We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Mt. Airy Tavern is our go-to place!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mt. Airy Tavern

The Mt. Airy Tavern
Ranked #5 of 47 Restaurants in Mount Airy
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“The Mt. Airy Tavern is our go-to place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Tavern is great for lunch or dinner (haven't been to their brunch but hope to someday!). I like to sit in the bar area where there is always a sporting event on the flat screen tvs, but they have a nice dining area if you want something not so casual. My favorite item to order is their french dip; I go there sometimes just to satisfy my craving for it! I've never had a bad meal there and we've tried many different menu items!

The tavern is also great for a group of friends to get together. Sometimes there is a DJ on the weekend which just adds to the fun. They have a little outdoor patio for nice weather, but you are just facing the parking lot or rest of the shopping center. No nice view, but they do have some plants around to somewhat shield you from the rest of the shopping center.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sherry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    41
    17
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect meal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We recently had dinner for tow on Valentines day here. The owners greeted us warmly when we arrived, our table was ready for us as we had reservations, but I noticed them working kindly to accommodate another couple who did not have reservations. It was a little crowded when we got there, and more so when we left. Our waitress had many other tables besides ours. However, she was gracious, kind, patient, knowledgeable and friendly. There was a special holiday menu but we ordered off of the regular menu. Everything was terrific, tasty and served in an elegant way. We were able to take our time with a glass of wine, enjoy soup and salad and not feel the slightest bit rushed. I had the Salmon entre and it was nicely done and served on bok choy. My husband had the meat loaf meal and he enjoyed it ! Our waitress checked on us a few times with each course just to make sure all was fine. We finished the meal with a shared dessert. The bill was not too bad given the elegant meal and fantastic service. Nice to know this place is there and a good value!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LouMoC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Airy, Maryland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great local establishment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

Food and drinks were great for a reasonable price. Atmosphere and service was very pleasant and they took good care of our family.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank HandKJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice addition to the town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Good food, excellent value. Have enjoyed their pizza, meatloaf and several pasta dishes. Not gourmet but better-then-average meals at reasonable prices.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bkinlein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson
Level Contributor
92 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great tavern”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

Very good drinks, bar pleasant, staff friendly. The crab cakes are really good. Wine is half price bottles on Saturday night! This is rare.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank sistravel557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mt. Airy Tavern also viewed

 

Been to The Mt. Airy Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing