We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent food and nice outdoor seating with a little bit of a view”

Plaza Mexico Restaurant
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
New Market, Maryland, United States
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Decent food and nice outdoor seating with a little bit of a view”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

this is just like your neighborhood mexican place, you know, the place with the white cheese queso, service in 5 minutes tops, and unlimited chips and salsa.

The staff is very friendly and the service is quick. It is not the best Mexican food I have ever eaten but it is exactly what I expected having been to many local Mexican places just like this.

I enjoy eating outside on a nice evening. I have eaten here 4 or 5 times in the past three months.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    28
    13
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake Beach, Maryland, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“It is a Mexican restaurant”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I mean, that's all you can really say about the place. Typical Mexican decor, bland (yet not offensive) Mexican food, same menu as any of the other Mexican restaurants that have recently been showing up in droves across southern Maryland.

The family and I have gone here on half a dozen different occastions with always average food and service. I'm sure it'll do fine, since it is fast, inexpensive, and not bad, but there's nothing about that place that seperates it from the its competitors.

Our meals are typically better at lunch, and the portions are the same as dinner. So it's a better bet to go there early, in my experience. Can't really recommend anything in particular, although I usually get something with Mole sauce on it. Plaza's is satisfactory, not special.

Service generally tends to be OK. We went last night and our server forgot our sons Sprite and silverware, so I had to interrupt a conversation he was having with a coworker to remedy this. He also overcharged my wife for a beer by $2, as we should have been given the Happy Hour rate. He was quick to acknowledge and fix both mistakes, though. No harm, no foul, I suppose.

We go there because it's close and the kids enjoy the quesadillas, but I'd probably avoid it if something just a LITTLE bit better were in the beach.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Josh090578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake Beach, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Like it!!”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We enjoy going to Plaza Mexico. The food is always fresh, hot and tastes good. Have I had better Mexican food? Yes! For the area, this is nice. Love Stephanie who works the bar. She is always friendly, fast and helpful! Servers on the restaurant side have always been friendly and attentive.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scubagirl0627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“I'd Rather Go To Taco Bell”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Seriously. Give me a couple chalupas over this place any day. The atmosphere was typical of a Mexican restaurant and the server was very friendly and attentive. However, my food was terrible. The ground beef in my enchilada was dry and bland. The tortilla was stiff, like it was a few years old. The sauce was okay, but nothing to brag about, and the rice had no flavor whatsoever. Other people in my party said they enjoyed their meals, but I sure didn't.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takoma Park, Maryland, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Just okay”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We were excited to try this, as we've just moved to the area and really wanted a good local mexican restaurant. Unfortunately, the food is just average, not great. They have an enormous menu, and the food comes out really quick, so it's just not well prepared. The margaritas are standard. Really wanted to like it, but now we travel further out to Mexico Restaurant in Huntingtown, which is much better.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Terri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plaza Mexico Restaurant also viewed

North Beach, Calvert County
North Beach, Calvert County
 
Chesapeake Beach, Calvert County
Chesapeake Beach, Calvert County
 

Been to Plaza Mexico Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing