We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big, beautiful lake”

Deep Creek Lake State Park
Ranked #2 of 19 things to do in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A great spot for water skiing, boating, hiking and swimming.
Arlington, Va
Level Contributor
92 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Big, beautiful lake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

The lake is much larger than we thought and there were a ton of people enjoying water sports. Maybe too many boats for my liking. We found the public beach which was lovely, clean and plenty of parking.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank SpaGirl54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    63
    15
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clarksville,MD
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very Pretty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

Loved the area and the lake was pretty. We only had a few days so did not do any water activities in the lake.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank okiedokie_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckhannon, West Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

Had motel on lake, actually condo would wake up every morning to serenity. Accomodations were beyond my expectations

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank mewchw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
161 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Beautiful lake but not much shopping”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

If you love to eat and shop on your vacation then you don't want to visit Deep Creek Lake - visit her to relax only! There are no big chain restaurants or coffee shops. You'll need to eat at the local restaurants or UNOs, Subway, or McDonalds. Be sure to visit Swallow Falls and Wisp. Wisp has a fun Mountain Coaster and White Water Rafting facility.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Reunion at the Lake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

This was a beautiful place to have a family gathering. We really had a GREAT time. You have a very beautiful state.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Martha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Deep Creek Lake State Park also viewed

Accident, Garrett County
 
McHenry, Garrett County
 

Been to Deep Creek Lake State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing