've needed them, once when a day trip turned into and overnight stay and most recently our camping trip was rained out halfway through the weekend. On both occasions the staff could not have been more accommodating and our rooms (2 adults) were under $200.00. The rooms are clean and updated, free wireless and a convenient location.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scf211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (310)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 310 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2012

OK, so you are in the country. Casual (but responsive) customer service. Dog friendly in every way. Spotlessly clean, and while not fancy, obviously newly renovated. Beds are comfortable. We will return for sure!! The only (minor) disappointment is that, at 7:30AM, there was no continental breakfast. We ended up walking elsewhere.

Room Tip: We only saw the Double Queen Fire Place room. Three adults slept in two beautiful queen beds and o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Very pleased with our stay. The rooms were clean and spacious.
Staff is warm and friendly. The Innkeeper Sheri Lokey-Kresky went out of her way
to ensure our comfort. They even have IPads available for guest use.
This will always be my hotel of choice when traveling to Deep Creek Lake!

Room Tip: A-Frame room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorenza98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

This was our first vacation at a Tan property. The pictures we saw lead us to believe we would have a couch in our room; we also thought we would have a stove. When we arrived and checked in the person at the desk had very poor customer service skills. Our room was very clean and we were close to all the attractions. Overall it is a very nice place to stay with a few improvements it could be even better.

Room Tip: Try for rooms on lower level, they were recently remodled. I would reccommend requestiong the back s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Regina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

As a Tan property rental this unit was well worth the money. The location is convenient to all Deep Creek activities and restaurants. The large deck area is very nice, access to the lake is convenient, the grills are nice to have and we enjoyed the fire pit. The room was comfortable as we're the beds. The kitchenette was nice, but there is no counter space at all. Biggest problem the room was dark, not enough lighting. The grounds were well maintained, but little things were often ignored. The staff was competent, but no one went out of their way to be friendly or helpful. Overall it was a nice Inn, but nothing spectacular, and it could be with just a few improvements and a little more effort.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back are out of afternoon sun and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

With a "4-1/2" Trip Advisor rating and a $200 a night rate, I had very high expectations. I was quite disappointed. It is apparent that an effort is underway to make improvements, but they have a long way to go.

I traveled with a party of four, we were in need of three separate beds. The 2 queen beds were fine, the pull out sleeper sofa was not comfortable. We put cushions from the couch underneath the mattress. The air conditioning unit for the room is dated and was very loud when running.

The bathroom was the worst. It was very small, 5' x 7'. The tub, toilet and vanity were all in the same small room. The sink/vanity was only 24" wide, there was no space to keep toiletries out. There was only one small towel rack. For a room that could sleep 6? The floor underlay peeks out where the linoleum was not properly installed. There is a nasty looking grate on the wall. Pine molding that was used around the tub appears worn and dirty. The bathroom shown on the website is not similar to the one that is in 201.

The entrance to the room reminded me of a budget motel. We were greeted by dead gnats and spider webs. The indoor/outdoor carpeting has pulled away from the threshold. The windows look filthy, but are actually foggy.

One corner of the property is lakefront. Few rooms actually have a lake view. Our room on the front side of the building overlooked the parking lot and the street.

I think the pictures I have posted speak for themselves.

There were nice, new appliances, and a clean ceramic tile floor in the adequately stocked kitchenette (although the walls in our's could have used a good washing). The furniture was new and had lots of storage. The main room is nice sized. The pool was a standard hotel pool. The patio area had nice outdoor furniture, grills and a fire pit. The Deep Creek area is awesome.

I did not complain to management as we were only there for a few days and we booked the room at a much lower rate through a travel club. We "made do" by spending as little time as possible in the room. We also purchased a makeup mirror and set it up on a table in the main room so that the ladies could get ready while the guys showered. There is only one mirror in the room and it is in the bathroom.

Next year I will look at checking into the chain budget hotel down the street.

I strongly disagree with the 4 1/2 rating given to the Inn at Deep Creek.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Marcie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Our first visit to Deep Creek and we had a wonderful time! The Inn was very nice and staff were nice too. Room was clean, quiet and comfortable. Kitchenette was a bonus with our leftovers from Archie's barbeque (yummy place to eat). We also enjoyed eating outside at the picnic table on the deck with the lake view. We would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank okiedokie_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakland
3.8 mi away
The Lodges at Sunset Village
14.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hazelton/Bruceton Mills
17.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 2 in Grantsville
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Suites at Silver Tree
Suites at Silver Tree
#1 of 3 in Oakland
112 reviews
23.7 mi away
Nemacolin Woodlands Resort
7.3 mi away
Oakland Motel
Oakland Motel
#3 of 3 in Oakland
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn At Deep Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn At Deep Creek

Address: 19638 Garrett Hwy, Oakland, MD 21550-7118
Location: United States > Maryland > Garrett County > Oakland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Oakland
Price Range: $139 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn At Deep Creek 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Other hotel features include a large grilling area with picnic tables and grills, a large outdoor heated pool (available May through September), a private beach and dock (can only park boat during day), and a 2nd-floor community balcony with gorgeous views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Inn At Deep Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Deep Creek Hotel Oakland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing