We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nature at its best!”

Swallow Falls State Park
Ranked #1 of 19 things to do in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: State park that has three waterfalls and many hiking trails.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
199 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Nature at its best!”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Our first visit to Swallow Falls on a sunny 4th of July morning. The light streaming thru the trees followed us on our walk. We enjoyed stopping by and taking photos of the many water falls and rock formations. Swallow Falls at the end of the trail is a nice waterfall .. not Niagara, but pretty in its own right! Many downed trees in the area. Lakeside Creamery icecream truck awaits in the parking lot after your walk. We were happy to see it because the icrecream shop in town was packed everytime we tried to stop by. I'd pay the $5 entry fee again to enjoy God's beauty!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beach Bum Woman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    370
    96
    14
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Family with all the kids annual visit”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Wait and after the rain ends the place is all yours, water levels are important as the more water the more current.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MacChuckle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seven Corners, Virginia
Level Contributor
588 reviews
171 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Crowded and not much to see”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The place was totally packed on the 4th of July weekend. You pay $3/person for MD residents and $5/person for out of state guests. There's really only one good looking waterfall there, the rest are class 4 rapids at best. We've witnessed kids paddle boarding through them. Hiking trails also leaves much to be desired. Recent inclement weather uprooted and broke a lot of trees and, while all of them were moved out of the way, visual beauty of the park is greatly diminished. Overall, it's a nice short stroll, no more no less.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Seth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
82 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Must see”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

If you are vacationing in Deep Creek Lake, you must travel to Swallow Falls State Park, great walking trails, water falls, park rangers are very helpful

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank dsbru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC Suburb
Level Contributor
84 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“No pets!?! Really...”
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Very dissapopinted we had to take the path less traveled outside of the park because we had our dog.
This path was very muddy, long, and did not keep interest of our kids....after 1.5 it lead no where and we turned around. Toured the campground for potential future stay, and it was a no go....very primitive with very few electric sites, wld not work for our RV.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank CoCoMocha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swallow Falls State Park also viewed

Accident, Garrett County
 
McHenry, Garrett County
 

Been to Swallow Falls State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing