We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food good could use a good cleaning”
Review of The Harp Restaurant & Catering - CLOSED

The Harp Restaurant & Catering
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: An American restaurant with an Irish Slainte. The Harp Restaurant serves classic American and Maryland style dining mixed with traditional Irish cuisine. Don't let our facade fool you ... our interior decor is upscale yet cozy. A great place for a date night. We also boast Perry Hall's largest Sports Bar. A classic Irish design with a huge bar imported from Ireland. TV's surround the bar, and additional TV's face our bar booths that are intimate and inviting. We have weekend events, including live entertainment; DJ's, Karaoke Night, Live Bands, and more. Check out our calendar for what's happening at The Harp.
Reviewed August 22, 2014

Dark and clubby. Shows more of a nightclub and not a restaurant. Needs brightened up and scrubbed! Back room very tiny for a birthday party and food very slow to arrive.

Thank billy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy S, General Manager at The Harp Restaurant & Catering, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2014

We're happy to hear you enjoyed our food options, but we are going to look into a few of your suggestions. Providing an atmosphere that all of our customers enjoy is incredibly important to us and we place that priority at the top of our list. As well, we feel friendly and speedy service is just as important as providing high-quality food options. We thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience with us and we hope you will give us another shot in the future. Best, Patrick (manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (83)
There are newer reviews for The Harp Restaurant & Catering
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 52 of 83 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2014

Went to the Harp on a recommendation from a friend. Was pleasantly surprised to find the host/hostess station well maintained and with a friendly welcome. We were seated promptly, on a late Saturday Afternoon in a booth, as was our choice, in the dinning area. Quick and attentive service by our waitress Shannon L. Frozen toasted almond and a large cold draught Harp quenched our thirst. Chips with french onion dip were placed on the table - nice touch. Food was great. Traditional Reuben, and crab imperial, too full for desert :-). Clientele was across the spectrum of ages and backgrounds. Nice casual atmosphere. Visited at the booth by the owner and the general manager - quick stop by to see how things were. Nice touch and not intrusive. Upon our exit, we went through the sports bar area. It looked very well maintained with plenty of Flat Screens and seating. The dinner crowd was starting to converge on the establishment, and it looked .like it was going to be a busy night. Easy to find off of the Baltimore Beltway via Route 7, but it is a left hand exit, sometimes a little tricky. My only complaint : would like to see 'champ' or 'colcannon' on the menu to give it a little more of a traditional Irish pub feel... Will definitely be back for a return visit...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Joe-Traveler-md
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy S, General Manager at The Harp Restaurant & Catering, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2014

Thank you for the kind words! We work very hard to provide our customers with a great experience, including top quality food options and amazing service. We are happy to hear you had a great time appreciate the compliments to your waitress. We'll be sure to let her know you were singing her praises. Additionally, we'll take your "champ"/"colcannon" suggestion into consideration! We hope to see you again soon! Best, Patrick (manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2014

I have eaten numerous times at the Harp. Wonderful food and great half and half crab soup. Nothing bad on the menu. That being said went there for an art event, we were the first table in the entire place. Ordered our food.. More tables filled up, no food. Almost the entire restaurant was full, no food, no waitress. Manager came and told us they were busy. Still no food, except everyone around us being served. We were told to take our food while we paint, but the food wasn't in front of us yet. Finally after 45 mins it came, but oops, 5 of us only 4 had their order. And all the orders were wrong, wrong dressing, onions instead of none, plop of chicken on plate instead of a sandwich. That all being said, finally after 4 times trying to get it straight we were comped the meal, which 2 of us didn't eat because we couldn't save it for 2 1/2 hrs. The manager finally made good but it was a fight not an easy transition. Beware if they are crowded is all I'm saying.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Swils0n57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy S, General Manager at The Harp Restaurant & Catering, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2014

While we're glad we could help you resolve your issue, we are deeply concerned about your experience with us. We thank you for the kind words but we will be taking a closer look at the way we handle our crowds to address your concerns. We appreciate you taking the time to leave this review and help us improve in the future. We hope to see you again soon. Best, Patrick (manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

We went here for a dinner with our Ladies Club. I have to say, it was really nice. The food was fantastic. Service was top notch. I got the seafood club. It was awesome!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy S, Manager at The Harp Restaurant & Catering, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

The seafood club is definitely a menu favorite, Kathy, and we're glad to hear you enjoyed it! Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review. We appreciate the kind words and we hope to see you again real soon! Best, Patrick (Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Good atmosphere, timely service, good service and food. Crab cake is of medium quality so was the steak.

Thank EdShafik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy S, Owner at The Harp Restaurant & Catering, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Thanks for the wonderful review! We're glad you enjoyed your visit and to that end, we will definitely take a closer look as some of your concerns and take them under consideration. Thank you for taking the time to tell us your thoughts and we look forward to seeing you again! Best, Patrick (Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Harp Restaurant & Catering also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing