We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Review Highlights
Park is closed until further notice due to tornado damage on Thursday, June 13, 2019.

Please read this article for all the details... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
FrugalMDMom
Family visit

The playground was nice, although it could have had more kids amenities. The beach was nice, even... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Angel E
via mobile
Read all 235 reviews
  
Reviews (235)
Filter reviews
235 results
Traveler rating
106
91
28
4
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
106
91
28
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews light house chesapeake bay turkey point lighthouse east beach camp store nice hike mile hike campground area lots of hiking trails view of the bay bird watching camp host porta potties easy hike day trip bald eagles cliffs
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 235 reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2019 via mobile

Great place to visit. Lots of hiking trails. Very beautiful and peaceful. Little beach is fun for the kids. Will definitely be back.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Inkey72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2019

We are locals. My husband and I (retired) have been enjoying the beautiful walk along the trail to the lighthouse in Elk Neck State Park for many years--I especially like the scenic view of the Chesapeake Bay and bird watching. I am happy that Spring has arrived so we can begin the 2019 season.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Betty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2019

Great place to unwind. Clear paths for easy walking.. Beautiful views . Pleanty of wildlife.. Bald eagles are my favorite

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Dennis O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2019

There is a about a mile walk to the Turkey Point Lighthouse but it is beautiful atop the cliff overlooking the bay. The land for the park was donated in 1936 by a Dr Abbott and the park was improved by the CCC from 1937. It was cold and windy the day we visited but well worth the view.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Kyle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2019

There are great scenic views of the Chesapeake Bay while walking the trail to the lighthouse and even better scenic views once you get there. It’s a dirt/gravel parking lot and then nearly a mile long trail near the bay to get to the lighthouse. There’s the lighthouse and some sort of oil or pump room next to the light house once you get there. The lighthouse dates back to 1834 or around that time period. The lighthouse was closed the last week of December when were there and the small gift shop was also closed. The reason you go there is for the view of the Chesapeake bay from high above the bay but tell children to be very careful because the cliffs just drop off into the bay below. There used to be a keepers house up there but that is now gone. The park was used as a filming location for the 1997 Clint Eastwood movie Absolute Power. Also there was hunting going on near the park because the parking lot is also used for hunters I believe. The ranger said it was highly unlikely we would be shot at.

Date of experience: December 2018
2  Thank ephyfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews