We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as it used to be but still ok.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North East
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in North East
Morrisville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
105 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Not as good as it used to be but still ok.”
Reviewed June 12, 2010

I've stayed at this location approximately 8 times over the last five years. Sadly, the things that I raved about in an earlier review have not held steady. The rooms are showing wear and it appears that only the minimum has been done to maintain rooms. The breakfast room is still very nice and clean. The staff is pleasant.

I wouldn't vacation here but for an overnight to/from someplace, it is fine. The beds are getting a little too soft and it is now just an average hotel vs. its performance 5 years ago. For the quality offered, it does seem to be a bit overpriced.

Too bad, as it has the potential to be a winner in the brand.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amm925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    29
    16
    10
    9
See reviews for
28
22
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2010

I am a gold status priority club member and stay in the express chain approx 25 nights a year. This was by far the most disappointed I have been. The room was dirty, the drapes were falling down, the sheets were scratchy, and the bathroom was in very poor condition. They obviously have done the bare minimum to mauntain there Holiday Inn franchise, but this one has to go. Better off at other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allin6868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2009

My husband suffers from back problems and upon our arrival, he went straight to bed. I unpacked the car and then went into the bathroom where there was used soap and shampoo in the tub. I was very nice to front desk and they apologized. I picked up the items and since we had everything in the room for a 3 night visit and husband was suffering, we did not want to change rooms. I travel with clorox so I freshened the bathroom. The next day, we left the hotel a few minutes past 11:00 AM . Our room was never cleaned that day, and front desk said there was a note from cleaning person that said "Do Not Disturb" sign was on the door. The sign was NOTon the door, in fact, it was on the inside of the room , where we left it. We received no more apologies, no cleaning service and management refused to refund any money whatsoever. Needless to say, we left a day early and will never go back.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janbo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
197 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2009

Not set very far back from semi main road. Hear cars all night, heating unit was loud and didnt seem to work right. Also about midnight someone was running a large vacuum or steam cleaner. Could hear tv in other rooms. Honestly couldnt have been much worse for noise. Breakfast was ok. decent selection. Price was nice but when you get a great price you also get the people who have no respect for others

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IsupportRonPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2008

I frequently travel up the I-95 corridor for buisness and usually stay at Holiday Inn Express because they are terrific. Don't get me wrong, this hotel has everthing you need. Its newly renovated, granite in bathroom, clean, nice beds and if you get a free hotel discount book from the "Flying J's" gas station before you get there you can get a room for 89.99 a night.

HERE'S THE HUGE PROBLEM: It sits between two highways that are so loud I didn't sleep the whole night. At about 3AM I was considering asksing for a refund and leaving. DO NOT STAY HERE if you can't sleep through ALOT of noise (trucks, cars, sirens). Also, they do not have light-controlled drapes, so you wake up feeling like you just slept on the highway with the light beeming into your eyes.

I will never stay here again and its unfortunate because the hotel itself is physically one of the nicest Express's I have ever stayed at.

Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank katiekaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2008

I didn't expect much from this place being a Holiday Inn Express, and I was not disappointed. It had all the essentials and was clean. It looked budget, felt budget but priced accordingly. But again, everything was clean. The beds are your standard hotel bed but felt fine. No lumps. The room smelled like a generic hotel (if you know what I mean) but at least no foul odors of any sort. I was pleased that the a/c-heater kept the room at a comfortable temperature. Though it was a bit loud, I wasn't surprised as those types are always loud. Nevertheless, I slept through the night just fine.

Breakfast is included which is a nice bonus. Nothing special but way better than the blah cold cereal and hard bagels or prepackaged muffins that are nasty at other places with a free breakfast. There were hot foods like eggs and sausages (bacon was all gone by the time I got there) and you could toast the breads. For a free breakfast, I'd say it was pretty awesome with the variety of foods and beverages as well as there being actual real food that was hot. It was also well-stocked. There were also sweet items like muffins and I think danishes too. Considering the uniformity of the eggs and sausage, they were probably all frozen/prepackaged and shipped to the hotel for reheating, but they tasted pretty good. Plenty of tables to choose from and if you sit by the windows, you can look at the shimmering blue water of the pool.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, free breakfast
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank domotofu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2008

C/I was simple and quick. I had requested early C/I and this was granted.

Room was clean, in good repair and very large.

Pool was clean. A little on the small side but nice loungers with tables and umbrellas. All in good repair.

"Breakfast" room was large and flooded with natural light. Very nice. Also overlooks pool.

We will book here again when visiting the area.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OBXBum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North East
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in North East
148 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western North East Inn
6.5 mi away
Days Inn Perryville
Days Inn Perryville
#1 of 2 in Perryville
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Elkton
Hampton Inn Elkton
#2 of 8 in Elkton
324 reviews
8.0 mi away
No photo provided
8.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Elkton - Newark S. - UD Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North East

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North East
Address: 101 Hotel Plz, North East, MD 21901-2304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > North East
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in North East
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites, North East, MD is located on the north end of town only 1/2 mile from Interstate 95. Positioned in the heart of the North Eastern Maryland, our award-winning hotel offers 71 over sized rooms including 22 suites. With focus on both the business & leisure traveler, we offer amenities for everyone. Our hotel offers and outdoor heated pool with whirlpool, fitness facility, 24 HR business center, microwaves, refrigerators and the Complimentary Express Start breakfast with hot items. We are an ideal location to hold your seminars, meetings or just an overnight trip to visit our quaint town of North East. The town streets are lined with antique and novelty shoppes. Enjoy golf, hiking or boating nearby. Relax in our beautifully decorated king and queen suites. When your day is complete relax in our Grand Room or prepare for an excellent dining experience in one of the nearby restaurants. Only 2 miles from the North East Historic District, you can enjoy many local eateries such as Woodys Crab House, Steak and Main & many other restaurants. along with museums, galleries and antique shops. Within 10 minutes of the town of Elkton and many chain restaurants. Our friendly, professional staff will welcome you and provide exceptional service during your visit. Let us accommodate you and remember Kids Stay Free. Play hard and Stay Smart with the Holiday Inn Express & Suites, North East, MD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites North East
Holiday Inn North East
North East Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing