We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Boardroom Motel

Boardroom Motel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oakland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Boardroom Motel
Save
You added Boardroom Motel to your Saves list
Ranked #5 of 6 Oakland B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disgusting”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I was with my team traveling for a soccer tornument in west virginia. When I got to the motel it looked sketchy from first sight. The first night I stayed everything was fine, although my teamate a few rooms down said he had stains on his bed sheets. The next day I got new towels, and only one large towell was clean. Every other towell had stains all over or instead of being white, the towell was brown. My room often smelled like smoke (I am not a smoker). A buddy in another room had his heater catch on fire. Smoke started coming out and sparks were spewing from the vent. Luckily he unplugged it before anything tragic happened. Bottom line, DON'T GO. Worst motel I've ever been to. The Mexican was good though, that was really the only plus side to staying in the board room.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stud1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    2
    1
    4
    2
See reviews for
3
3
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beacon, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Exhausted from driving 7 hours, we were approaching Oakland, Maryland and started searching and calling motels, inns, etc. Everywhere we called we were rebuffed with our dog! Finally, called the Boardroom and they said yes. What a mistake. Inexpensive but that should have warned us. $55 for us. $25 for the dog. On a huge strip mall in an ugly section of the town. No ice machines. You have to go next door to the Mexican restaurant with your ice bucket. Two double beds, bedspreads questionable (took off, obviously), carpet questionable (couldn't pull that up!), basically the whole place really, really questionable. The only reason we stayed was the hour and our exhaustion. A real dive. Don't go!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rosemary p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oakland hotels

Westville, Indiana
Level Contributor
123 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We got into town late @ 9:30 pm and almost all motels were taken. We found this one and called the number on the door since they had left for the night. He came in a timely manner and we got two doubles, flat screen TV, very big bathroom. Microwave and small fridge. All in all a nice place. We paid $80 which was better than Comfort Inn up the road or Oak-Mar closer to town. I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed on bottom in middle and had no noise problems at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank acm32068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garrett
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

I stay in Oakland all the time and at several diffrent places. The Boardroom Motel has always treated me well and they do eveything to accomadate my traveling needs. I have read the other commets on here and all I can say is there are some bad customers out there and maybe these sites should check them out before they allow them to post info without the whole story. My opion is that it is a great place!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ERAE72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

I stayed there with my boyfriend while he was working.. while he was at work I would stay in the room the woman would not collect the garbage or bring us clean towels. Everytime I went to the desk it was closed and there was no one to be found. I wouldn't reccomend it. The rooms are little and the service sucked. The only good part is the Mexican restaurant next door. And they never have any parking. So good luck if you stay there they need new employees.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluit01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

I come to Oakland, Md. every couple of months for bussiness and have stayed at all the local motels in the last couple of years. I spend 14 days of a month on the road staying in little motels like this one. I think this motel is above standards and for as cheap the rates are you can't get any better. The rooms are simple and clean and the staff is always welcoming...even during the worst snow storm I was caught in last January. I drove a extra 40 miles to get to this motel, because everyone else was closed. The lot was cleared and the room was warm and waiting for me. There is one more thing I need to add. You've got to try the Mexican food connected to the motel. Good Food.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry1415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

Needed an inexpensive room in town but near everything and found it at the board room. Best rates in Oakland (that i could find). Friendly employees, clean rooms, comfy bed. Next time in Oakland i will stay there for sure !

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gashband
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakland
9.7 mi away
The Lodges at Sunset Village
17.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hazelton/Bruceton Mills
24.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 2 in Grantsville
3.5 of 5 stars 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Inn At Deep Creek
Inn At Deep Creek
#1 of 3 in Oakland
4.0 of 5 stars 273 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Garrett Inn
The Garrett Inn
#1 of 6 in Oakland
4.5 of 5 stars 54 reviews
9.6 mi away
Wisp Resort Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boardroom Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boardroom Motel

Property: Boardroom Motel
Address: 12678 Garrett Hwy, Oakland, MD 21550-1160
Location: United States > Maryland > Garrett County > Oakland
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Oakland
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing