We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big mix up on friends dinner order.”
Review of Manor Tavern

Manor Tavern
Reserve with OpenTable
Manor Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Monkton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Voted Baltimore Magazine's 2013 Best Restaurant 'Worth the Drive,' we are located in the heart of Maryland’s horse country. ‘The Tavern’, as many of our local patrons refer to us, is a favorite gathering place for friends and families to enjoy a relaxed atmosphere, superior service and meals that are flavorful from beginning to end. The traditional American inspired kitchen is rooted at a local level to highlight our area growers and purveyors ensuring the freshest produce, meat, fish and chicken are of the highest standard.
Monkton, Md. 21111
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Big mix up on friends dinner order.”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We were quite disappointed the night we were there. The gentleman we were with didn't receive his dinner at all while the rest of of finished ours to keep it from getting cold. They did give him his dinner, carry out, and provided all of us with free dessert and didn't charge for his dinner. I guess these things happen, sometimes, but it turned out very badly. I guess we will give it a try sometime in the future but it was a very bad experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cccw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    46
    23
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore County, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“New Year's Eve at Manor Tavern”
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

I love the Manor Tavern for a New Year's treat. The service and atmosphere is wonderful. Everyone in my party of eight loved their dinners. The price at $140.00 (tip included, one beer and one glass of Riesling) for two is more than I like paying for dinner, but a nice New Year's Eve treat.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marty1357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finksburg, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great for a company party”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We ate at Manor Tavern for my husband's company party. It was very cold outside and the party was placed in an attached tent over the outdoor pavilion. Consequently, we spent most of the time huddled near the two heaters that blew out warm air into the middle of the space.
The hors d'oeuvres were very tasty. We sampled the crab cake balls, a chicken salad on apple chips, and the roast beef on a baguette slice. The wait staff was very friendly and seemed happy to chat and serve.
We had a buffet style main course. There was tortellini, roast beef and chicken. It was all good, but nothing amazing.
Thankfully, we had tables inside to eat the main course.
I had been told that this restaurant was one of the top ones in Maryland so was excited to try it out. I'm sure if I had ordered off the menu I may have been able to order something exciting and wonderful. As a buffet, it was good, but not anything special.
So I would definitely try this restaurant again based on the ambiance, service, and the sample of the food we had.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank legorefugee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutherville, MD
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Better than most, very good meals prepared with fresh ingredients”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We had heard very positive comments about this restaurant but had failed to visit because it is out in a rural area with narrow, twisty roads. Not good in the winter but a wonderful location the rest of the year. It was worth the trip, even in winter, and we will be going back.

The menu is interesting, the restaurant well appointed, tables not jammed together and the waitstaff attentive and friendly. My wife had the Bourbon Street Gumbo entree. She found it well reasoned and flavorful with plenty of seafood and sausage. She also enjoyed the Roasted Beet Salad, different and well done. I had a pork chop with a sweet potato, apple hash. Although it didn't say so on the menu, the pork chop was locally sourced. Grilled just right, flavorful, tender and moist it was one of the best pork chops I have ever had. The hash was a good complement to the pork chop. We shared a brownie pie slice with cinnamon ice cream that I think was made in house. It was very good.

The waitstaff was friendly and attentive, the management was in the dinning room making sure the meal was as it should be. A rarity these days, a large fireplace that burned wood ... a nice touch.

The kitchen seemed to keep up with both the normal restaurant customers and the two very large holiday events in private rooms at each end of the restaurant. The restaurant is set up well for the large events ... we didn't even realize they were occurring until we were leaving. The bar seemed charming and busy.

We will go back and try some more items from their menu. There are also daily specials like Lobster Pot Pie that probably are worth planning for. Their menu and daily specials are published on their website.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annapolis2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful Find in Maryland Horse Country”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Early Fall. north Central Maryland. Horse Country. Have a wonderful meal here at the Monkton Tavern. The food is incredible, with accents of HOMEMADE mozzarella, herbs fresh from the garden, and a visit to the table from the restaurant manager. All in a quaint and romantic settings, with reasonable prices for food and wine.

OUTSTANDING!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CaribbeanDreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manor Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Manor Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing