We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Actually Drove Home Instead of Sleeping in our Reserved Room” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Yellow Turtle Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Yellow Turtle Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 New Windsor B&B and Inns
College Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Actually Drove Home Instead of Sleeping in our Reserved Room”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

My wife and I love B&Bs. We understand about the realities of rustic historic houses. That being said, this place had a run-down feeling that made us leave even though we'd paid upfront. The grounds were full of decaying furniture and overgrown weeds, the interior was dusty and we actually walked through cobwebs. When we arrived there was a sign saying "You are checked in, see yourself to your room." We never saw an innkeeper but we did hear a TV going from behind a closed door. Our room (Bishop's Suite) didn't have a door separating the beds from the toilet! We also hadn't realized that the description of the room having a tub meant that it wouldn't have a shower. There were a bunch of Bibles and mentions of God throughout the inn as well, which made us uncomfortable. Based on the expired snacks left out, we didn't think it would be worth a night there to take our chances on the brunch. Only positives: A friendly outdoor cat and being located in a nice area with pretty rolling fields.

Room Tip: Bishop's Suite has no walls or door separating bathroom from rest of room. Also has no TV and no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sprager86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    3
    2
    3
    4
See reviews for
6
12
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Short weekend stay, wish I could have stayed longer. Marvelous brunch served at 10am, continental breakfast earlier. Inn is full of charm, interesting features throughout. Extremely comfortable bed, although it looked like it would be too soft. Free internet connection, but you had to move around to find the strongest signal. Do give this place a try!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Josephino O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianna
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

My husband and I love to travel to small towns and always stay at a B & B. We recently visited the Yellow Turtle Inn and made ourselves a wonderful memory. The home was at least 200 years old and you can feel it's history, It was like going back in time with the comforts of today.

We stayed in Queen's Sweet, it was a huge room decorated tastefully. My husband had roses waiting for me in the room and a bottle of champagne, he's such a romantic. It was actually 2 rooms and had a huge whirlpool tub that was full of baloons!! Our host, Joan, was very accomodating, she even brought dinner to our room. The breakfast was really good and the room we had it in was inviting and entertaining. We shared it with another couple and it felt like having brunch with long-time friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baytown
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Beware! This was the worst place that I have ever stayed. The yard and house was very cluttered and dirty. When we drove up we thought for sure this was NOT the correct address. The pictures are deceiving. In actuality, the paint is pealing off the house, the interior is cluttered, and the beds we slept in were old and lumpy. Breakfast is not much better. Muffins and donuts and a crockpot full of mysterious, mushy food. The only nice things to say about this B&B is that the owner is friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jody R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The pictures on the site are from 20 years ago, be careful. What you see is not what you get. Rooms are dirty, lawn is over grown. At best this deserves a rating of a 1. Don't book online, see it before you pay, because you will definitely lose your money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Marie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

My wife and I attended my sisters wedding here recently and felt compelled to respond to some of the negative reviews on this site. As another reviewer noted this is a 200 year old farmhouse. For an inn and B&B it is exactly what you would expect. Joan is a gracious host and the included breakfast is quite filling.
As far as the rooms, I can offer you some advice. The Bishops Suite is much darker than the rest of the rooms, good for those looking to sleep in as you can adjust the heavy curtains to sleep as late as you want. There were stink bugs (they don't bite) on the sills, but again, its a farmhouse. The room was a little cluttered with knickknacks, but had a jacuzzi. Depends on your tastes, but you could either love this room or hate it. The Joys Whisper suite next door was light and airy, very clean, and perfect for a couple travelling alone. The Queens Suite was the largest of the bunch with the powder room having a daybed; helpful if you are travelling with children and value your alone time. Sweet Serenity and Angels Melody are connected by a hall and have 2 bathrooms between them. The rooms can be combined or separate and would be good for a family that wanted separate bedrooms. Angels Melody has only 1 bed, Serenity has 2. Please note that old houses can get drafty and chilly, they do have space heaters available on request. Hope this helps!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ApNp8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

I've had some really great stays at B&B's....This wasn't one of them. The Inn looks nothing like the pictures. We almost missed it because the sign was overgrown with weeds. The walkways had weeds, sticks, loose pavers and a sagging front porch. The house was hot & stuffy, NO A/C on a very hot humid day. Our room had one of the beds in the bathroom making privacy impossible. There was no place to plug in a phone charger. Extension cords ran everywhere and were overloaded. Broken dusty items cluttered our room. No hand soap, bath salts or shampoo/conditioner. Dead bugs on the window sill. AVOID.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Windsor
5.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Westminster Catering & Conference Center
6.5 mi away
Days Inn Westminster
Days Inn Westminster
#2 of 4 in Westminster
3.5 of 5 stars 429 reviews
6.5 mi away
Boston Inn
Boston Inn
#3 of 4 in Westminster
3.0 of 5 stars 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Owings Mills
Hampton Inn Owings Mills
#1 of 3 in Owings Mills
4.5 of 5 stars 315 reviews
19.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Baltimore/Owings Mills
19.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Owings Mills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellow Turtle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellow Turtle Inn

Property: Yellow Turtle Inn
Address: 111 S Springdale Ave, New Windsor, MD 21776-9732
Location: United States > Maryland > New Windsor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in New Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Yellow Turtle Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracefully nestled in rolling tree filled hills overlooking 100 acres of farmland, the Yellow Turtle Inn Bed and Brunch invites you to share time with loved ones or just relax in her serene environment. Each room is decorated with it's own personality as if you are in the middle of a play. All rooms have private baths. Two suites have whirlpools. Brunch is served at 10AM so that you may sleep in. Refrig breakfast available for early starters. Couples massages are offered as well as private intimate dinners, champaign and balloons in the tub, roses, personal birthday birthday cake and teddy bears. We host weddings ceremonies and receptions as well as parties and showers. Long term stays are available as well. YELLOW TURTLE INN BED AND BRUNCH NEW WINDSOR, MARYLAND Next door to Westminster and McDaniel College - ON THE CIVIL WAR TRAIL ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Yellow Turtle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing