We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Rustic and Charming, not for City Folk scared of bugs” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seasons at Magnolia Manor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Seasons at Magnolia Manor
Ranked #2 of 2 New Windsor B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Rustic and Charming, not for City Folk scared of bugs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

My wife and I attended my sisters wedding here recently and felt compelled to respond to some of the negative reviews on this site. As another reviewer noted this is a 200 year old farmhouse. For an inn and B&B it is exactly what you would expect. Joan is a gracious host and the included breakfast is quite filling.
As far as the rooms, I can offer you some advice. The Bishops Suite is much darker than the rest of the rooms, good for those looking to sleep in as you can adjust the heavy curtains to sleep as late as you want. There were stink bugs (they don't bite) on the sills, but again, its a farmhouse. The room was a little cluttered with knickknacks, but had a jacuzzi. Depends on your tastes, but you could either love this room or hate it. The Joys Whisper suite next door was light and airy, very clean, and perfect for a couple travelling alone. The Queens Suite was the largest of the bunch with the powder room having a daybed; helpful if you are travelling with children and value your alone time. Sweet Serenity and Angels Melody are connected by a hall and have 2 bathrooms between them. The rooms can be combined or separate and would be good for a family that wanted separate bedrooms. Angels Melody has only 1 bed, Serenity has 2. Please note that old houses can get drafty and chilly, they do have space heaters available on request. Hope this helps!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ApNp8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    4
    2
    3
    4
See reviews for
6
13
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

I've had some really great stays at B&B's....This wasn't one of them. The Inn looks nothing like the pictures. We almost missed it because the sign was overgrown with weeds. The walkways had weeds, sticks, loose pavers and a sagging front porch. The house was hot & stuffy, NO A/C on a very hot humid day. Our room had one of the beds in the bathroom making privacy impossible. There was no place to plug in a phone charger. Extension cords ran everywhere and were overloaded. Broken dusty items cluttered our room. No hand soap, bath salts or shampoo/conditioner. Dead bugs on the window sill. AVOID.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

I had a serene, restful stay at the Yellow Turtle after a death in my family. I highly recommend it to anyone seeking a quiet retreat. In response to one of the negative reviews, I can only say that it is an old, historic home, not an impersonal, sterile hotel. It was built almost 200 years ago, so travellers must expect some quirks. If the annoyed customer had taken the time to read the notice in the bath, she would have known that there is indeed shampoo, but in bar form. The Inn looks much better in person than in the photos. I loved it, and you will too!

Room Tip: The Queen Sweet has a delightful jacuzzi!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

Just a quick thank you to Joan for going the extra mile to make our stay at Yellow Turtle very enjoyable. I was traveling with my son to a lacrosse tournament and we found Yellow Turtle online WIth no idea what to expect, we were delighted with the service and beautiful surroundings. On top of an amazing offer by Joan to do a load of laundry for my son, I was treated to the best homemade pancakes and homemade syrup I have ever had. Yellow turtle is a relaxing, laid back treat off the beaten path and well worth the trip.

Lax Dad

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

I stayed at the Yellow Turtle Inn in earyl May 2012. There were extension cords on the deck and in the room; there were cobwebs all over the space and as I was Lying in bed, I noticed them with all these dead bugs trapped in the cob webs.
In the bathroom there were bath salts, but no shampoo and conditioner.
I spoke to the Inn Keeper about the bugs and cob webs. She said that entire section of the country had a problem with "stink bugs" and even if they cleaned every day, they couldn't get rid of them and she was the sole proprietor of the property and there was only so much she could do. There were many nick-nacks everywhere and dust on most of them...not so good for my allergies.
The Inn Keeper did a nice job with breakfast and was willing to provide what ever I requested at any time; I didn't take advantage of this.

Room Tip: can't even recommend this Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

We had such a wonderful weekend getaway to the Yellow Turtle Inn. The owner Joan is so sweet and she is an amazing cook! Prices were great and it was so quiet and peaceful! Would recommend this place to anyone!

Room Tip: The Bishops Suite and the Queens Suite are both amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2011

Yellow Turtle Inn is a great getaway place to be.
We were visiting family and conducting business in Baltimore. The Inn is quiet and peaceful in the Md countryside. (60 Min to Balt)
Breakfast is a treat, it is the best I have had at a B&B. Joan the host is a pleasure to speak with and can give you the local history as well as any guide.
Can't wait to go back

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JMW8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Windsor
5.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Westminster Catering & Conference Center
6.5 mi away
Days Inn Westminster
Days Inn Westminster
#2 of 4 in Westminster
3.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
6.5 mi away
Boston Inn
Boston Inn
#4 of 4 in Westminster
3.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick
15.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Emmitsburg
20.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Frederick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seasons at Magnolia Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seasons at Magnolia Manor

Property: Seasons at Magnolia Manor
Address: 111 Springdale Ave, New Windsor, MD 21776-9732 (Formerly Yellow Turtle Inn)
Location: United States > Maryland > New Windsor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in New Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Seasons at Magnolia Manor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Seasons at Magnolia Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing