We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pulled no punches”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western North East Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in North East
Washington, DC
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Pulled no punches”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I find Best Westerns, overall, reliable. That is true with this particular BW. I oftentimes book online, but this time I decided to phone in my reservation. This BW allows smoking and I wanted to know the particulars on that. I prefer not to breathe in second-hand smoke and my six-year old is considered "Pre-Asthmatic." The gal I spoke with offered to put us in a room at the most remote location. I decided to give it a try. I am hyper-sensitive to smoke and didn't detect a trace indoors.
This was a surprise trip for my son during Spring break. The priority was a pool. This particular BW has very generous pool hours; 9am-10pm. That is good to know for families who really "need" that energy burner. The pool was heated and a decent size. There was also a hot tub.
The room was clean and provided the amenities I wanted. I confess, however, the room coffee was the absolute WORST I have ever had. Our mattress was a bit uncomfortable, but not unbearably so for us.
Breakfast at this BW was all right. Coffee, (better than the room, but barely) juice, yogurt, old-ish fruit, assorted breads, scrambled eggs, sausages (scrapple one day) and as another stated, very good freshly made waffles. The attendant at the breakfast area was extremely pleasant. I also noticed another gentleman who seemed to be an all-around worker. I noticed this gentleman take care of the pool, sweep floors and fix holes in the wall. I admire and like seeing this kind of attention to one's job. It shows pride and it made me feel like I was in an establishment where the staff truly cared about "their" hotel.
Upon check-out we were referred to the Herr's Factory for a tour. Check it out if you find yourself in the area.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 427 and the sunrise was spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank happythreesome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    85
    36
    17
    14
See reviews for
107
78
19
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Willow Grove, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I stayed in this hotel recently for a business trip that involved 2 overnights. We needed a meeting room and the staff accomodated us with everything necessary PLUS great personal attention. We needed 5 rooms for staff for the time frame and EVERYONE loved the helpful, courteous hotel staff. Clean rooms, great personal service - who could ask for more!

Room Tip: Ask the staff for whatever personal needs you have to be met - they will accomodate!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erwin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

The smell of Lysol was so overwhelming it hurt the nostrils - it was like they were trying to clean up a crime scene,not clean a hotel room. The mattresses were OLD, sagging, unsupportive, and should have replaced long ago. Pet-friendly is one thing, but feeding stray cats at the frong entrance is a little classless. Speaking of pet friendly, that lysol smell would have been torture for a dog, it was certainly torture for me.
And 'breakfast' is a joke.
The front desk lady recommended the Chinese take-out place across the road - I'd avoid that place as well.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Helpful?
2 Thank BHarv_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 22, 2013

On top of a beautifully appointed Pet Friendly room at a very attractive, affordable price, we were delighted to be greeted happily by the "Breakfast Lady". She was extremely pleasant and also helped make the best Belgian Waffles ever. Nice personal touch, Thank You.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James M A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield
2 reviews
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We have been staying here the last few times we've gone up to visit family in PA.
The hotel is very clean, the staff couldn't be any friendlier and it's very quiet. All in
all a good place to stay and a great value. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank MARYANNE E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North East
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North East
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in North East
149 reviews
6.7 mi away
Days Inn Perryville
Days Inn Perryville
#1 of 2 in Perryville
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Elkton
Hampton Inn Elkton
#2 of 8 in Elkton
333 reviews
8.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Newark - Elkton
14.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn - Aberdeen
Red Roof Inn - Aberdeen
#4 of 16 in Aberdeen
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western North East Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western North East Inn

Property: Best Western North East Inn
Address: 39 Elwoods Rd, North East, MD 21901-1805
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > North East
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in North East
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western North East Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN North East Inn! Chesapeake Bay is minutes from this North East hotel, which is a favorite for newlyweds because of the nearby wedding spaces. North East, MD hotels are a choice spot for weddings and we are located 50 miles from Baltimore and Philadelphia. There's also the Cecil County Dragway nearby as well as some world class golf. Located near golf courses, R&R is a major perk of staying with us. A variety of outdoor activities like jogging, sailing, biking and fishing are at your fingertips. Our pet-friendly North East hotel has received the Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence, partly due to our location right off I-95 and right near Chesapeake Bay. The Fairhill International, renowned for equine events and shows as well as the racetrack, attracts travelers from around the country. There are also a number of business travelers who depend on our hotel to provide the right amenities and accommodations for longer stays. Near IKEA(R) and close to the Aberdeen Proving Ground, we happily offer the best rates for extended stays. Whether it's the Ritchie Brothers Auctioneers(R) that bring you to town or an event at Cecil College or West Nottingham Academy, our friendly staff will go above and beyond to make your stay special. Guests are less than 10 miles from Principio Iron Works and WL Gore & Associates. Head to the Turkey Point Light House or the old covered bridge for a real treat. The Plumpton Park Zoo is a must for families. Enjoy an indoor swimming pool and hot tub, and take advantage of the fitness center to stay on your workout track. There's free wireless or wired Internet in all rooms and suites, as well as an awesome, friendly staff. A complimentary full breakfast is served daily, even though this is not a full service hotel. Guest laundry, business services, cable televisions with Showtime and a meeting room that accommodates up to 40. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western North East Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western North East Hotel North East
North East Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing