We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy short hike for a great view”

Washington Monument State Park
Ranked #1 of 11 things to do in Middletown
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Easy short hike for a great view”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We stumbled upon the park on our way to Antietam as a quick stop on a road trip home. It's not very large, but very scenic and in the middle of the country. It's a short little 5-10 minute hike to get to the top of the mountain and see the tower. Gorgeous view, but very windy. The stairs to get to the top of the tower are a little wet and narrow and you can get almost the same view from the bottom.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank leahkc17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    16
    4
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Freeland, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
313 reviews
166 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“The view is terrific”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

This is a state park; price is $2.00 per car if in state; and $4.00 per car if out of state resident.It opens at dawn and closes at dusk. The roads to get there are fun to drive, curvy and hilly. The Appalachian Trail goes right through the park. You drive to the parking area where the "round" Washington Monument is. There are restrooms. There is a pavilion you can rent there; although it was so small I wonder who rents it. It is a short walk to the monument but is on an incline, but it is a flat path. The area around the monument allows for views of the valley below. The monument is open and has around 30 steps. At the top there is an area for about 8 people to stand. The day we arrived there were birders at the top of the monument counting migrating birds of prey. The birds follow the updrafts along the ridge at that location. It was a nice view, (not much color) but not something to return to.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cyndywill8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice quick getaway for Washington DC area.....”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We had a very nice visit on Saturday, Sept. 14 with very few visitors present. A short hike to the monument itself was rewarded with sunny, clear views. It's been about 6 years since our last visit and I don't remember the George Washington history signs before (nice touch)! Only small crowd of people we encountered were "bird watchers" milling around at the top of the monument. The weather was perfect with both the museum and the restrooms open. Several families were enjoying the trails, picnic areas and view from the monument. We found a caterpillar and beautiful butterfly but no migratory bird sightings. The talus slopes are almost as impressive as the monument itself. Those boulders are massive and numerous! Definitely a great 1/2 day visit spot.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rewardgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Clean parking and picnic areas, accessible trails and great views.”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Our family has been visiting the location of the first monument dedicated to George Washington for 2 decades. It is always a pleasure and never disappoints us. Accessible off the road to and from Middletown on it's own dedicated access road, one must be on the lookout for the small State Park signs. Once on site you will find plenty of parking in an area carved out of the woods. There are picnic areas and the pavilions can be rented for larger parties. A loose gravel path leaves the open area and slopes gradual enough for any level of hiker and takes you to the top of the ridge where the monument is perched. There you can enjoy views of Western Md., West Virginia and Penn. off in the difference. Try to go on a clear day and you will be amazed.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gavin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Historical and good hiking.”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This is the first monument to George Washington. The bathrooms were open but the visitor center was not, in late April. The water fountain is convenient and helped quench our thirst on this gently moderate hike.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mamabearat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Washington Monument State Park also viewed

 

Been to Washington Monument State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing