We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loud, relaxed and yummy...”
Review of Woody's Crab House

Woody's Crab House
Ranked #1 of 46 Restaurants in North East
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Elkton, Maryland
Level Contributor
247 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Loud, relaxed and yummy...”
Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

A favorite place to bring out-of-towners. Peanuts to snack on with shells brushed on the ground give Woodys a relaxed, homey feel. Crab bisque with a splash of sherry is a must every time. Iceberg wedge is zesty. I love the fried clams, crab cakes, and surf and turf.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mpfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    317
    224
    80
    30
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Estero, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“best little secret off I95”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

as we entered the restaurant, we were warmly welcomed and seated right away. Angela, our waitress first informed us that there was a new trainee named, Joe, with her. We responded that we were the right customers for his task....we have patience and time. The Chesapeake Blue Crabs were still too early in season for us to order so we had 2 appetizers, oysters trio and coconut shrimp. They were both delicious and tasty. then we each ordered a tuna and mahi sandwiches They were both made to our specifications. They came hot with their famous freshly made fries and lots of side condiments. Angela and Joe kept coming back and checking to see if everything was fine. It was a rainy day, so we were contemplating on ordering some soup, but we were too full. Angela recommended the Maryland Crab Chowder, so we ordered a takeout. The next day we had it for lunch......very tasty and delightful with their secret seasoning. We want to make a special trip when the blue crabs are in season.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Connie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Overpriced, overated...”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Overpriced, overated....many other restaurants in North East that are better. Food is mediocre and overpriced. The locals go elsewhere and so should you!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pattirose52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Delaware
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent Crab Bisque”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Fred, the manager, is a great asset to this establishment. I could not decide between the Maryland Crab Stew and the Crab Bisque so he brought me a bowl of each to taste! I ordered the crab bisque and it was great. My friend had the seafood nachos which were out-of-this-world while my husband had the crab patter platter (delish). Also, we wanted to watch a basketball game that was not on the TV in the bar so Fred graciously moved us to a back room with a TV and turned the game on for us. He was terrific but our waitress, Sol, was a bit too sarcastic. She needs an attitude change if she plans to keep working with the public. i will certainly be back to Woodys and would highly recommend it .

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 220Molly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Could not be any Fresher”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

This place is just fun fun fun. The seafood was so fresh and wonderful tasty and I thought rather cheaply priced butt he quality was good.My husband and friend had a crabby melted they said it was super good.I had the twin Cold water Lobster tails they were wonderful and it is hard to find cold water tails in a restaurant. It was a long drive for us but I am thinking about going back again this week I think it was 2 hrs. But the ride just gave me a chance to get hungry for the sweet seafood. Please go check them out.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susanreading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Woody's Crab House also viewed

 

Been to Woody's Crab House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing