We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Rare Find”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Silver Moon Diner

Silver Moon Diner
Ranked #4 of 52 Restaurants in Middle River
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Rare Find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

The Silver Moon Diner is a rare find in today's typical restaurant options. The atmosphere is defininitely "diner" and the prices are reasonable but the portions are large compared to the price. The crabcakes are good, sandwiches are good, LOVE their fries! I have family that lives in Middle River so I am there about once a month. When we go out to eat we go to "The Diner" as my Dad refers to it. Give this one a try. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JayBeeJasper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    38
    10
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Owings, Maryland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Food and Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stopped at the Silver Moon Diner on our way back from Longwood Gardens. Our server, Nicolette, although very busy, was very attentive. Great service. The food was delicious. The portions very large. The best bread pudding I have ever tasted. I wish we lived closer, as we would return often.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chase Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“yum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

If you want a Great Grilled Chicken Ceasar Salad, you have to try the Silver Moon Diner. After work I really don't want to go to any restaurant. So, I call the order in and my Husband picks it up. It is covered in grilled chicken that is well flavored. It will feed 2 it's that large. Try the homemade chicken noodle soup also, big chunks of chicken and great. You will not be sorry.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jordon's Nana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Food & Prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

I love going to diners, this place I recently visited this weekend. The place is pretty big for a diner and the wait staff is fast and courteous. At our table we ordered a chicken ranch wrap which was typical, cream of crab soup that was amazing, and an omelette. Everybody enjoyed there meal, I had the breakfast, which was really good. The omelette was big with fresh veggies and the potatoes/ hash browns were delicious. I know hash browns are hash browns but these must b cooked in butter cause the flavor was great. I would definitely return here. Didn't try them but the desserts looked amazing!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hpm024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
74 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good price, decent breakfast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stopped into this cute little diner for breakfast while visiting the Baltimore area. It is located on a major highway so getting in and out can be tricky but not terribly so. It has the look and decor of the old time diners but needs a little improvement.

We ordered eggs, toast, home fries, and bacon with juice, tea. All food was cooked as ordered and tasty except - the toast was under toasted. Needs to be a little darker. But over easy eggs were good and a request for not too crispy bacon was met.

We had a small tea issue that the waitress took extra time to correct plus didn't charge us for it. The entire breakfast cost $10 plus a tip. I would have given this restaurant a slightly higher rating except the booth "jukebox" (now for video games instead of music) ripped us off a dollar. Don't bother with them.

I could also see how other reviewer situations could happen. Our waitress was decent but the person at the front register was surly and uninterested in customers. Didn't really give me a desire to come back at night for something more substantial.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NJDebster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silver Moon Diner also viewed

 

Been to Silver Moon Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing