We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Feels like we get to come home every year.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North East
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sandy Cove Ministries
Certificate of Excellence
Toms River, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Feels like we get to come home every year.”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I have been bringing my children to Sandy Cove since 2008. I am a single mom of 4 children and was fortunate to hear about Sandy Cove on the radio. We have time together as a family, and we have time apart from each other going to programs of our own. I get to spend a week with my children, without having to worry about cooking, etc. I get to relax, spend time with God and refuel myself. We get to see and become friends with families that we see each year we go. I started bringing my four children when they were 9, 7, 5 and 2. They are now 13, 11, 9 and 6. On the last day when we have to leave, all four of them start counting down until we get to come back. From the time we get off the main road and pull down Sandy Cove Road it is like coming home to family. You can feel life just come off of your shoulders as you relax. There are so many things to do each time we go. Every year I have gone, I have had the pleasure of wonderful speakers. The staff at Sandy Cove is unbelievable. Not once have I ever had a negative experience during my stay here. You cant go to a better place to spend your vacation. It is well worth the time together and all you get from the time you spend with family and friends. I hope to continue to take my family here year after year and start a legacy for my children to meet each year with their families. I LOVE THIS PLACE AND AM SO THANKFUL FOR ALL IT HAS DONE FOR ME AND MY FAMILY.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    14
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
86
27
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I just got back from the Shepherd's Mini Sabbatical at Sandy Cove. It was a great place to unplug and make yourself slow down. There were no TV's in the rooms but there was a TV Lounge near the lobby if you wanted to watch and a TV in the fitness room, and you also had free wi-fi. It was great walking around the property, sitting on Adirondack chairs and looking at the tranquil waters. It was too wet to play tennis, but just walking around was refreshing. I was there for 2 nights, which was just enough time for me to slow down, refresh, and seek direction for upcoming decisions. The price was VERY reasonable, especially since it also included 4 meals during my stay (all buffet style). The staff was friendly and very approachable.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank jtravels11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I have just returned from my 10th visit to Sandy Cove Ministries for the Crop Around the Clock event. I have to say that this facility is truly amazing and a place that I look forward to visiting every year. The event I attended was for scrapbooking, however they offer many events throughout the year as well as a miriad of programs for everyone. Regardless of the event that you attend, you will find a courteous and pleasant staff, a very clean facility, an absolutely beautiful setting on the water, good food and you will feel refreshed when you pull away. If you have an opportunity to attend an event I would definitely recommend it. I wish they were open more often for personal retreats as it would be a wonderful place to get away for a day or two just to unwind, however their availability seems to be more centered around events. This is not a fancy place, but you are not roughing it either. It is comfortable in every way and you will cherish the time there and be anxious to return.

Room Tip: We always stay in one of the bay front rooms. There is a small extra charge but it is worth it to o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bay611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We had a great time. Sometimes the best review is written after time has come and gone. I was reading a little book my 2nd grader wrote about himself a couple of weeks into school. Apparently, Sandy Cove is in a favorite place.
My 2-year old still prays for one of her teachers--by name.
These are just two lingering reflections of my children.
As a whole, there was something for each member of our family (toddler, elementary kids, teenager and adults). It was a beautiful location. The staff was wonderfully helpful and friendly. There was a variety of activities planned. The hardest part of picking what to do and what not to do--we couldn't do everything.
It was sad to leave. It became a little home. I hope we can go again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flipthelaundry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewartstown, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Our family vacation at Sandy Cove was amazing. The worship and seminars were soul satisfying. The facilities, staff and food were awesome. There is so much fun stuff to do. The time spent together was so special in a world of distractions. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darby A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed September 5, 2012

What an INCREDIBLE experience. My family was sponsored for the Labor Day weekend and it was an amazing time to reconnect with my 6 year old daughter. We had post-deployment "Mommy-Daughter" time! And, it was incredible. Those three days restored to us everything that we had missed in our nearly 8 month time apart. THANKs SO very much! This is a great place with great accomadations, great food, and place for great fellowship with other families and with GOD.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Our family weekend at Sandy Cove was one of the best vacations we have ever taken! The entire staff is very friendly and their message is so encouraging no matter where your walk with Christ is right now.

The activities are limitless and there is something for everyone from ziplines to parasailing to the Gaga pit. Our kids loved it as much as my husband and I did. We would definately go back!

If you're looking for a relaxing all inclusive vacation where you will be surrounded by other believers and genuinely good people this is the place to go!

Room Tip: Sign up online in advance for any activities that have tickets. Those who didn't had to wait in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AustinDianeV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North East
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North East
6.8 mi away
Best Western North East Inn
6.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in North East
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen - Chesapeake House
11.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen
2467.0 mi away
Tequendama Inn Estacion
Tequendama Inn Estacion
#10 of 10 in Buenaventura
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Cove Ministries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Cove Ministries

Property: Sandy Cove Ministries
Address: 60 Sandy Cove Rd, North East, MD 21901-5436
Location: United States > Maryland > North East
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in North East
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandy Cove Ministries is a year round Christian conference center in North East, Maryland. God has blessed Sandy Cove with an amazing 220 acres on the headwaters of the Chesapeake Bay...complete with gorgeous sunsets, eagles and ospreys! Visit Sandy Cove as a part of a group retreat, attend a Sandy Cove event or stay for a Personal Retreat. Many churches and organizations host their own weekend and week-long group retreats and meetings in our hotel-style facility. We offer all-inclusive packages - lodging, all-you-can-eat buffet meals, meeting rooms and activities. Planning a small staff retreat, attending a national conference or having a family reunion? We can accommodate rental groups up to 1000 or more! On any given weekend retreat guests come from New York City, Philadelphia, Lancaster, Baltimore, Washington DC, Richmond and everywhere in between! For groups looking for a central meeting location, they fly in from all over the U.S. Philadelphia and Baltimore airports are just an hour away. Sandy Cove programs special events throughout the year. We offer many women's events, couples getaways, pastors and ministry leaders' sabbaticals, a men's weekend retreat and seniors programs. Summer Family Camp is all about worshipping with other families on vacation...you'll find great speakers, fun activities for all ages, time to relax and time to play! The Marsh is our Christian summer day camp for kids. Personal Retreats are a way to treat yourself at your own pace as you take the time to talk to God. A Personal Retreat is a Bed & Breakfast stay - Sandy Cove style! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sandy Cove Ministries Hotel North East

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing